1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4850 how to get the standard fan cooler off?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by 4850, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. 4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Pardon my grammar for i am Dutch. (Netherlands, not deutch -> germany)

    Hi there, today i got my zalman graphics card cooler for this asus 4850 1 GB card.
    The standard (roundish with plastic rim cap over it) started makeing an irritating snirping sound after about 9 months, only spinning at about 33 to 80% before. Putting it on 100% rpm made the sound go away for a while but it caught up, so now it just whines at low middle And high rpm's. Therefore: replacement was ordered.

    I unscrewed the 4 'bottom' screws with the springs, but it does not come loose from gpu.
    Is it 'cool-pasta-stickered' on to the GPU ?
    Any tips or tricks how to get that thing off there? the force and twisting i applied was not enough. Perhaps more screws that are out of sight i have to remove?
    Oh yeah it is dusty, i know, but with new casing (not open :) ) it is much better.

    [​IMG]

    The 4 screws with springs underneeth, not seeable here, they where in the 6 sided bolts on printplate, are allready out.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    take some needle nose pliers and twist the stand offs (6 sided screws) if they spin freely you may have to heat the cooler to loosen the hardned thermal paste. DO not FORCE it off!!!!! ati cards are direct die meaning if you force it it will take the gpu with it KILLING the card
     
  3. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Oh hey fellow Dutchie. I've had a similar 4850 and all I needed to do was unscrew the spring screws (the ones that go through the card) and twist the cooler off.

    You could use a blowdryer to warm up the thermal paste a bit so it comes off easier, the standard thermal paste can be quite sticky.
     
  4. 4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok thanx, i will heat it in now open case in use.
    BUT the 6 sided stand-off's are not twistable it seems.
    So i hope that the Thrackan replyer, a fellow dutchman, in this thread has the 'solution' : if cpu is warm/hot, it will come off now the 4 screws are out of the 6 side stand-off's.
     
  5. 4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I used the card with BF BC 2 (game), it got warm, and the fan came of with a (very-)little resistance in twist motion. After disconnecting the onboard (on videocard) cooler-wire plug, it put it back in.
    'DOS' came up but then: signal blink digital/analog meaning no monitor signal. Offcourse the monitorcable was plugged in the videocard, dvi port.
    BUT with no cooling fan/ribs on it. Does it sence that or so? Also in pc case, i have seen a red little led on the videocard, never seen before lit up. On the bottom, but above when in case and when cooler is pointing down position.

    [​IMG]

    I guess the 'ditch' aside the chip is the coolant ridge? it is about the 'wall' of coolingpaste paste on the cooler itself, square wide wise.
    Or is it a chip crack?
    This is all new for me, so pls. how to continue...?
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    It must have the cooler on. Never run any computer hardware without it's cooler, you'll destroy the card for sure.
     
  7. 4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I will put it on if it is safe, now i do not dare it, yet.
    Offcourse the cooler must be there when i will use the pc 'for 2 minutes and more', but is it a technical reason and the graphics card does know the cooler is not there, or should it show the windows screen until it burns up ?
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,967 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    The card doesn't care if there is a cooler connected or not, it will run until it burns up. And with an HD4850 it will burn up pretty fast.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    The cooler should never be off of the card for any period of time. Once the card has power the GPU will instantly get hot. You may have now damaged it running it without a cooler.
     
  10. 4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok ALL thanx for the replyes.

    When i put the old original cooler back on the card, in pc, all worked.

    So old one off again, cleaning, coolpaste on it, new zalman full copper cooler on gpu, after heatsinks on memory (there where non before so this is extra) offcourse.

    In pc, power on, YES it still works !!

    Everyone here thanx for the help and explenation !!
    Yet another experience ritcher and that is worth something aswell.

    No red led anymore, so i guess it hAs a no-cooling installed security.
     
  11. 4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1 more question to you all:
    What is gpu MEMIO temperature? I have never seen this, and it is at 65 degrees Celsius after playing a 3D derby/race game (flatout2) with all high settings.
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    It's just another GPU sensor. It does usually run hotter than the "main" sensor. Nothing to be concerned about. :)
     
  13. 4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok great, thanx again.
     
  14. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh noes. you did not run it with the cooler off did you? I would never get away with doing something like that.
    [​IMG]
     
  15. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Lol, yeah thats a lesson learn for sure!

    It appears you may also want to take to cleaning your PC more as well.
    It looks like the old cooler had been to the beach with all that light coloured dust.

    I personally would have just gone out and bought an aftermarket cooler like the scythe Musashi or a AC Twin Turbo Pro. (If you have the reference shaped HD4850 PCB).

    The ASUS cooling on those units seem really inadequate.

    No contact RAM coolers or coolers on the VRMs at all.

    But since it now goes....thats the main thing :)
     
  16. 4850 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://www.quietpc.com/gb-en-usd/products/vgacoolers/vf900-cu
    Well it was an open 'caseing', very "COOL" looking, but a dust collector also.

    Yep, that to, the dogs take some sand in some times ! :) (Really i live nearby the North-sea.)

    That is what i have now, old one off, new one on, zalman all copper, " ultra quiet high performance dual heatpipe vga cooler VF900-CU " so is stated on the box designed by the marketing department :)
     
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Good the cooler at least comes with cooling for the RAM and the fan is working :)

    With my AC Twin Turbo I had to edit the GPU BIOS to get the fan working by itself without help of software or external power. -_-''

    Not that AC told me I needed to use external power or software to make the fans work otherwise.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page