1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition "Tahiti XT2" Detailed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 15, 2012.

  1. Oberon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    XT2 = second revision of the Tahiti XT chip.
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,775
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I don't care what it is supposed to mean. In my opinion, it should be XTX, and nothing will change that opinion, because that's all it is, is my opinion.


    It should be XTX, and that's that. There is a reason for that, but whatever, this is hardly something really worth talking about.
    wolf says thanks.
  3. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Finland
    Binning a product hardly calls for new chip name. It is still Tahiti XT unless they did changes to the silicon which I doubt.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    To normal buyers it's knows and GHz edition. Dave, you can call it XTX if you want to. :)
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,775
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Grammar police calling!


    :laugh:

    And I will. ;) :roll:

    I was saying GHz Edition long before anyone else here was, don't care WTF they wanna call it now, it's XTX, and that's that. :p
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    Throws phone on the floor! :mad:
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,775
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Meh, why would you think me as a normal person. I'm special, just like these chips!


    You...you's just ewocka jabberwoka.

    :wtf:
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,330 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    just a thought but they could have added resonant clock mesh to this and scored higher efficiency and clocks couldnt they, i doubt they did but i am expecting 8xxx might possibly feature it

    and in so far as binning goes this is what i frequently alude to, just because they tell you the top end chip is such and such and hits a certain spec profile, that does not mean that that chip is/was the top binned, and AMD or any other company frequently does have a higher bin then your comercially aware of with other exclusive features that work or work best , this bin got freed up for us.:D.

    anyways wheres the benches??.
  9. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    429 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Well for me it's XT PE! because i say so.
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Impressive increase in clocks while lowering the voltage, worthy of commendation.

    I doubt this will steal any of the thunder the GTX670 through 690 have, they impressed more than this, from the get go.
  11. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    [​IMG]
    adulaamin and fullinfusion say thanks.
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    Good going Amd :rockout:

    Nvidia price drop coming, Thank you :toast:

    Hmmm 670's or shall it be 680's :rolleyes:
  13. rvalencia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    83 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    7970's consumes 210 watts link http://www.atomicmpc.com.au/Feature/296004,amd-radeon-hd-7970-reference-disassembly-guide.aspx

    From http://www.guru3d.com/article/asus-radeon-hd-7970-directcu-ii-review/4 Radeon HD 7970 has 210 watts.

    Believe it or not, the high end Radeon HD 7970 has a rated peak TDP (maximum power draw) of just 210 Watt, and that's really all right for a product of this caliber, features and performance.

    From http://www.techspot.com/review/481-amd-radeon-7970/page2.html Radeon HD 7970 has 210 watts.

    "it still chugs up to 210 watts under load
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    If they drop the price of the 670. ill get 2! I already was thinking about getting 2 670s
  15. sergionography

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    264 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I doubt this will be 500 because price drops of gtx 680 or 670 will only push 7950 and 7870 prices even lower, so its either and will refresh these cards too or Tahiti xt2 will be 550$ like Tahiti xt launch price. Either way and is not being generous this Gen and are trying to be the ones controlling prices and pushing nvidia down unlike how its always Ben in the past
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,997 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,872
    Im thinking the $4 billmark :eek:

    right where the prices should be...:laugh:
  17. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Are there any good PC games for that super expensive equipment, cause I can play console ports better on proper hardware which is .... a very inexpensive Xbox360 or PS3. :laugh:
  18. wingzero New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    too late AMD..
    it will only be little bit faster than a 670..
    and trolled the users of the first batch 7970..
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2012
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Lets just call it the 7990, and refer to the dual-gpu solutions as 7xxx X2 and call it a day. :p

    An All-In-Wonder 7970 would be pretty awesome since you mention XTX. This isn't ATi anymore though. :(
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  20. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,210 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,432
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    epic fail post.
    N3M3515 and Aquinus say thanks.
  21. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Maybe soon? I hope to see this again :eek:
  22. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Lol must be nice
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    ya he dont think he is trolling but he is
  24. dom99

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    225 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I'm looking forward to the ASUS HD 7970 XT2 DIRECTCUII TOP - guarenteed monster of a card
  25. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    516 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    I have ran my reference 7970 @ 1100/1500 since i bought it on launch day with zero issues on the default auto fan profile. Surely the new one will be a beastly clocker.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page