1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice please? Which is the best CPU for my graphics card to reach full potential?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Black Panther, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,657 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    My laptop does in fact. It's regular LGA775. Hence why I am considering swapping cpu's as a temporary measure.
     
    yogurt_21 and LordJummy say thanks.
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Rochester area
    +1 sandy-bridge_E inst expected to be faster then sandy-bridge by any real measure ..
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,345 (10.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,697
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I wouldn't recommend SnB-E simply because it's expensive, and that BP's performance needs are mostly gaming-related, and that Battlefield 3 and Skyrim will be more GPU-limited than CPU (all you need is a fast enough quad-core chip). If the nightmarish prices of Sandy Bridge-E I'm seeing at the moment turn out to be true, BP will be spending about 1200€ on the upgrade.

    i5-2500K + 120€ Z68 board + 50€ 8GB DDR3-1600 is the way forward.
     
    cadaveca and Black Panther say thanks.
  4. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    That's what I thought. I think it's worth switching the CPU. You WILL get a performance boost in some areas, regardless of your platform. It really just depends on what's most important to you, but I'm sure you realize all of this.

    I hope it all works out whatever you decide to do. Have you made a decision?
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,657 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    Thanks Bta and LordJummy. To be honest I haven't even checked on what the prices on SB-E would be... and that's one of the reasons I want to wait before buying the system.
    I'll be trying out swapping the laptop Q9450 with my desktop's E8400, and oc'ing the quad.

    I'm looking forward to Skyrim (but not BF3 at all :))
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    From what I have seen so far, SB-E prices should be as follows for a 4 core setup:

    i7 38XX should be around the price of a 2600K, perhaps even ~20$ cheaper
    Motherboard should be roughly double that of Z68
    RAM will be about the same

    So if prices aren't too bad, you'd be paying 100~120 euros for the X79 chipset (quad-channel RAM, PCI-E lanes etc). I think it is worth it for an enthusiast like BP who doesn't have money problems and who keeps her CPUs for a very long time. Also don't forget that IB-E will come out in the distant future, with rumors of 8-core processors. This means that in many years, a CPU upgrade to a SB-E 6 core perhaps or an IB-E one etc would be cheaper and POSSIBLE. X79 is in beginning of line, while once IB comes out, LGA 1155 will stop innovating and be stuck at 4 cores that probably won't be faster than an LGA 2011 quad

    My 2 cents
     
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,228 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    994
    Location:
    Miami
    It is not about logic... ive done it. For games i went from a E8500 at 4.1Ghz to an Q9650 at 3.8 with very little measurable or noticeable difference in FPS with 2x GTX260 in SLI.

    When I upgraded to a i750, however, huge boost way more usage out of the cards. That is not logic, that is experience. My logic was the same as yours, which is why i made that trade in the first place. @ OP If you dont believe me BP, see for yourself - do it and post back, its not gonna hurt anything.
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Rochester area
    and you are talking about WHAT games and HOW long ago
    I am gonna pick that apart here to make a point
    a: GTX 260's ARE OLD (dx10 is bad at mulithreaded rendering )
    b: a Q9650 is not much of a upgrade (socket 775 is old and people should just it let die )
    c: pcie 1.1 ?
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    There will be a significant increase in performance in multithreaded games. Hell, even games without multithreading will likely see an increase just because the drivers can benefit from more cores on many systems.

    No need to reinstall anything windows related.

    The Q9450 won't cost her a dime. She already has it in her laptop. Completely free upgrade.

    Q9450 is a desktop chip. She has a Clevo/Sager gaming laptop.

    Unless she want's a 6 core, so she can wait another 4-5 years before she upgrades platforms again. That would be my path (and actually is the path I'm on. This 980X will be with me for a while yet.). Going with a 2500k setup does not buy her that longevity. If she is going to only go with a quad, at least recommend one with hyperthreading to buy a little extra longevity.

    Newer games and drivers benefit more from the additional cores.
     
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    This is what makes LGA 2011 so attractive. LGA 1155's best CPU will be a IB quad with at most the CPU power of the LGA 2011 SB-E quad. LGA 2011's best CPU is unknown but it is at least an IB-E hexa, perhaps even an octo with 8 cores perhaps even available at launch under Xeon.

    That and the insane memory bandwidth will make sure that it is enough for a long time, and the PCI-E lanes will makes sure that the best card of even 2 or 3 generations forward will be able to run.

