1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Alternative to powering my hard drive that has a broken power pin?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by pizza, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. pizza

    pizza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    26 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea actually i did take the power cord out out the drive with out shutting down windows but i thought it was different this way? now my drive is saying 96 gb unallocated in disk management, even though its a 160 gb drive. The 2 partitions are not showing up anymore is the drive slowly falling apart ?
     
  2. pizza

    pizza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    26 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok, so i am going to try and replace the board and i found a very similar pcb board online.
    but i have a question, i have heard that with recent hard drives you cant just replace the eletric board but you have to take some of the chips off? im not sure if that is true in my case but here is my drive "WD1600AAJB-00PVA0" it came out in 2007 so i hope not. But if its true then i guess it is but is there a way that i can find out ?
     
  3. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Well you fried the drive when you did that.
     
  4. pizza

    pizza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    26 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    actually in disk management its saying 149 gb again so i guess that was temporally.
     
  5. winofiend New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    From the sounds of it, after reading this, it seems you were doing everything in a Live system. Touching live wires with solder and so on? Oo

    And I bet you plugged the HDD back in, Live too?

    I did that by accident once with a non hot-swappable drive caddy on an old 80gb drive. It showed up as 80gb in devices, but everything on it was kaput.

    Good luck!!

    oO
     
  6. pizza

    pizza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    26 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea i did and i stopped doing that and the drive seems like its trying to go back to normal after i stopped.
     
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,382 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Never seen a drive with corrupted data heal itself on a regular consumer drive...

    Try and get your data, you wish to save, off the drive now.
    If it is corrupt... run a disk check on it to fix it, as much as possible.
    And, try again.

    Sounds like you are going to end up frying something... unless, that is your goal; then, go for it.
     
  8. pizza

    pizza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    26 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, so i took the advice to swap my pcb board with a working pcb board and i finally got one. So im going to see if it just works so here goes nothing!!
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  9. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    if it doesn't work buy an molex splitter cable and insert one plug into the broken hard drive then cut and strip a wire from the other plug to solder where the broken pin was.

    take it to a mobile phone technician they should be skilled enough with a soldering iron to put the wire on without destroying the hard drive.
     
  10. pizza

    pizza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    26 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea it did Not work, i was hopping it would but it sucked. Now its making a power failure noise in the drive with both pcb's boards. :banghead: It starts up and shuts itself off i hope my data is not fried.
     
  11. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Honestly you've most likely lost your data as beyond your means of recovery. It sounds like you may have damaged something inside the drive at this point.

    If the data is important enough to you, it's time to send it to an expert.

    Otherwise, use this as a lesson to always have multiple copies of data you care about. 1 is none - 2 is one, etc.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. pizza

    pizza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    26 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Even though the drive is damaged i cant believe the pcb board swap worked because data pros said it wouldn't. I put the damaged pcb board from my drive and put it on the replica drive that i got and it put up in windows.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013
  13. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,012 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Oregon
    Great, Its work many time for me
     
  14. pizza

    pizza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    26 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea my damaged drive is not working and is clicking but the pcb board thing for this western digital drive works. Honestly i thought it wouldn't
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page