1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Intros Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Quad-Core Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 3, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Today AMD released to market its latest quad-core processor, the Pheonom II X4 980 Black Edition. The new, faster SKU was first reported to be taking shape back in March. Based on the 45 nm "Deneb" silicon and K10.5 architecture, the X4 980 BE is yet another speed-bump, clocked at 3.70 GHz (18.5 x 200 MHz), with room for some overclocking thanks to its unlocked BClk multiplier.

    The Deneb die packs four x86-64 cores with 512 KB caches each, and a shared 6 MB L3 cache. Despite its high clock speed, the processor maintains TDP of 125W. Its IMC supports dual-channel DDR3/DDR2 memory, and is backwards compatible with AM2+ socket apart from its native AM3 socket. HyperTransport 4 GT/s is its chipset interconnect. The new processor is priced at US $195.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    588 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    dam i wonder how much OC ghz can this get lol i might consider buying 1050t maybe :p
     
  3. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    As happy as I am to hear about a new processor being released by AMD... I am really waiting for more news on BullDozer... Thanks for the Update though btarunr... Keep up the good work.
     
  4. makwy2

    makwy2

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    486 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Impressive but nothing more than a nice scenery on the road to Bulldozer! I'm sure this thing will OC to 5GHz without much work.
     
  5. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    ^ actually this will still be limited to the same amount. Maybe these chips are cherry.

    But over at legitreviews, they managed 4.5GHz with little water cooling, but at 1.6V

    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1603/14/
     
  6. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Better choice over a Core i5-2500K?

    Consider Price/Performance ratio.
     
  7. PCMHZ

    PCMHZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Near CPU fields
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Yeah that seems to where it's at. Similar results at Anandtech.
     
  9. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    *sigh*

    Really?

    :banghead:
     
  10. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,556 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    Not even close. The reviews for this are just awful. Unless your board can't support an X6 I'd tell everyone to pass.
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,197 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    You can get 2500K for $30 more, and the 2500K overclocked will completely demolish this processor (when its overclocked). So, Price/perf 2500k wins hands down. 2500K's motherboard will be a bit more expensive, but even with that considered, the 2500K still wins. The only scenario for the Phenom II x4 to win is when you already have an AM3 board, and your processor is an Athlon II x2 or x3.
     
  12. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I'm surprised Intel hasn't had anything to say about latter part of the name "980" somewhat similar to their "980x" wouldn't ya say :p
     
  13. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    dont even think about it. core i5-2500k all the way.
     
  14. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Location:
    Portugal
    Then they should have done something before. As in 2008. It was predictable.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2011
  15. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    Price performance there about the same if you do not overclock. If you overclock then the i5-2500K is your better choice. But if you already have an AM2+ or AM3 mobo then this is a win, very good performance for possibly a few yr old system to be not far behind a I7 system, i think that is pretty impressive.
     
  16. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    I really can't see anyone buying this chip, there's practically no reason to at all... :confused:

    99 out of 100 people with the choice would take an equally priced PII x6, or seriously consider a sandy bridge build.
     
  17. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    how about the PII x4 920/940 vs i7 920/940 back in the day?

    shouldn't matter
     
  18. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    price is way too high , might as well just get a six core.
     
  19. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    307 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Romania
    The name sounds good... 980, but it has only four cores and it's not X....ooh and have forgotten it's not even made by Intel it's the latest processor in AMD's lineup.
    Seriously, AMD why is it necessary to launch all these cpus with a higher multiplier and lower consumption compared to old revisisons just now? They make no sense, the 965BE was already having a smaller than average performance/price ratio. And now this. Just why? Bulldozer is coming soon SB is out and running well, that makes the Phenom II s have no sense for the buyer wanting to have an enthusiast cpu. It was said at every new launch that it will be the last, but next month a new one appeared having the name upped by 5 and the multi by one or a half.They are great all in reviews but are not rentable for the average user who gets the same from the 955 for less.
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  20. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    This is just a waste of good silicon.

    AMD, if you want to fill the news with something between now and the release date of BD, then buy ARM. That will be news worthy :)
     
  21. Pijoto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, when I eventually upgrade from my Athlon II X2 250, I hope to pick up one of these top of the line Phenom IIs for bargin bin prices a few years from now.

    Hopefully most games by then would actually use all four cores (or six if I can pick up an x6 chip a few years from now very cheaply), these Phenom II chips will still have years of life left in them.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2011
  22. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    go for the 6 cores, they perform excellent for its price, 1070 for example, I myself run 1055T and it runs anything i throw on it with 5850CF.

    I run clustering for servers so I buy pretty much only amd for myself, cost is far too high to replace the whole cluster, all old systems becomes server cluster upgrades.
    usually buy the cheapest things that deliver acceptable performance.
     
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Little more than another half arsed attempt to grab media attention, now if it was a hexa core and was sub 300 dollars then you would have something AMD, really GTFO and launch bulldozer already so we can get a price war going.
     
  24. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    It isn't a grab at attention. It is selling off the rest of their Am3 stockpile.
    And Bulldozer is coming out next month, no need to have a hissy fit.
     
  25. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    No one is having a "hissy", and if they were really interested in "selling off the rest of their "Am3" stockpile", they would drop prices across the board no charge a premium for some pointless cherry quad cores.

    This is just a grab to get some attention because AMD is so far behind the performance curve.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page