1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Adds New Six-Core AMD Opteron HE Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    i7 is fast/powerfull/hot but its also expencive to build a decent i7 system, where as you can build a damn nice phenom2 system for a good price be it with ddr2 or ddr3 now, the money you save going amd on board+cpu can go to getting a better videocard, or a couple nice cards for crossfire :)

    i7 still isnt worth the green it costs IMHO, and the fact that you will soon have i7's in 2 diffrent sockets......just makes things that much more confusing for the consumer......

    how much you wana bet you see people giving chips/boards bad reviews on newegg because they got the wrong cpu+board? its already happening with am2/am2+ cpu's and am3 boards, people are DUMB and will blame the board maker or chip maker for their not reading properly.....

    blah, I know im going phenomII not i7 or i5 or i3, even if i cant get an "fx" chip, I would be happy with a chip i can clock nicely that will let me do what I do at a reasonable speed(gaming, encoding, movies)
     
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,295 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,780
    Not so true anymore. They are about neck and neck now.

    Then AMDs current offerings are crap if you think that of the i7. Again the prices are far closer than they used to be.

    My stocks will thank you. :toast:
     
  3. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    a truely "decent" i7 rig will cost you more then grabbing a phenom2 rig, I could add it up but, meh no real need.

    I am still happy with my current cpu, but am looking at upgrading my system fairly soon because i have a chance to do it very cheap :)
     
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,295 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,780
    << See specs. Ill make ya a deal ;)
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,956 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    Wait for i5. :cool:
     
  6. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    there's a been a few threads about i7 vs PhII price difference, if you pick the one of the best boards on newegg for the Phenom II build and 4gb ddr3 1600 ram; for i7 920/MSI x58/6gb DDR3 1600, the prices are only $50 dollar difference not much for a high end budget/build. However the cheapest and good quality phenom II build is definitely cheaper than the cheapest good quality i7 build. no point to argue, this has been proven many times over
     
  7. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Aye, and with that extra money you save, you spend it on a better video card. :D
     
  8. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    im looking at
    gigabyte 790x am3 board
    8gb of ddr3(kickass overclockers stuff)
    gtx260 or 4870 1gb(probbly the gtx260 now that i have badaboom and its so fast and encoding with cuda)

    I could keep my 8800gts 512 and use it purly for cuda if i wanted.

    I dont do MSI boards, nor asus boards for amd, the gigabyte board offers all the features i need/want(more really) and can unlock cores if you get a chip thats unlockable like the phenomII x2.

    also looking at getting a 23-24.6" monitor as well :)

    depends on how things work out, whatever way i go im sure i will have fun clocking it and playing with the new tech :D
     
  9. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Here we go, the Sempron FX!

    [​IMG]
     
  10. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,110 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,929
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It will slaughter an i7! 1 2 3 4 5







    1. i7 has one core enabled.
    2. i7 has turbo disabled.
    3. i7 has hyperthreading disabled.
    4. i7 is clocked at no greater than 1 GHz.
    5. The previous statements are untested.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page