1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 7970 owners, I just hit 1200 core stable, these temps normal?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Phusius, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4237793

    Voltage is at 1206, and temp never went past 65 Celsius in 3dmark11 loop cycle for 30 minutes.


    no crashes, no artifacts... so am I safe to run it at this voltage for more demanding games like shogun 2 for say 3 hours straight? as long as i keep an eye on temps?

    Off-Topic question: Can I have Msi afterburner running alongside Trixx solely for the use of msi afterburners OSD of fps/temp? or should i switch to fraps for that just to be safe?
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,939 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Sometimes programs conflict with eachother especially when it comes to adjusting video card settings. use 1 or the other to be safe

  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    Why would you think that 65c isn't safe? :confused:
    Zubasa says thanks.
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Dunno how OC works or what is normal temps for that voltage or what is safe temps. lol

    everything seems stable though and temps are ok i guess, so i guess i will just leave it
  5. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,029 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Most if not all gpu's handle <100C
    Phusius says thanks.
  6. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,078 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I wouldn't go over 80 and I I've damaged a GPU from like 80-90 although it was probably 88-94 for like ten minutes. But that was a 5870.
    Phusius says thanks.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Psh. MY 5870's ran 90's no problem. I actually seem to recall many users here telling me my cards were running too hot, but then many didn't know that I ended up going through 9 of those cards, and they were all the same.


    My 6950's hit 95 C avg on load, no problems.

    my 7950 Windforce cards..those don't top 65 C.

    You didn't damage anything going over 80-90. 4-series, 5-series, 6-series, and 7-series AMD cards will all throttle or shut down if running too hot, and the fans on these cards rarely even hits 50%.


    Now maybe you OC'd, added voltage, and THAT killed the card...sure.
  8. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    My 4870x2 used to run at more than 95c daily and it still works, same for the 5970 and my HD6990 once hit 103c and nothing bad happened.

    These cards can stand a good amount of abuse ;) Of course I am not tell you to run your card over a certain threshold but if it should happen don't worry.
  9. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Well 65C is like the temperature of cards like the 7750 loads at, so it is rather low temps for a 7970.
  10. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    504 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    well, my 7970 dcu ii card is hotter than yours, (68*C/69*C load temp under 3dmark11 render stress)
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,866 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    When overclocking my GTX260, clocks seemed hard locked at whatever the 2D settings were after a crash. I could set my core at 1GHz in EVGA Precision... whatever I wanted, but it didn't actually apply. If you had a crash and a recover, your 1.2GHz clock may not actually be being applied.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Didn't your 5870's spend a majority of their time at XFX?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page