    Another thing that sells ME but won't affect BP much is the 8 DIMM availability. I will have 8x 4GB RAM for sure :)

    However, I would probably go 4-core LGA 2011, as I'm thinking the hexa core will lose its value much faster than the 4-core, and so far, the quad would be better bang/buck. I would only consider the hexa if it is priced at 500 or below
     
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,345 (10.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,697
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Even if the laptop uses desktop LGA775 processor, I'm not sure if it has the integrated heatspreader (IHS). Laptop designers use heat pipes to make direct contact with the dies, with no IHS in the way. A Q9450 with IHS removed could be very fragile (there are two dies on one chip).
     
  12. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,546 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    United States
    Wait for SB-E to release, and sniff around for price drops on a 2500k and motherboard. DDR3 is fairly cheap. Your 5970 will carry you through for a while, and when you get enough cash you can replace it when it's needed.
     
  13. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,657 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    I replaced the TIM paste of the Q9450 a couple of months ago. It does have an IHS thankfully.
     
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,278 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,891
    Location:
    Oregon
    Go with a new board and 2500K I, in the same boat
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,228 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    994
    Location:
    Miami
    I'm talking about the switch to the q9450 :slap:, you're talking about the general upgrade, which if you read, ive been stating 2500K and a nice cheap mobo with some DDr3 is the way to go.

    a: GTX 260's in SLI require CPU and platform input to make them run well. The coding of the game is what determines how well it scales with cores not the DX version. ex. Supreme commander. No its not the same card and yes it will be different but the comparison is still somewhat helpful.

    b: Im talking about her q9450, which is the same chip.

    c: look at b.
     
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,657 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    Well, I tried that tweak on the laptop (Q9450, 4GB RAM & 8800M GTX @ 1920x1200) and it worked. I started getting fps in the 50's, but the game did stutter a bit..

    Now I'm at home and am currently testing it out on the desktop (E8400 @ 4Ghz, 4GB RAM & 5970 @2560x1440) and this fix didn't work. My max fps was still 30/31. :confused: Does this fix work only on Nvidia and not AMD cards?

    What's worse is that on the desktop (with or without the fix) my minimum fps drop to 12 :(

    So I changed resolution to 1920x1080.
    The game definitely runs better but it hurts my eyes. Max fps is 30 and the minimum is in the 20's ugghh. This is confusing. My laptop at a higher res of 1920x1200 and using a much much worse card than the 5970 always keeps over 30fps.

    I know my E8400 is old and only dual core but please tell me it's just this game? Before Alice I played Dirt 3 at 2560x1440 with most settings maxed and it was as smooth as butter?
     
  17. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    Maybe you had PhysX on High? :p
     
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,657 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    There isn't a specific physx option.

    The graphic options I'm using right now are:

    resolution: 1920x1080
    AA: Off
    3dStereo: On
    Motion Blur: On
    Post Processing: On
    Dynamic Shadows: Off

    (I don't exclude that due to my lack of tech-jargon knowledge any of the above means precisely physx though :eek: )
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    In my recent chat with BP, I was rather leaning towards for her to go the 2500K route. We mainly had a discussion about the more modern architectures and in I explained it to her that with the "northbridge on the cpu" would give her better minimum fps rates.
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,002 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,468
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    A sandy bridge setup for her would be perfect. In the meanwhile she can move the quad out of her lappy to the desktop for some nice gaming.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    I guess it only appears when an Nvidia card is detected? So it's probably not like Mafia II where there is still a PhysX option even with an AMD card?

    Here's a screenshot regardless:
    [​IMG]
     
  22. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,898 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    Even if she does go 2500K/2600K which is great, she should wait to see what SB-E brings out...
     
  23. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,657 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    Yup you're right. I didn't have a PhysX option on the desktop with the AMD card.:ohwell: So that's not the reason for my low fps.

    Now I'm on the laptop, and I just checked and found that I had been playing with PhysX on high on the laptop. And getting better fps @1920x1200 with one 8800M GTX with 4GB ram and Q9450 than I get @ 1920x1080 on 5970 with 4GB ram and E8400 4Ghz and no physx option available. :confused:

    Anyway, I'm just hoping it's just this one game.
    I'll see how it all goes when I get Skyrim on 11-11-11 and proceed from there :)
     
  24. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,228 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    994
    Location:
    Miami
    Hook the lappy up to the big monitor and game away :D.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I still say a 2500k is pointless for someone that likes to wait long periods between cpu and board upgrades.
     
    n-ster says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page