1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Phenom CPUs to See Further Delays

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Dec 24, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD has recently notified its partners that the launch of higher-end quad-core Phenom processors, including the 9700 and 9900, will be postponed to the second quarter of 2008 from the original schedule of early 2008, according to DigiTimes. However, whether AMD's triple-core Toliman series CPUs will also see delay will be the key decision for the company, since Toliman offers a high price/performance ratio compared with Intel's quad-core CPUs. A delay for Toliman will hurt AMD the most. The reason for the delay of 9700 and 9900 is because AMD has not yet been able to solve the translation lookaside buffer (TLB) erratum found in the chips.

    Source: DigiTimes
     
  2. UnXpectedError New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yet another blow to amd.. they really seem to be way off the ball lately
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,853 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I guess this is to synchronise with Intel's delay of the cheap Yorkfield parts. What is wrong with AMD. They're a 'once bright schoolkid now turned junkie'. With Intel delaying it's YF parts this would've a nice time for them to launch the 9700 and 9900. I feel sad for AMD.
     
  4. sam0t New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I have grown numb to these bad news from AMD. Next time I read the news from AMD is either their bancrupcy or their next killer product.
     
  5. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,364 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    California, U.S.A.
    Well pooh! :( I have been been staying away from the AM2's holding out for the AM2+'s. With this news and the current Phenoms and their L3 bug, the prices of the 690G boards and DDR2 800 are looking pretty affordable. I might just have to go the AM2 route (for now) with a Black Edition X2. Regardless, I won't be going to the blue camp. :toast:
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2007
  6. NU(GFX)T

    NU(GFX)T New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I think Intel's dealying of Yorkfield parts is not due to technical difficulties like AMD. We have already seen reviews of the highest clocked FSB1600 Yorkfield with unlocked multi in healthy status. There shouldn't be any problems with lower frequency locked versions. I see Intel's move as a "holding back the release" more than anything else. Though it might give intel time to improve their TDP on Yorkfields even more and manage to go over 3.2 without stretching the TDP over 130-136.

    IMHO even if AMD did release the 9700 and 9900 Intel would be waiting on the fence to throw budget locked-multi Yorkfirlds at them right away and spoil their party.

    I hope AMD put their act together eventually and become competitive again.We are already seeing the consequences, Intel's strategic move to delay YFs. I wanted to replace my q6600 with a new YF champion. Now they are holding the new tech out on us.

    Same goes for nVIDIA and ATi, nVIDIA trying to shove another dual GPU card down our throats because ATi is not ready with their new architecture and is going to release a dual GPU card based on their current base architecture making nVIDIA not bothering with speeding up the release of G80's successor.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2007
    Exceededgoku and btarunr say thanks.
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,853 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ^ Well said lad.
     
    NU(GFX)T says thanks.
  8. NU(GFX)T

    NU(GFX)T New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Interesting. Motherboards are to be blamed for YF delays!

    LINK

    Well my mobo uses six layer PCB most others that I know also use six layer PCB. I am not sure about abit IP35pro though I couldn't find any infos on its PCB layers anywhere on the net.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2007
  9. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    maybe intel and amd talked so they can have a rest for a while and work on their chips so they can perform better :)
    (it's xmas after all :p)
     
  10. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Wasn't the core architecture based on the Israeli designs? Happy Hanukkah around this time next year mate.
     
  11. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I am with you all on the fact that its the tech. part of the both processor groups being the reason why the delay. But, i feel that both AMD and Intel are working together on this. One is delayed and the other isn't ready ether? I think that they are waiting to put the processors out when Intel put theirs out. Make people wait, and then have the "war" that is needed to ether put them in a better spot or not.
    You have to have some type of competition going on. I know, I know, its better to put out something and have time to get the market flooded with your product, but Competition is what fuels the fire to make stuff better..
     
  12. maxtoons.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That is it

    That is it, I am going Intel.
    I have been running my Optiron 185 for over a year now waitting an answer from AMD for a quad core.
    I want to support the little guy, but hey I need a new system for 2008:banghead:
     
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    that tlb error is sure biting them on the ass.Shame they nvr picked it up earlier.Can they fix it without redoing the chip from scratch? if the error is because of a design fault,its gonna be a doozy to fix.
     
  14. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    actually, 130WTDP is an over estimation of the thermal output, its just put in that bracket for oem retailers to offer correct/appropriate heatsinks. I believe some tests were done on some 130W yorkies and its was merely 100-110W on stock clocks, which is nice to know ;)
     
  15. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    in next revision it will be fixed, and it's very hard to catch the problem, almost no need to use the fix
     
  16. NU(GFX)T

    NU(GFX)T New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Good point, oem companies demand accurate on-the-mark TDP values otherwise they will have to deal with hundreds or thousands of unstable systems. As you pointed out intel may just give those chips the worst case senario TDP values to be on the safe side when dealing with OEMs.

    I am under the impression that the combination of 3.2 GHz and 1600 FSB is almost reaching the limits on how far YFs can be pushed on aircooling without using a top of the line heatsink in closed case conditions guaranteeing stability under full load or in otherwords still stay appealing to oems. Though intel may improve 9770s power consumption before release but the results I saw browsing through the net showed that the jump in power consumption going from 3GHz+1333FSB to 3.2+1600FSB was not in-line with how it was under 3GHz.

    Here Anand thinks the QX9770 they had for preview testing adds a big chunk to the total system power consumption and is a bit of a hot CPU . I'd say it is, both literally and figuratively. :cool:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3154&p=2
    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3154&p=3

    Intel probably knows every enthusiast worth their seed is going to get a badass cooler and overclock their chips to reach higher levels of performance. Nothing to worry, it's just a case of having politically correct TDPs for oems and server market imo.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2007
  17. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    You NEED a new system? AM2 should suffice for a little while I reckon seeing as how it's cheap as chips, check out my sig rig for a gaming bargain ;)
     
  18. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    With that rig you have you may as well bypass AM2 geezer, that TForce at 3.0GHz sounds like fun :toast:
     
  19. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Am I reading that right. The Tomalin (tri cored phenom) is a better price higher performing chip than intel quads? That surely cannot be right...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page