1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Fudges Power Consumption Figures by Making Up Power Consumption Rating System

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    When AMD released the K10 micro-architecture, which included Phenom and Barcelona, they unfortunately neglected to mention that they had also released an entirely new way to benchmark power consumption and thermal output. AMD's Average CPU Power system, or "ACU" for short, is a new way to measure the amount of power a CPU really requires, and consequently, the heat it puts out. AMD, when asked, claimed that their way of measuring things was comparable to the TDP system. However, independent results reveal otherwise.

    AMD's great quad-core Phenom-based Opteron got a reasonable 75W power consumption rating using AMD's system. However, when put under the traditional TDP test, the Opteron quickly heated up to requiring 95W. Stunned, the testers tried again, and the same CPU got a remarkable 115W TDP load. The full version of the chart is available at the source link. For comparison, Intel's biggest and baddest quad-core CPU uses 120W TDP full load.

    Source: DailyTech
     
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    and i thought one of the saving graces of phenom was its "power efficiency"
     
  3. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    AMD is a submarine going down with the hatch open.
     
  4. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    :banghead:WHY oh Why must this be
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2007
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Not cool AMD, not cool.
     
  6. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    :laugh:

    you're right they get hot!
     
  7. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    pun intended?
     
  8. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    US
    i think the idea of the new system was to underline the energy efficiency under normal circumstances... so they probably should start using both systems of measure
     
  9. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    LOL - Why, why was I programmed to feel pain.:laugh:

    Yeah, this sucks for AMD. I'm pulling for them, and even considered going to thier spider platform, but they keep shooting themselves in the foot (and kneecaps and hands etc).:(
     
  10. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    They're getting even with intel, I guess (on TDP). Intel has done the EXACT same thing for ages (and actually calls it TDP), but AMD gets really bad press b/c they're the little guys. Nice spinning of news, someone must've have hired politicians.
     
  11. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    amd is beginning to bury itself now
     
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Tell them Gurustud. You are right. I dont care how much power they use to be honest. It seems to me as if someone wants to put AMD under the magnifying glass and fry their ass like an ant in the sun. I say enough mudslinging and quit throwing them under the table. Yes, they are in a bad position, but every microcosm they do doesnt mean they are going to go under. SHEESH!
     
    zOaib says thanks.
  13. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Thanks WarEagleAU.

    I'm not condoning what AMD did by any means. I think they should have stuck to the high road on this one. But to call out AMD and insult them, etc, is asinine, considering that your beloved intel has been doing everything under the sun illegally and/or being purposefully misleading (aka flat out lying). Way to beat up on the little guy that is incredibly ethical and has given is so much in the market. I truly believe the market would be doomed (mostly in x86 tech.) without AMD. Think of Walmart when you think of intel, and think of the hard working, caring, little store when you think of AMD. That's what they are, and we all know what Walmart is doing for this country (helping to destroy it if you haven't caught on yet).
     
    zOaib says thanks.
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    TheGuruStud, wow, how hypocritical. You jump on some for insulting AMD, but then turn around and do the exact same thing about Intel in the same damn sentence.:shadedshu
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    what about the split power plane thing?
     
  16. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    I think you need comprehension and reasoning skills :nutkick: AMD really has done no wrong (don't make me post pages of what intel has and continues to do, especially over seas). This number stunt is the worst thing they've ever done, and it was meant to level the playing field with intel's numbers.

    So, if you still haven't understood - AMD deserves no ridiculous remarks, intel deserves all of the bashing that they get (just like M$, etc). See, the difference? One is evil and one is not. One tries to screw everyone over (by illegal means) and the other is trying to survive (being ethical and caring to the market).

    I don't see how giving negative remarks that are due is hypocritical. Now, if I totally bash intel for changing their model numbers to make the product sound better (or something of the equivalence that we're talking about here), then that would hypocritical.
     
  17. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Guys, don't start a fight over each other's English/processors...it's not worth it.
     
  18. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Of course. :D
     
  19. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    holy bias batman.

    so if i fail at a test i should make my own and try to pass it off as the same thing?
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Smart man with smart words.
     
    zekrahminator says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    lol he even thanked you for that.

    i say that both sides (AMD and Intel) need to quit fighting. This is ridiculous. I mean comeon people we have better things to argue about instead of who's getting more negative press, I think Zek remembers my hotheadedness about his Blu Ray article, I certainly havent forgotten. But I do admit I was hotheaded about the whole issue and for that i do apologize to zek, for what I said to him.

    All forgiven Zek?:toast::toast:
     
  22. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    [​IMG]
     
  23. effmaster

    effmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,328 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
    lol this is more appropriate zek:

    [​IMG]


    only kidding only kidding :D:D:D
     
  24. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Meh, DT had a second article on the whole thing.

    ACP has more to do with the cost of the power used. Finding an average wattage draw, through real-time usage.

    TDP is more about the maximum wattage a cpu can draw through heavy stress situations, and is used to determine cooling, and your power requirements.

    Really two different things, and don't have a whole lot to do with each other. If AMD's TDP jumps up 15W, that maximum is just a blip on the average reading for the ACP. More than likely wouldn't affect it at all.

    Think about how much time your cpu spends idle. Sure, you can pop it up to full load (i.e. TDP), but it's not going to be there all the time, making TDP useless for determining power cost effectiveness. AMD obviously figured out a way to keep their average usage lower comparatively to Intel, and marketed it as a positive. This is entirely normal. Nothing wrong with bragging about your strengths. It's not like they were hiding their TDP either, as it's still an important factor, but being that it's worse, probably a good move not to highlight it.

    Best way I understand it at least.
     
  25. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    Its all gone to pot since the purchase of ATI.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page