1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD has entered the memory market

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by hat, Mar 30, 2012.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ohio
    Never seen or heard of this before. Something prompted me to take a look at memory on Newegg, and I see AMD memory kits???

    Computer Hardware, Memory, Desktop Memory, AMD, 2...

    After taking a closer look at the specs of the memory kits, they don't look so good... at stock settings anyway.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Made by Patriot. Or so says the box of 'em I bought a while ago.

    Also, been around for a wihle now, several months at least.
     
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hm, first I ever heard of them. Made by Patriot you say... that's kinda disappointing, I thought it would be cool to have memory produced by AMD themselves.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Meh. Considering that no other brand really has "AMD-Certified" stuff other than Corsair(and theirs is old to boot), +1 to Patriot for making sure AMD users have stuff that's guaranteed to work. Playing with ram on AMD can be a big headache.
     
  5. Vulpesveritas

    Vulpesveritas

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    383 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    USA
    Not to mention the AMD QC check after Patriot's if I understand correctly.
     
  6. araditus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    OCZ used to have amd black edition ram
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    OCZ doesn't even sell ram period any more, left the market many months ago.

    The issue, of course, is that most ram is sold at XMP-rated speeds. The timings provided in XMP don't always work, as AMD has a much more limited range of usable timings in the first place, making XMP profiles useless on AMD.

    However, if you know how to set timings manually, then it's not much an issue, except when trying to clock realyl high, again, because of those timing restrictions.

    So, it'd sure be nice to have ram that you can just plug and play on AMD like you can on Intel....and this memory takes care of that.
     
  8. BeepBeep2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    236 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    This really isn't new, AMD started this up about a year ago.

    Of course, they weren't really on the mass market (newegg) until recently.
     
  9. araditus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    dont take offense to what im about to type, but no shit lol thats why i said "used to" past tense, sorry it bothered me that you may have missed it (or the inner fact that i dont like to look wrong lol)

    all this was said with love in mind sir. :)
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No offense taken...I did't post purely for you, but that many people don't even know OCZ quit making ram. FitSeries3, for example, who apparantly keeps up on tech, posted several weeks ago with no idea they left the market, so some people clearly, have missed that bit. The industry is very busy with changes all the time, so I try to make no assumptions, and cover all angles.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page