1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AM3 budget Mobo

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by YinYang.ERROR, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
  3. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
  5. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Sure! I just picked the Gigabyte because it's cheaper. Asus is good. :toast:
     
  7. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    If you are just gaming/overclocking here and there, deffinitely get the x3 720. It's sooo much easier to overclock and no more messing with HTT. To speed things up, you just raise the CPU multi, raise the NB multi and mess with voltage a little. Plus, you always have the chance of unlocking a core. :toast:
     
    YinYang.ERROR says thanks.
  9. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Great deal, thanks! You saved me quite a bit of hassle and money.

    Is it alright to give the 720 a small bump (to say 3ghz) with stock cooling? I don't plan on OCing much, but it may come in handy later.
     
  10. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA

    I'm sure you could go up to 3GHz with no problem. I would recommend spending a few extra bucks on a CM Hyper 212 when they get some in, it's got HDT, a big fan, and is pretty cheap. I'm sure you could have it at 3.8GHz forever with that cooler.
     
    YinYang.ERROR says thanks.
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
  13. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Thanks guys, I was wondering does the activation of the dormant core on the 720 increase the processor's heat? If so is it safe to run it on stock cooling?
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Foxconn. Really? I've never had very good luck with those. Bios support seems to be slow and not very good. I haven't dealt with them for a couple years though.


    Most likely. Even if you are able to unlock a core, you will probablly have to increase voltage for stability. You should try to see what you can do with three cores before trying an unlock.
     
  15. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    They still use cheaper components and are just as expensive as better boards that use better components.
     
  17. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    no. most of the time they ARE cheaper than the competition and quite as good. they are cheaper because they use simpler design (manual lane switching for instance, sata bridge to have esata, shortened pcb) but when it comes to performance they are almost the same as the competition. also the asrock's have the highest chances of unlocking together with gigabyte and msi.

    still, lets not get offtopic. :)
     
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    the biostar ta790gx a3+ is a good choice. its cheap and should be "average", but overclocks nicely like i read. i dont know if an mATX factor of it exists,tho...
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what about the Foxconn that i linked to a few post up?(the same board you have) would you recommend it over the Biostar?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    foxconn made a 790fx which is cheaper than the 790gx u linked and has free shipping ;)
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    that is true but he wants DDR3 not DDR2 like the 790fx foxconn is. but that is a sick deal for the 790fx board

    btw the newer foxconn boards can play with the big boys now.They have come a long ways in a few years
     
    LittleLizard says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    if the biostar behaves like my a2+ did,regarding htt clocking, then supposedly not, but i believe this is an am3 problem (low htt achievable), so the foxconn definetly is the better choice (all solid caps,high quality chokes) memory slots are near to the power connector, so even very big heatsinks fit, without loosing ram exchangability. bios jumper is set very good, its very easy to see (in the mid of the slots towards the sata ports) , and to use, even with dual cards installed:)
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I myself still want to get my hands on the DDR2 version of the foxconn board that you have or the 790fx one (more PCI-E slots for folding cards :D)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Don't spurt out a bunch of false information, then tell me to get back on topic. Cheaper capacitors and other electrical components comes to mind. Highest chanses of unlocking? Please. That has nothing to do with a motherboard that has the ACC function, it has to do with the processor itself. Performance may be close, but I'll spend my money on a board that costs the same and uses better components. Plus, I've actually used many of these boards and I'm pretty sure you cannot say the same.
     
  25. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Heard Nightmare stories about Foxconn RMA, but haven't experienced myself. So if you are paying that much why not just buy a gigabyte or Asus?

    BTW for cooler I would go with this

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103064
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page