1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4.6GB Memory used by cache

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fang_laluna, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So I was copying stuff from internal hdd to backup external hdd then suddenly the PC froze.

    Windows Task Manager shows this:

    [​IMG]

    I think I did tweak the win 7 cache (for SSD reason I guess). How do I limit the cache?
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I Dont get it??? whats wrong?...


    there is nothing wrong with it using 4.7GB for cache.....
     
    fang_laluna says thanks.
  3. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Woot, so the freezing has nothing to do with 0 free memory? I still remember I only had around 1gb cache after fresh install.
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,279 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,563
    its called superfetch.

    your freezing is unrelated.
     
    Aquinus and fang_laluna say thanks.
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Unless the freezing is RAM related. Maybe OC is a tad unstable?
     
    fang_laluna says thanks.
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    As others have said, it is Superfetch, and it will be lower with a fresh install because Windows hasn't learned what should be put in the cache and what shouldn't yet.
     
    fang_laluna says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. fang_laluna New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Alright, it might be unstable OC. Thanks for the response :toast:
     
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I seem to remember some people having problems with disk I/O on higher overclocks. The system would work most of the time, but occasionally they would have problems when reading from or writing to the hdd.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page