1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD OC Record Broken, Still Powered by AMD FX-8150

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    Not to feed the trolls here, but I am more interested in how well they overclock using conventionally available cooling (and with more moderate vcore, yikes!!!) than I am in "Xtreme" overclocking. (Or whatever)

    This sort of score is great for showing off your e-peen, but not much else.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    AMD says this is what you should expect:

    [​IMG]



    Kinda interesting that quite a few chips seem capable of doing more than AMD says. I wonder why the low estimates...what's really nice to see is that ram voltage is good for Hyper-lovin' ;)

    Attached Files:

    stinger608, erocker, nt300 and 4 others say thanks.
  3. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    I think the irony of this is, the most vocal of fanboys tend to be using their cpus for gaming rigs, and as we know, any of these cpus is sufficient for modern games, making the debate irrelevant.
  4. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011
    cadaveca says thanks.
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Ok, so we have these clock speed records, but what speeds can they achieve with all cores enabled and bench stable?

    I wanna see what these chips can do under real pressure.
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Check the graph I posted above. ;) Given what users have been reporting the past couple of weeks, seems pretty accurate, too. 4.5-5.0 GHz, same as Intel.
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    andre yang got banned for sharing scores in the MoA competition. Him, Hiwa, eXtremetweaker.de, KJ and Skinnee all recieved 1 yr bans on hwbot lifetime on XS and FM. The ban on hwbot is up and he has a skill no reason to stop doing something you enjoy for one fuck up.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, nevermind. was gonna say something else, no point though, really. Cool that he's still into it, i did not expect that. Anyone can post up what they did, especially something like this.


    Showed the AMD noobers how to get it done. :p
  9. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,085 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    884
    I disagree, Bulldozer FX CPU seems to be the only modern CPU on the market with high base clocks.

    Neither Core i3, i5 or core i7 have base clocks of 3.8GHz - Probably because of the TDP wall.


    First generation of Deneb Phenom II X4 (810 model) was only 2.6GHz. The second generation of Deneb Phenom II X4 (925) with C3 stepping was only 2.8GHz and even then AMD was pushing the advertised TDP to its limits. It was two years later AMD released a Phenom II X4 (980 Model) at 3.7GHz probably after lots of refinements to the chip. So yes, they can release a near 3.8GHz baseclock CPU within TDP but it takes time to tweak. Surely, if AMD started at 3.7GHz all the other models afterwards would exceed the TDP limit for sure.


    More than 100W! The Phenom IIs TDP starts at near 100W! Using Phenom II as example, they tend to have base clocks of between 2.6-3.4GHz (with the exception of the newer models) and come in two TDP ratings, 125W and 95W. 4GHz will require more voltage, thus increase the heat on a chip which is already rated near and above 100W at stock voltage.
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I meant more along the lines of benches, not just clock speeds. Does BD compete well against Intel in the extreme category for benching?
  11. Ilden New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I saw this article, then the name "Andre Yang", then people buying into it, and all I can do is roll my eyes. Similar to what Cadaveca said. Yang may not have cheated, personally, but he was most certainly willing to engage in fraud. Anything he touches will forever be sullied by that one disgraceful act. No forgiveness.

    I can't put any faith in the legitimacy of these results.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not that I have seen. TBH, it's only been what, 17 days since the launch? Chips are still in limited supply, with ZERO chips in here in Edmonton for sale to date. Chips I can buy, aren't local, and are still overpriced by $35, and do not include the watercooler. I doubt we will be seeing all that much for a couple of months yet.

    When i can buy the 8150 with the AMD watercooler, local, I will. I just want a full AMD rig, board, GPU, and CPU. Too bad I cannot, even if I could afford it.
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    I spoke with him once or twice he is a good guy from what I could tell. I had no problems with him and he paid quickly for the last batch of chips I had :p There is a whole side to the OC'ing a lot of people choose not to acknowledge.
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Meh. Most people just have no interest at all in this stuff. Very niche. Personally, I'd rather let my hardware collect dust then spend all that money trying to blow it up, and that seems to be the general consensus here on TPU, too.

    I stopped paying real attention long ago. We've already discussed why. :p :laugh:

    Anyway, you gonna be doing any clocking this winter? Gonna give these BD chips a go? This is interesting enough that I might. I don't care about benchmarks, just want to have some fun, and 1155 was done in a few hours. I need more tweaking! ;)
  15. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    The problem is above and probably with multiple post here is, NO ONE IS ASKING YOU TO CARE??!!!??!!! I myself DON'T EVEN SEE THIS news post. (no offense dicobalt and Bt)

    I do absolutely praise AMD for a great overclock, good job on raising the bar ever so higher when it comes to cutting edge overclocking.

    Anybody making personal accusations and trying to tell the POSTING AUDIENCE what they should be considering is creating perfect opportunity for argument.

    If you want to make a post, make it positive. Instead of lowering your self down with twisting topics on a STRAIT FORWARD NEWS achievement on pushing for the highest clock seen to anyone's eyes.

    completely unnecessary post and flaming about a STRAIT FORWARD TOPIC AND ACHIEVEMENT. Considering its the highest clock seen in this ENTIRE WORLD

    VVVV LOL I remember the flame about Teh Andre scandal when I was HWBOT whoreVVVV
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    This is NOT a new guiness record.:laugh:


    :slap:

    I do not think this is anything other than a screenshot on a forum.

  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    I agree on the first two points you have seen my posts dwindle here ;)

    As for this winter it wont be cold were I am as of shortly and wont be back until winter is damn near over. Hopefully I will have something either BD or similar for a couple of cold months, but we will see.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  18. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Give Bulldozer a little time to mature and expect crazy Overclocks and good TDP.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You have faith that GloFo will pull up thier socks? Or do you expect TSMC to start making chips? Like, where is this maturity going to come from?


    Crazy OC and good TDP mean little if the performance isn't there to match. And from what I have seen, BD needs 4.5-4.6 GHz to compete with i7 2600k, at stock. So we'll need what...a chip with 5GHz turbo, at stock?


    :roll:

    While I'd like to bleeive that's possible, and AMD would have a killer marketing potential campaign(though i doubt they could execute on it), if they were the first mainstream desktop chip @ 5GHz - I just doubt that will happen any time soon. I mean really, if AMD could have made BD better already, it would be...
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    At least for this generation anyway. They were able to improve K8 quite a lot with revisions, just look at PII performance (which is just a tweaked K8). I'm thinking we'll see something better on the new socket.

    I, however, think that AM3 is a dead end. Performance on this socket will not improve much anymore.
    nt300 says thanks.
  21. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I would like to believe that you are wrong, but I don't think that you are. If Vishera fails as hard as BD, I'm glad to know that Asus makes ROG boards for IB.
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
    nt300 says thanks.
  22. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I use math to explain how displeased I am with this article.

    :laugh:
  23. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    meh:rolleyes:
  24. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    What's with all the dickheads saying bulldozer is shit???? sorry, did you not read the fricking thread title? it's not about BD performance Vs Intel, it's about a world record acheived using a BD chip to acheive the highest ever recorded frequency for a CPU... is that really that hard to comprehend?

    Oh and another thing, all Intel records were also acheived disabling cores as you get the highest possible frequency using 1/2 cores compared to 4/8.

    Proud owner of an 2500K :cool:
  25. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I say it's shit because of it's performance vs. Phenom II. Intel has nothing to do with it. I'm glad it's achieving OC records, but it needs better single threaded performance.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page