1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

24/7 Recommended Phenom II voltages?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Relinquish, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    London
    I do use OCCT more than prime95; you can probably go higher, the problem is that your cpu is going to idle at say 1.60v if your overclock needs 1.52v under load because of the great vdroop.
     
    Relinquish says thanks.
  2. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I see, is that 1.6v Bios setting would you say? I think I'll see how far I can get with 1.55 maybe 1.56v idle right now I'm @ 3.7 with 285.9 x 13 and 1.55v in the Bios with a max of 1.536v being used so I probably have 0.014-0.024 voltage to play with here(2 Bios increments shall we say ;)). I want to keep this system as long as possible but I hear of these things getting powa hungry at around 3.8 to 4 ghz.

    I'm hopeful though to reach 3.9 on my new water system @ 300 x 13 and hopefully the mighty 4ghz @ 307.9 x 13:rockout:. I think though I'll set the north bridge to a max of 2250mhz HT so that I don't run into problems with NB voltages and such, I have one Vdrop to deal with as it is.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  3. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,638 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I have my PII 1055T @ v1.5 4.0GHz. It's been crunching 100% full load 24/7 for the past 8 months or so with a core contact freezer pro @ 39c. AT 1.5v's it's still much cooler than my i7 860 @ 1.4v 3.4ghz crunching 100% 24/7 for around 6 months @ 62c with a zalman extreme 120m push pull.

    EDIT: So, 1.5v should be safe, but i would watch temps starting out. :toast:
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    London
    I see your cpu is not a black edition, your overclock affects ram, nb and ht but that's allright. In my case the difference in power consumption from stock to overclock is some 60w under load.
     
  5. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    100% for 8 months, Sweet! Its always stunned me how much those i7s produce. I would say if anything the cooler I keep my CPU the better the life span right?
     
  6. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,638 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,213
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    True :rockout:

    I have to say the i7 can handle those temps better than you think. The i7 at 3.4 performs close or a little better than the 1055t at 4GHz, but if i had it to do over again i would just get another 1055t over the i7 860 because of price and knowing what the 1055t can do.

    EDIT: My i5 2500K at v1.4 4.5GHz smoke both of them crunching.. hehehe Not by a whole lot but enough.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Relinquish New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Well my water cooling loop is now finished and it looks like @ 1.536v (1.49v load) I had already found my max clock which is 3.7. If I go even 50mhz over it obviously wants more volts. So I tried 1.55v which was almost stable(under OCCT, yes it works on my mobo!) but I think it wants 1.568v but I was asking my self whether 0.1ghz was worth the extra voltage?

    Not unless I was going to push it to 3.9 I think, though I don't know whats a good voltage to go to under water, we have said 1.55v but thats AMDs recomendation on air. And about the 3.9, I tried it @1.568v, it booted but was unresponsive and locked up (No blue screen) so I reset it and went back to 3.7 which tells me it wants upwards of 1.57v.

    Since I've unlocked this processor I've never been able to use the sensor on the CPU:banghead: but instead I've been using speed fan and temp 1. Then yesterday I switched to HW monitor and noticed TMPIN0 gives the same reading as speed fan which I'm told is a sensor under the cpu socket and that it not the same as the CPU temp:wtf: Does that mean my CPU runs lower or higher than that reading? Currently TMPIN0 at idle is 30 and can go up to 39 while gaming, 43 OCCT.

    Thanks
    [​IMG]

    More info: CPU is a C2 stepping.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page