1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Acer X223HQ LCT 23' Problems

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by andyr2005, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. andyr2005

    andyr2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gateshead, United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Just thought I would post in here to see if anyone can give me any pointers to try and solve the problems I am currently having.

    Just got my new Acer X223HQ 23 Inch LCD monitor today.

    When I have it connected and it's driver installed along with the NVIDIA Forceware 191.07 driver, I seem to get what can only be best described as continuous rolling horizontal lines of interference.

    Basically, I get this in the following resolutions:

    • 1920x1080
    • 1360x768
    • 1280x1024
    • 1280x960
    • 1280x720
    • 800x600
    I have 2 Gigabyte NVIDIA 8800GT's with 512MB memory.

    Any assistance or advise is greatly appreciated.
  2. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    connected how, DVI, HDMI, VGA?
  4. andyr2005

    andyr2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gateshead, United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Sorry, I am connected by VGA/D-Sub as the monitor does not have a DVI-In as it is not the DVI variant.

    Also, the refresh rate for the native resolution as per EDID/DDC and the driver is 60Hz, also it is shown as this in the user manual.

    Now, what I find very strange is that I seem to have worked around the issues with the native resolution of 1920x1080@60Hz showing the previously mentioned problems, by creating a custom resolution setting in NVCPL for 1920x1080@61Hz.

    So, can an increment of 1Hz cause any lasting damage to the monitor, or are there any other recommendations to try and resolve this.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    whats probably happening is the same as the ATI bug right now, where you set 60hz and it runs 59.97 (which runs 59Hz by 'accident')


    when you force 61, it goes 60
  6. spin_it__ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I was wondering if someone can help me too. I have exactly the same problem, and I have read what's been said in this thread. However, I cannot force my refresh rate to 61Hz.

    I have a Sony Vaio with an ATI Radeon HD 3470. As far as I understand the only way to do that is by going in the Catalyst Control Centre and force the refresh rate to what you require. I do not have an option for 61, and whenever I increase to other rates the resolution gets messed up. I would like to keep the resolution at 1920x1080.

    I am also using VGA (no other input).

    Any help would be much appreciated.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page