1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7970 Overclocked to 1.70 GHz Core, 8.00 GHz Memory, Benchmarked

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,889 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    thats upto the subvendor. not AMD. next time dont buy the cheapest version thats all.

    and i ran my AMDs without fans, crossed 110C. still as good as new.
    i dont see how you had bad customer experience.
     
  2. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922

    What are you talking about? Elaborate.
     
  3. PremoGS

    PremoGS New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland

    So ASUS HD6970 DCII is the cheapest version? Right.
     
  4. unsmart

    unsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    480 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Thats LN cooled right? Whys the fan still on or how is it still on? My only guess is it's there to cool the Vregs but I thought the fan was part of the heatsink. Plus pulling that much juice you would think they would put a WC block on them. Just looks odd
     
  5. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    did you miss the new year party ? ;)


    Terribly unreliable reason, depends on customer skill
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  6. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    In this case that's mean i will be different with this memory bandwidth if run on PCI-E 3.0.
     
  7. iLLz

    iLLz

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    West Deptford, NJ
    Holly Crap, that is quick. Its becoming very, very hard to wait to see what nVidia has to offer. They better release something quick, or I'm jumping ship to AMD.
     
  8. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Skimmed the source article, didn't spot the voltage those clocks were run at.
    Anyone read oriental scribblings?
    "Hyi, happamia..."
    — kettu pihlajanmarjoista


    ^
    Finnish for:
    "Quite sour..."
    — said the fox of rowan berries
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,889 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,112
    asus. everyone knows asus service is crap. why did u buy.
    cant u get proper card manufacturers?
     
  10. Totally

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Right where I want to be
    That's a non-reference card, beyond the gpu it's all ASUS.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2012
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Your still wrong.

    ATi just design the GPU, the card was made by ASUS, the technical support was run by ASUS, the customer support is run by ASUS. Your problem is, you guessed it ASUS.

    So according to you its OK to by a ASUS GTX 590, since Nvidia designed the GPU? You don't come across as smart lol
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
    Aquinus says thanks.
  12. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    417 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    The only problem I had with an ATI card was a customer that had frequent crashes and BSODs...when I took a look at his computer, he got pre-biblical drivers installed. So I updated them and problem(s) solved.
     
  13. deathcall666 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    youre simply crazy :eek:, damn 2ghz memory .And that picture with with the system looks hazardous . keep the good work ! quess with guys like you the hd 8000 will have probably 10ghz efective clock memory and 2.5 the core clock.
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,684 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    +1, I've heard about some Asus GPU RMA horror stories, but RMA usually isn't a problem if you don't do something dumb to begin with, but that is just my take.
     
  15. Omar24Kobe

    Omar24Kobe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    nice
     
  16. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Nothing else to do that to resurrected an old thread?
    Hate people (troll) who register just to do this kind of things...

    People be careful read the dates before respond & check to see if the guy that revived an old thread is a new poster in this case (1 post) a TROLL! for sure :mad:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page