1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5GHz Phenom II X6 1090T Cold Air

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Slappa, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. Slappa

    Slappa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2010
    streetfighter 2 and aCid888* say thanks.
  2. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Dude that's 4999.7 not 5GHz. :p

    Just kidding.

    Thats just awesome :rockout: Thanks for sharing.! :D
     
  3. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    that's pretty sweet. I guess that's def one good thing about the winter. tonights forcast here is calling for 25F (-4C) with a "windchill" being 14F (-10C). My friend renting a room here, his comp should be plenty cool (he never turns on his heater and wonders why he's sick).

    the bad thing about winter is my mobile home's poor insulation and wireing... i can't put my heater on "high - 1500watts" without the breaker tripping, have to keep it on "Low - 750watts". damn 15A lines.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,224 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    you just need to put 20a breakers in the wiring can handle it
     
  5. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    616
    It can't its been looked at. Its an older mobile home ('81) and it wasn't even built up to code. the rooms pretty much share a lot of the same lines so balancing power can be tricky. we've already had some outlets melt with the heaters plugged in running on high. we would use the stove but gas is expensive (not to mention i don't think that's very safe) but then again so is the power bill with all the heaters. either way its lose lose until we can afford a central system and new vents.

    back on topic, Slappa have you run any benchies yet?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,224 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    why is it only showing 4 cores if this is a 1090T..did you disable cores to achieve this? If so its cheap..and FAIL
     
  7. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Very good, but always believe that you can improve ;)
     
  8. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    thats the first thing I look for when i see 6 core extreme clocks. a lot of people try to slip that by. still good clocks, but would like to see all 6 at that.
     
  9. Slappa

    Slappa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Thanks dude! The video shows 5GHz

    Theres no way I can bench at 5GHz, which is the absolute limit of the chip at this temperature. Maybe some 4.8 benches though we'll see.

    Not all 6 cores are perfectly balanced on Phenom II chips. You have to understand that 6 cores on merely water and cold air would just produce too much heat, and the crappy cores would just bring it down. On my dry ice runs I'm always sure to do an all 6 core validation. However this is a different game. Take a standard retail 1090T like mine and try to hit 5GHz on all 6 cores at this temp. No chips can do it, unless you have a golden cherry picked sample. This is realistic for what the average consumer can achieve. I guarantee you no average retail chip can hit 5GHz all 6 cores, or even 4.8GHz all 6 cores for that matter on this cooling.
     
  10. rebelion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    And the cooling system was??? WaterCooling? The frequency it´s really high!!! Bye!
     
  11. Slappa

    Slappa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Corsair H50 AIO Watercooler, with the radiator out the window with two 3000RPM Scythe fans blowing
     
  12. FlanK3r

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    czech republic
    nice, I waiting for colder weather here, my last record is with some +10 C
     
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    very nice work dude, u the man
     
  14. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Nice work, what were the CPU temps in windows?

    I have been intending to use the winter weather to my advantage again, last year i was using a full copper ninja scythe on a phenom 9850 so not exactly great, this time it will be a phenom II 965 under a H50 with an industrial ducting fan :roll: so now I'm sitting here freezing my ass off with the door closed and the window wide open letting the room cool before i start :laugh:
     
  15. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    My flatmates use 2000w fan heaters each despite having a nice central heating system with an efficiency condensing boiler and recently installed double glazing windows. Some people are just too cold. I can't imagine the next bill :shadedshu:cry:
     
  16. Moose

    Moose New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    306 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    I have free electricity, I have a 2000w radiator that I can keep on all the time :D
     
  17. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    It sound like i would die if i ever entered either of your homes :laugh:

    most of the time i think england is way too hot, it's just about right at the moment but i would be happy for it to be another 10c colder... maybe I'm a polar bear :laugh:
     
  18. Slappa

    Slappa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    55 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    There was no way of properly detecting cpu temp in windows. Coretemp bugs up below 0C and I never tried HWmonitor.

    I'm guessing similar to bios temp, -4C
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page