1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5770 crossfire set running @ 8.x ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Rapidfire48, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    [​IMG]

    Isn't there a way to make them both 16x?
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    not with your motherboard.
    Rapidfire48 says thanks.
  3. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    So my motherboard is holding it back then? I seen it says it will auto set them in 16x or 8x.
  4. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Your card is not set right. You need to push it in more.....;)
  5. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Cards are set just fine.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    from your motherboards manual, gigabyte website, and a review:

    its not holding back your performance one bit.


    dont tell him that, he'll break something
    Rapidfire48 says thanks.
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    The performance difference is negligible when running 2 cards at x16 and x8 tbh. I doubt you'd gain much from going to dual x16 if you could. MSI have really come along way with their boards.

    :D
  8. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Thanks guys.
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    ive seen alot of motherboard only run CF at x8/x8. some of the newer boards do x16/x16/x8/x4 or x16/x16/x16/x4
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    not on P55 they dont - its one of the key differences between P55 and x58.
  11. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    444 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    TR
    Not with a i7 860 cpu and p55 mobo .Cpu has 16X pci-e 2.0 lanes if you use 2 cards it will be 8x for each card . And you are lucky most of the p55 motherboards slots working one at 16x and 2nd at 4X (yours is working at 8x 8x at msi p55 gd-65) .
    dont worry take a look to 5870 pci-e scaling http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_5870_PCI-Express_Scaling/1.html
  12. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    True it does not show that much of a change.
  13. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Told yurh.

    ;) ;)
  14. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    The PCIE connection is part of the CPU not the chipset and it is X16 or 2x8x speeds so it had nothing to do with the mobo.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    yes it does. when the motherboard itself states it can only do 16x/0x or 8x/8x, it means thats its limits.


    the lanes may be provided by the CPU, but they're still held back by what the motherboard supports.
  16. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    [​IMG]
  17. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    444 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    TR
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
  19. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Hmm, so you have a 8x and 16x slot only? I'm sure it won't affect that much FPS, if any maybe like 2 FPS , nothing too major...Mine has a 16x and 16x , but obviously my mobo is completely different from yours.

    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page