1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD fx-6100

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Fanste, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    hi, i just put my fx6100 @ 4ghz with stock coling, without increasing voltage , and it is stable ... did anyone try that, or maybe i did something wrong :confused:
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,524 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,041
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The Fx series OCs pretty good. just make sure your temps are not too high and you remain stable.
    Fanste says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,085 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I have mine at 4.5 Ghz with 1.476 volts. Just for reference.
  4. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    i run stability test for 30min and temp is 45-48c ... with stock coling??
  5. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,085 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    If you have stock cooling you might not get good yields. Just make sure the CPU temp doesn't exceed 60C.
    Fanste says thanks.
  6. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    should i turned off turbo core?
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,524 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,041
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Test with Intelburntest make sure you have it set to 6 threads and max memory, do atleast 20 passes.
    Fanste says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,085 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    You can and then manually set the speed at which you want the CPU to run. I don't know how much you know but just to be sure CPU speed = Front Side BUS (FSB) x CPU Multiplyer (MP). The higher the cpu speed the more volts you are going to need to keep it stable which means more heat is going to be generated which will in turn also cause stability issues. This is why cooling is important.
    Fanste says thanks.
  9. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    yes , i know that , but i didn't know that can be stable @4ghz without voltage increasing :)
  10. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    @ which freq. you put cpuNorthbridge, and ht link freq.?
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,085 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    [​IMG]
    Fanste says thanks.
  12. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks man , 4.5ghz is going to be my limit. :toast:
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,635 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,966
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I hit 4.7 on 1.45v with a H80 on my old 6200
  14. Fanste

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    your cooling is the same price as CPU, i think with air cooling limit is 4.5 :/
  15. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Quite a nice result:) I OC-ed my GF's FX-6100, and I couldnt get it stable on stock volts over 3,7GHz, it needed quite a bit more juice for 4,0GHz. It really had a low stock voltage to begin with though(compared to my 8120 atleast).

    I'd say that as long as you dont increase the voltage too much, you'll be fine with the stock/air cooler.
    Generally these chips dont like a core temperature over 55-60 C, so if you stay under 60C you're OK.

    Happy clocking!
    Fanste says thanks.
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,635 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,966
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I find it easier to lower the vcore below stock voltage first, most processors will run stable on less. Once you've found your base ground, overclock from there. You'd be surprised at what you can get on less voltage.
    Fanste says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page