1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2400 gskill ares on a55bm-plus/csm mobo

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by mrdead1313, Jul 21, 2014.

  1. mrdead1313

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi. I registered to ask about the memory I bought before doing thorough research (stupid I know). I just built a low to midrange gaming PC and ordered a kit of G.Skill ares 2x4gb ddr3 ram at 2400mhz. The board says it's compatible with 2400(oc) and I saw someone with a similar post that has been resolved, but he was running an intel setup that has the XMP feature. But the issue for me is that I'm running an AMD apu rig. The specs are:

    -AMD a10-6800k Richland 'Black Edition'
    -Asus radeon HD 6870 gpu
    -Asus a55bm-plus/csm
    -Kentek 700w psu (until I can afford an upgrade)
    -G.Skill Ares 8gb DDR3 2400mhz (soon I hope)
    -Currently 4gb generic ram at 1600mhz

    I know I probably won't see a crazy amout of a performance boost by jumping up the MHz but I wanted 8gb so I figured I'd go ahead and raise the MHz since I was already upgrading the gbs.

    Thank you for your time and looking forward to your help :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2014
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    should be good to go @ 2400MHz
    QVL List's - here [Note: the list is not exhaustive; other memory may be compatible but yet untested]

    Note: modules that support speeds beyound this are downclocked [*2400]
    Source - here

    atb

    Law-II
     
    mrdead1313 says thanks.
  3. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,049 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    You should be fine, if you cannot select an XMP profile because its AMD manually enter the speeds and timings, or if you don't care about performance and just want an easy solution, just select the highest clock speed ram profile that it can give you in the bios.
     
    mrdead1313 says thanks.
  4. mrdead1313

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks guys! I do have one more question. I read somewhere that the voltage can be an issue, permanently damaging the CPU. Will I be running a serious risk by installing this memory?
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Downclocking of faster ram has been going on since the sdram days afaik.
    To op- compare that ram to a 1866 kit for default voltages. Setting Ram manually is recommended. Id say start with 1866 on that ram and go from there
     
    Law-II and mrdead1313 say thanks.
  6. mrdead1313

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Awesome guys thank u very much. I down clocked and everything is niceynice so far :) won't accept 2400 overclock but just a step down. Keeping it at 1866 for now to be safe until I get more case fans blowing in there (if that's gonna help) but PC is running my games MUCH better than I ever expected on such a tight budget build! Gonna try my luck at tightening the timings and see what I can squeeze out of my system. Much apriciated everyone
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  7. arbiter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    241 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Since you have a dedicated gpu you didn't need to spend the extra for faster ram. GPU part of the APU is what benifits from the faster ram the most but you are not using it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page