1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

7600GS questions ....

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by JrRacinFan, May 1, 2007.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    OK, I know this may sound odd, but isnt a 7600GS a GT with DDR2 ram instead of DDR3?

    If this is so, why does Rivatuner say there is pipes to unlock, when i highly doubt there is?

    Is it possible to softmod this card? IE 12pps->16pps
     
  2. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    No it is not possible. There are no pipes to unlock as the core, as you say, is essentially an underclocked 7600GT. However the 7600GS will not clock as high as the 7600GT unless you have an unusual card as they were essentially the cores that would only garauntee to clock to 400, whereas the 7600GT core is garaunteed to 560.

    You are correct on the memory though. 400MHz GDDR2 to 700MHz GDDR3

    Rivatuner does say that for some 7600GT's check the forum and you'll see. I haven't checked mine and properly assesed whether all of them are incorrectly identified.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok, that is what I thought I just needed confirmation on it.

    And BTW, it's the card in my system specs.
     
  4. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    You have a sapphire and his 3870 now :D
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Wow! Can't beleive you dug up this old thread. Yup moved on since then I owned:

    8600GT
    2600 Pro's
    2600XT
    3870 Cfire
    8800GTS SLI

    All within a matter of about 2 years time.
     
  6. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    You have Palit GTX560Ti 2Gb and XFX HD5770 now :D
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Thread necro....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page