1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4870 Bios Chip location

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by exeter08, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. exeter08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    Hi!

    This is my very first time posting here at TPU.

    Here's my problem, i recently acquired this used ATI Radeon 4870 from my cousin where he then said that the card was incorrectly flashed and would not post after.

    I've tried flashing it thru DOS with ATIFlash using the onboard graphics. After entering the command, ATIFlash replied that "adapter not found".

    Even after inserting another older pci-e vcard into the 1st pci-e slot and putting the bricked 4870 in the second slot, i'm still getting the "adapter not found" error.

    What i would like to know is the location of the Bios Chip for the 4870 so that i can short it for ATIFlash to detect it and then flash it using the original Bios.

    Thank you in advance.

    Front Pic
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Diamond/HD_4870/images/front.jpg

    Back Pic
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Diamond/HD_4870/images/back_full.jpg
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011
  2. exeter08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    anybody?
  3. exeter08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    hello....?
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Can you read the numbers on the chips?

    If you can just punch those digits into google and find out what parts are what.
    exeter08 says thanks.
  5. exeter08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    Yeah, tried reading the label on the chip. Strained my eyes.

    The problem is that the numbers are illegible even after using reading glasses/ magnifying lens.

    Even tried looking for large format images on the net.

    I do know that it's supposed to be close to the gpu but the i am not sure whether its the one on the front or the on the back of the pcb.
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    exeter08 says thanks.
  7. exeter08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    Thanks guys, though i've already seen that image. Ill try cleaning it up with photoshop.

    Nah, image is too pixelized the way it is.

    I've sent a pm to w1zz, hope he gets to read it being the busy person he is. crosses fingers lol.
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2011
  8. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=133144
    Read the bottom post ,also here is the pic that frogger posted of the Ref design (all red 4870) had the bios chip at the top near the crossfire fingers.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=38583&d=1287789850


    Also read this ,make sure you use a 128 kb bios the one you have probably has a 64 kb in it.try the database and reflash using this command


    atiflash -f -p 1 4870.bin


    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/152


    Fogot to mention NEVER USE YOUR ON BOARD GPU to flash a dead card Try getting another pcie card or pci one to disable the on board gpu,That is the problem.Put the bad card in pcie slot 2 and put the good to boot from in slot 1.
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2011
    exeter08 says thanks.
  9. exeter08 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    Oh man you're a life saver. Thank you! :respect:

    That's just what i needed..damn, i was way off the mark. Thought that the bios chip was in the front side of the pcb. Turns out that it was located at the back!

    Now i can finally be able to short the 1 and 8 pin so that it can be detected.

    Thank you again. :toast:

    Yeah, i have here with me an older ati pci-e card.
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page