1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice for next upgrade

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AsGStorm, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. AsGStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm wondering what to do for my next upgrade, I hear that this graphics i use is a weak one. Should i consider purchasing a new one, maybe a new processor as this is an old one. Or another GB of RAM.

    I don't know what i need to do!

    Links would be nice, and my budget isn't mega

    SPECS:
    CPU: AMD Athlon64 3800+ X2 @ 2.36Ghz
    Cooling: Onboard for VGA CPU Motherboard with another fan
    Motherboard: AM2NF6G
    Memory: 1GB [512x2] Corsair DDR2 @ 533Mhz
    Video Card: XFX GeForce 7600 GS 512MB
    Monitor: 19" Flat Panel Plug 'n' play
    Sound Card: Onboard
    Storage: 1 X 200 GB HDD
    O/S: Windows XP Professional
    What to do fellow PC pros!
  2. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
    specific number on your budget would be kinda nice. More ram would be nice. video card could use an upgrade but unless your playing intensive games your probably fine. If you gonna get a new video card your gonna want to spend about $200> (8800gts or 1900) to see a nice increase in performance for the value of your money. An upgrade to like a 7900 wouldnt be justified for the price (IMHO)

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146565 New ram


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150171 video card (i must warn this card requires serious planning prior to purchase mainly in the PSU area. your gonna need a psu pushing no less than like 35 amps and 500 watts

    Id suggest an ATI card but im not an ati kinda guy. I dont follow there brand very closely so i dont know enough to say anything
    AsGStorm says thanks.
  3. AsGStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    well. I could get a refund on the video card (which i got ripped off for in the first place) so around £200 - £250. If i get something thats not a VGA it'll be around £100 - £150. Thanks

    EDIT - Don't think that RAM is compatible
  4. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
  5. AsGStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    could i add those 2 to my current RAM, as i have 2 slots remaining
  6. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
    you could. nothing wrong with it. but more than likely it would downclock them and cause a performance decrease. honestly youd be better off removing the 2 512's..if your willing to spend the $200 you could get 2 sets :) but youd only be able to use 3gbs of it and its not worth it unless your doing ram intensive stuff and are using atleast 2gbs
  7. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK


    you do not need a 35 amps cos i got that card.
  8. TheGuru

    TheGuru New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    So-Cal
    actually tater is right
    you do need 35 amps, my brother has it in his tower
  9. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
    8800gts needs 25-30 at its max. But i dont know what kind of system your using. but last time i checked you needed some amps to run hdd's, and various other items..
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Video card that would be what i would get i am too lazy to look for one in your price range.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
    p o s after i saw your 2 monitors..if i was in your position i would buy a new lcd but then again i got OCD and cant stand to have mismatch monitors
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Thanks for telling me but this isn't my thread and it doesn't bother me i don't use the 2nd one anyways vary much.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia
    lol ya i guess.
  14. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I'd get 2x 1GB RAM @ 800MHz and a better GPU like a 8800 320MB or more.
  15. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    AsGStorm, I'm from the UK, so I can help you out with prices mate.

    Firstly, I'd spend about £60-70 on 2Gb of DDR2 800 - look at www.komplett.co.uk for that.

    Secondly, I'd get a 1950XT (256 or 512) from www.scan.co.uk for £120 or £140

    That will give you a pretty decent boost :)
  16. AsGStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    what is the best brand of memory i should use? i tend to go with corsair
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Crucial!!!!! Micron FTW!

    Bali or Tracer
  18. AsGStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  19. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Wow crucial is expensive over there... Ya I would say thats pretty good from what I see there.
  20. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
  21. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    What's your budget in £ AsG?
  22. AsGStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    around £160, maybe more or less
  23. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
  24. AsGStorm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    124 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    needs to be PCI-E
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    The X1950pro IS PCI-e
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page