1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Cayman, Antilles Specifications Surface

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    At last, specifications of AMD's elusive Radeon HD 6970 and Radeon HD 6990 graphics accelerators made it to the internet, with slides exposing details such as stream processor count. The Radeon HD 6970 is based on a new 40 nm GPU by AMD, codenamed "Cayman". The dual-GPU accelerator being designed using two Cayman GPUs is codenamed "Antilles", and carries the product name Radeon HD 6990.

    Cayman packs 1920 stream processors, spread across 30 SIMD engines, indicating the 4D stream processor architecture, generating single-precision computational power of 3 TFLOPs. It packs 96 TMUs, 128 Z/Stencil ROPs, and 32 color ROPs. Its memory bandwidth of 160 GB/s indicates that it uses a 256-bit wide GDDR5 memory interface. The memory amount, however, seems to have been doubled to 2 GB on the Radeon HD 6970. Antilles uses two of these Cayman GPUs, combined computational power of 6 TFLOPs, a total of 3840 stream processors, total memory bandwidth of 307.2 GB/s, a total of 4 GB of memory, load and idle board power ratings at 300W and 30W, respectively.

    [​IMG]

    Source: 3DCenter Forum
     
  2. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    160GBPS that's it??? WHAT SHIT GTX580 is near 200GBPS
     
  3. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    So the memory is only 5000 effective? Thought they we're confirmed as using chips rated for 6000.
     
  4. ariff_tech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    3840/2 = 1920

    6970 would only have 1920 stream processor.
    it couldn't beat GTX580.

    i hope 6970 would be double of 6870.
    this will surely beat GTX580.

    i will stick with my 5870 E6.
     
  5. newfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Although, threaded AMD promises, but I have to agree this is incredible weak show from AMD.

    Considering AMD/ATI is at huge issues with driver, BIOSes and all software of software issues + the fact that they have delay issues and nothing(as in new games) never seems to work correctly on their GPUs it is pretty funny..

    (and nobody dare to accuse me an 'NVIDIA' fanboy I own only AMD/ATI GPUs atm a lot of them and I've been fixing their drivers for past 6 months almost every day basis.)
     
  6. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    A 6870 offers 73% of a 580's performance with 1120 shaders. I doubt that it'd take double that to match a 580.
     
  7. leonard_222003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    241 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    You've been fixing their drivers ? yeah , for sure nobody will say you are a fanboy when you say you are fixing their drivers , what you do ? fix the inf ? ini ? :D , fanboys never cease to amaze the world with statements like this , from the i owned everything ati made to fixing drivers and probably making GPU's one day , something like " i made the Ati gpu and i know it sucks" , i won't say Nvidia is better but read bettwen the lines :D .
     
  8. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    +1 on that, it seems that 6990 will smoke GTX580's ass.

    I have never encountered a problem with ATi's graphics card, my old X300 is still happy inside my parent's pc, and my lappy's 4570 has not overheated (unlike my 8400GS). Never had any problems on the driver side either.

    Edit: any chance of seeing 6850X2/6870X2? From benchies, it seems that those two cards provide a lot of crossfire power and should cost less than a GTX580 while delivering more performance.
     
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,768 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,330
    That's wierd, I have the opposite problem. AMD/ATI drivers have always worked like a charm, but Nvidia's just doesn't play well with my system. It might be something else beneath it though, sometimes I think the motherboard is bad. :ohwell:
     
  10. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    mdm-adph says thanks.
  11. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    more stream processors
    more stream processors
    more stream processors
    and more stream processors = HD 9990
     
  12. afw

    afw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    642 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    300W ... ??? :confused: ... even the 6870 is rated as 151W IIRC ... this has more than 2x6870 SPs and still needs 300W ...
     
  13. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Didn't the 5870 have 4800mhz and the 5970 have 4000mhz ? Could the 6970 have 5800mhz and the 6990 have 5000mhz?

    After spending some time using only one of my 6870's to find out it's almost enough to max out most of the games i play at 5040x1050 i think selling my 6870's and getting one 6970 would give me the power to game over 3 monitors and no crossfire worry's :D i look forward to the reviews.
     
  14. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    96 TMU cannot be correct. You can't divide 96 TMU on 30 SIMDs. 96/30 = 3.2

    On top of that the TMU number per SIMD is always a power of 2 and has always been 4 so far on AMD cards. 30 SIMDs most probably means 120 TMUs.

    Only other posibility is that Cayman is still 5D and has 24 SIMDs. 1920/80 = 24. Then all the numbers provided here match up. (24 x 4 = 96 TMU)
     
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    5970 drinks a max of ~300w, 5870 takes in ~210w, so there's your answer. (no doubt they will underclock the 6990 compared to 6970)
     
  16. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    Not sure what you trying to say, but 6990 is using 300W, not 6970.
     
  17. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    The other slide.

    [​IMG]
     
    left4lol says thanks.
  18. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
  19. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
  20. Swamp Monster

    Swamp Monster

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    561 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Latvia
    yes, it seems there isn't much changes on memory side. I hope It will do fine.
     
  21. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    wanna bet?
     
  22. poo417 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    87 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Dumfries, Scotland
    The memory bottleneck was a myth on the 5xxx series. You could over clock the memory on my old 5970 from 1000 - 1200 and gain a few percent performance. Overclocking the GPU on the other hand form 725 - 900 was a HUGE jump in performance. The problem with the cards was a lack of memory on very res with AA. At 6050 x 1080 AA with a lot of games was not possible.

    My 480's regularly use more than 1 GB in games at that res. Hell there is even a few games that use more than 1 GB at 1920 x 1080 with 4/8 x AA.

    Overclocking the memory on the 480's does very little as well. Again OC the GPU massive jump in performance in most games.
     
    mdm-adph says thanks.
  23. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    944 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Australia
    Dude, I play most of the new games when they come out and havent had any issues with any driver.

    Maybe you could ask a friend to teach you how to build and maintain a computer properly because its not normal to have so many problems.

    AMD doesnt ban people for complaining from the website either unless you were acting like a tool.
     
  24. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Ran 10,4 with my 5850, playd all new titles, so does 6 friends with the 5 series... no problems.
    soo... your doing something wrong...
    obviously since we run 10 000 laptops at work and we've had no complaints about ati cards from any.
    ati's rma rate is also EXACTLY the same as nvidia... highest rma cards is 4870X2 and then GTX 295.
     
  25. ariff_tech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Dual 6870 can beat 5970, and GTX 580 couldnt beat 5970.
    But only if cayman have enough bandwidth (512bit memory perhaps)

    Let wait for the review and see,
    but power consumption look promising, 300W for dual Cayman, that's great:toast:
    and support 8 display:rockout:
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2010
    N3M3515 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page