1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2011 Chimp Challenge has started!!!

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I just installed GPU3 on my i7 970 w/ GT 240. Should i be using v7 instead of GPu3?

    EDIT: Nevermind guys I removed GPU3. I installed v7 and i'm running it now. :toast:
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2011
    bogmali says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,875 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    What core is V7 running on that GT240?
  3. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I don't understand what you are asking?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,875 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  5. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Ahh I see.. thanks! It's running on core 11. :toast:

    I also have my gt240 clocked at 675 from 575. shader from 1600 to 1643. I may try to push it more later today.
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I set v7 up as GPU.. Should I install/setup another v7 as CPU to use the CPU? or can i set the same one to use both? I plain to us the gpu and cpu on my i7 970 and one of my 1055T's when the challenge starts. Thanks

    EDIT: Sorry MOD's double post...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks bogmali! I'm fixing to setup v7 on my 1055t with another GT240.

    EDIT: I got a good deal on some GT240's.. lol 79 bucks each..so i bought a few awhile back. :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,875 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    Mind, I was asking because I wanted to know whether it was using GPU2 or 3 with a non-Fermi card. It's using GPU2 and that will maximize its PPD.
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Cool I've got my 1055T with a GT240 setup as well and it's using core 11 too. :toast:
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    its not much, but im putting the 460 to fold for the chimp's
    Mindweaver, hertz9753, bogmali and 2 others say thanks.
  12. TheGrapist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    516 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Northern California
    will have my 465,9600gt folding and switch my i7's and i3 to fold rather than crunch.
    and if anyone has spare gpu's they dont have room for,i'd fold with them for the duration of the chimp challenge :laugh:
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'll be throwing my card under the wire just for this. I know it's little points but all the extra adds up. :)
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That's the spirit Shaun! :toast:
    JrRacinFan and Mindweaver say thanks.
  15. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hey guys I just put my 9600 gt into my i7 970 with the gt240! I'll get my 8800 gt going tomorrow. :toast: When the challenge begins I'll switch over my 970 and 1055t cpus, and 285gtx, 2x gt240's, 9600 gt, 8800gt... plus what ever else i can find spare to crunch with hehehe..
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Let me reiterate that when we switch usernames to ChimPowerUp for the Challenge, your current passkey will not work unless you already have the one from last years. If you still need it, PM myself, Buck, or Msgclb and one of us will PM it to you directly. No other means of delivery will be used besides this (due to security issues).
  17. BinaryMage

    BinaryMage New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    609 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    The passkey is connected to the team? I thought it was connected to the username. Or do we need a passkey to join ChimPowerUp?
  18. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    We have a passkey that is connected to the team's Chimp Challenge username which is ChimPowerUp. This passkey is ready to accept the bonus points awarded from SMP2 and -bigadv WUs, the 10 minimum WUs were done from last years Challenge.
  19. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Passkey is connected to the user name.
  20. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Which is what everyone will be folding under come "Gametime";)
  21. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    I'll be needing the passkey, so if someone could drop that to me in a PM I would appreciate it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Exactly. Just need to make sure people understand we ALL fold under 1 username come the time to do it.
  23. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Done;)
    theonedub says thanks.
  24. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,143 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,650
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hey guys.. I won't have 2x gt240's folding... I ordered a gtx470 to replace one! hehehe So i'll only have 1 gt240.. hehehe :toast:

    EDIT: I need the passkey as well! :toast:
    (FIH) The Don and bogmali say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    Sent;)
    Mindweaver says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page