1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AM3+ motherboard

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Absolution, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I am thinking of changing my motherboard, so I was wondering if there is there any AM3+, Thuban overclock friendly motherboard that costs less than 100USD that someone can suggest.

    Should have VRM's heatsinked and 8+1etc vrm design.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Absolution says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I cant :D

    Thats why I need a budget (but has the features of a high end) mobo
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,924 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,122
    Ga-970a-ud3
     
    Norton and Absolution say thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Absolution says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Hmm okay, this is probably it, the other two in the 970 chipset are 4+1. Gigabytes Ultra durable motherboards also have some praise around other forums.

    Any other brand suggestions are welcome still ^^
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Honestly, I just looked through the newegg section and for that price it seems to be the winner unless you want the 990FX extreme4 for 144$
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Well there is Asrock's 970 extreme 3 and 4. It got heatsinks, but dont know if thats the spot where it should be and hard to tell if they are 8+1etc or not (since its a term gigabyte uses mostly :/)
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I checked all those boards on asrocks website and they are 4+1. the only one that is 8+2 is the 990fx extreme4
     
    Absolution says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Alrighty, thank you very much :respect:
     
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,924 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,122
    iim looking to buy that board to, i have the same situation :D
    thats the one i picked for myself.
     
  13. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    d1nky, adulaamin and jgunning say thanks.
  14. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,164 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,645
    I would go for one of the following:

    Gigabyte 970 UD3 (8+2 power) as DDD suggested

    OR

    ASUS M5A97 Evo (6+2 power)- I run the ASUS 970 and 990X (Both Evo's) and they both run well for me (crunching @ 100% load 24/7 using FX-8 chips, each with a 400Mhz overclock (8150@4Ghz, 8350@4.4Ghz). Note- the non-Evo boards went cheap on the power and are not 6+2.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    DAMN! nice find! That should be stickied in the motherboard section!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,128 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,791
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Hey man if you could save up some more The Gigabyte 990fxa-ud3 is a great board for overclocking Thubans. I had a 1055t in my Gigabyte 890XA-Ud3 board and could only get it to 3.2 no matter what I tried. The fsb just craped out above 230 on it. Pop the same chip into my 990FXA-UD3 board and it went to 3.5 / 250 fsb without even even a voltage bump. Great board it is. I know it's a little costly but it does yield great results.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Hmm 4+4+2 or a 6+2 (which i assume is the "true" 6 phase design that the 2009 thread talks about and the 8+2 is just 4+4+2). Also the Asus Evo got more heatsinks and its BIOS looks cool too with plenty of options
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I personally like that gigabyte DDD posted but those look good as well. Its only a matter of opinion at this point.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    278 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    @Mad shot: idk man, im not really into fsb overclocks, all kinda of other stuff to worry about like mem clocks and HT clocks

    i want a simple multiplier overclock :p

    another question. if i overclocked with my current board and did not increase the vcore, then the power intake would be the same, right? (kinda of a stupid question, but somewhere i read something about the phases and vcore smoothing that put this thought into my mind)
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hmmm yes and no really, It would use slightly more amperage but less voltage creating more heat and stress on the VRM's but not much unless it goes VERY far on stock voltage.
     
    Absolution says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,128 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,791
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I understand what you mean. I popped a 1090t in my 890xa board and used only multiplier overclock and was able to get up to 3.6 on first boot with out issues. I too tend to lean towrds multi ocing. But the 1055t is locked on the multiplier side so my only option was fsb. Which between the two boards it seems the 990fxa is the better board since it does handle fsb ocing really well. It can only improve on that with multiplier ocing. Also at 250 fsb you can just drop the ht and mem multipler back by 1 and your right back to stock spec on those.
     
    Absolution says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    I run the m5a97 Evo and it is a fantastic board!Never had any problems ;) Highly recommend :rockout:
     
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,924 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,122
    Dont go for asus. they have reliability issues at the moment. i advised my friend to get a m5a 97 evo and it had problems with the 3.3V.

    asus boards have really gone down on quality. yay for non quality controlled chinese production
     
    Absolution says thanks.
  24. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    really? Good to know mate thanks! :toast:
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    The 6+2 board uses a chip to double the ancient 3+1 design its not a "true" 6+2.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page