1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD HD 7950 Boost Clock BIOS Update

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    896 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Australia
    Well, AMD have to do something, they need to stay competitive.
  2. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,438 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    So to compete with the 660 they jack up the power consumption to beyond 670 levels? I'd say it's ironic how things had swapped, but even when nvidia cards were the more power hungry they at least offered the top performance.
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,135 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,719
    Location:
    Mexico
    I think that the 7900 series need an extra 8 ROPs to really deliver. Too bad that can't be achieved with a bios flash.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. DeoDomuique New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Red or Dead, dude... You got a gem there!

    By the way, I can do 1000Mhz with 1.056... Does this mean probably my card consumes less than Wizard's reference card in those graphs ( the ref at 800Mhz with 1.07 ) ?

    I'm curious because I really do care for power consumption. This was the reason I didn't get 7970, back then.

    So... There is absolutely no reason to try this BIOS, right? Why to increase my Voltage to 1.112 ( 1.031 default at 900Mhz and I can easily undervolt at least 1.006 )? I can run with this voltage at 1060-1070Mhz normally.
  5. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    620 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I don't get it either. AMD dropped the ball this generation, hopefully they can push the envelope next gen.
  6. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    428 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Well it doesn't matter, radeon chips are not memory bandwith limited....
  7. rvalencia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    79 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    79x0 still carries practical double float performance and it's associated transistors.

    Depends on the benchmark mix and AA settings e.g. add Dirt Showdown and MSAA 8X. 1280x800p can skew the average.
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,720 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Updated my XFX FX-795A-TDFC with no problems (used atiflash DOS on USB stick and shortened the BIOS filename to the traditional 8.3 character DOS style). It looks like this BIOS raised the voltage a lot, although I sort of wanted that to an extent so I could just use Overdrive without Afterburner getting in the way and causing conflicts with Overdrive (I'm guessing that is where most of my display driver crashing and weird screen spazzing is coming from). Going to try Nexuiz tomorrow and hope my card doesn't hit 90c at 1GHz like it was (wouldn't be surprised if it did, the XFX 7950 DD cooler sucks).

    I'm almost tempted to buy one of those expensive Accelero coolers but the stock card barely fits in my Rosewill Challenger as it is. :(
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,564 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,263
    I believe You can turn off Overdrive, I guess its the same for Afterburner
  10. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    858 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    A solid bump in performance even though it consumes more power
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,387 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,465
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Testing this BIOS on "non-reference" PCB...will report result, etc in a couple of days, if not sooner...


    Now, to BF3!!!


    :roll:
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,564 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,263
    Good Luck Dave
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,387 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,465
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It's slower than my stock BIOS @ 900 MHz.


    Overclocking?


    forgeddaboutit.


    New driver out taday, I'll try that, but for now this BIOS = FAIL!!! :p
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,564 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,263
    probably not meant for the non ref boards like the GHZ edition 7970.
  15. rvalencia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    79 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    It's slower than my 900Mhz BIOS 7950.
  16. rvalencia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    79 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I tested the new BIOS on my Sapphire 7950 and it caused some issues with Eyefinity and display ports.
  17. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Anybody else dropping down a forum user's System Specs and see if they have an nVidia card whenever they comment something negative about AMD?
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  18. rvalencia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    79 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    From http://www.pcpartspicker.com/parts/video-card/#c=71&sort=a5

    The new BIOS would be pointless for ~33 percent of the 7950 (@900Mhz/950MHz) line items in pcpartspicker.com
  19. karnage New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Would have liked to see this card on the 660 ti reviews
  20. Sir Alex Ice

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I tried this update on my Sapphire HD7950, which GPU-Z sees as having the same Device ID as the ATI HD 7950, different sub vendor though being Sapphire.
    Well, it bricked my HD7950, luckily I had an older VGA which I used as primary while I forced a reflash of the original BIOS in my Sapphire HD7950. It would seem Sapphire support is crap, it would have been much more professional from their side to put a download link for the needed BIOS update in the page of each HD7950 they make.
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,564 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,263
    You know all of them don't put their bios code up as its a risky task for the end user to do anyway. I'm not sure why you are trying to defame the company via libel. I hope you learned your lesson the hard way because honestly you didn't know what you were doing and you bitched that the bios flash failed.

    If the card isnt broken in the first place don't fix it.
    qubit says thanks.
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,819 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,468
    So you flash the card with a bios that wasn't designed for it and then actually blame Sapphire for your mistake when it breaks? You've blown the warranty and don't deserve any support, so how good or bad it is becomes irrelevant.
  23. Sir Alex Ice

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    This BIOS was advertised as good for HD7950 following standard PCB. Clearly this is not the case as it is not working for a Sapphire with the same identical device ID.
    I think you watched one too many episodes of Ally McBeal or Damages, but at least you enriched your vocabulary with big words like "libel"
    Here's the funny thing: it's not libel if it's damn true! Sapphire is making fine VGA, especially considering they are pretty much the cheapest ATI option on the market. But after sales support is clearly lacking.
    heky says thanks.
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,133 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    I use a Sapphire reference card and this flash worked fine. :confused: What process did you use to flash your card?
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    same device id does not mean "reference design"

    ALL HD 7950 cards, no matter the design have the same device id
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
    heky and eidairaman1 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page