1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A sad sad attempt for my first build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by celidee, Jul 11, 2006.

1. celidee New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hey all,

As the longest three(not including weekend) days of my life passed on I awaited my new system from new egg which included:

Thermaltake Soprano w/ 430 PSU
    Zalman fan
    Sata 80 gig
    Samsung DVD-RW

Bought ABIT IC7 MB off ebay to go along with my Intel 2.4C (socket 478) which was in my current system in hopes to overclock it. Anyhoo, started and "ended" the intallation but when I press the power button on the soprano nothing happens....I mean nothing.....not a flicker of life nor a flashing led....:banghead:

My power switches are placed in the MB properly as well as the ATX12V and ATXPWR1 cables, I just don't know what the problem is. This is my first build so of course I didn't expect for everything to go smoothly, any one know whats wrong? Or better yet, if there is something that not working how would I be able to determine if its the DOA MB or the DOA PSU/Case, any help would be appreciated.....Im about to shed a tear as I have lost all of my patience.... :cry:

2. wazzledoozle

wazzledoozle New Member

Thanks Received:
    Try the switch on the back of the PSU :p

You could have also placed the power switch in the wrong position, if you cant get it to boot at all, take a screwdriver and run it across the raised pins that connect the power/reset switches and the power/hdd leds.

3. celidee New Member

Thanks Received:
    yeah its definitely not the switch...:)

power switch has been double checked....

I don't understand the screwdriver thing...what does that do?

4. wazzledoozle

wazzledoozle New Member

Thanks Received:
    It will trip the power on. If that doesnt work, then you have other issues.

5. celidee New Member

Thanks Received: