1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Quad FX Canceled

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    According to The Tech Report AMD has dropped its enthusiast-class dual-socket Quad FX platform. AMD's representative Suzy Pruitt said:
    Enough said, everything is now in the hands of AMD's "Spider" platform powered by up to four video cards and native quad-core Phenom processors.

    Source: The Tech Report
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    I saw this coming. Doesn't surprise me at all, really.
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,253 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
    yep. when you have 4 cores on one chip, why the hell would you want two separate dual core chips on one board? at least c2q is two dual core chips in one socket.
  4. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    they meant their dual quad core
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,253 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
    ahh.
  6. X-TeNDeR

    X-TeNDeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Sharpening The Underdog's Teeth
    I think this is a good move. AMD created some hype with this platform, but the real implementation of such a complicated setup is unnecessary with today's advancements, at least in my opinion. by the time AMD could fine-tune and ship this platform, we will have 1-socket 8-cores parts (hopefully). no need to go SERVER :laugh:
  7. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    The words "without a paddle!" spring to mind. Poor old AMD are screwed!
  8. hacker111

    hacker111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    332 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    MA United States
    Continueation of other plans?????:wtf:...get back to work on this one first!:rockout:
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Now they need 2 x OctalFx... But they failed...
  10. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    they need a hug
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    :laugh:

    I think they realized the FX Quad would have been no good as a seller.
    FX series are just too expensive.

    But yeah they do need a hug.
  12. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    405 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Okay that's done it for me, goodbye AMD...
  13. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,253 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
    lol?
  14. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,756 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    They may be down but don't count them out just yet...
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,905 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,423
    Location:
    Florida
    ahahahhahahahahaha
  16. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    What about Phenom!?!?!? It is actually a start for true Quad Cores!
  17. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    405 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    omg.. I was saying I'm not going to bother since it was in my next build plan, r-tards
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,587
    Dropped it? Did anyone ever actually pick it up?
  19. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanx AMD, now you can focus on solving your AM2+ / Phenom problems.

    http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.aspx?i=3153&p=4

    I still wonder why this issue hasn´t been really faced in the forums... :confused:
    People are arguing about next step´s technologies not having in mind that even the
    current technology isn´t working the way it should. :ohwell:
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2007
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,587
  21. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,406 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    So i guess the only gaming octa core setup is skull trail.
  22. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,138 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,587
    Don't know really. The fud article states AMD fixed chip errata or errors (plural), so mabye.
  24. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
  25. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    damn what took them so long, that thing was a dissaster from the get go. lol (quad fx is not to be confused with the amd quad core cpu(barcelon or phenom), quad fx is two fx class dual cores on a dual socket 1207 motherboard)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page