1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Responds to TechPowerUp Investigation, Issues Remedy

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Earlier this week, when evaluating samples of the new Radeon HD 4830 GPU-based graphics card, W1zzard, who also authors the GPU-Z diagnostic utility, had found an anomaly with the stream processor (SP) counts on samples sent by AMD. The GPU could access only 560 out of its 640 SPs available. This affected the card's performance significantly, and TechPowerUp's findings were validated by several other reviewers with similar samples.

    AMD on its part quickly followed up the issue with its engineering department, and released a video BIOS update that fixes the issue and makes available all the 640 SPs. AMD will be circulating this BIOS to all its press contacts and add-in-board (AIB) partners, to make sure the issue is isolated and fixed. The updated BIOS file can be downloaded from here. AMD also asserts that the issue isn't hardware related, and that updating the BIOS resolves the issue completely.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2008
    Binge, thoughtdisorder, Kei and 6 others say thanks.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Great to hear this! I was about to say there are going to be alot of people really P-O'ed about it.
     
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    our reviewer W1zzard? more like TPU admin/owner.

    glad to see we got this going.
     
  4. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    IMO the only reason this was brought out was because of the TPU review.
    It's called accountability!!! AMD tried to pull an nvidia and got caught. If it were never found out do you think that they would have fixed it? "The fix would have been a new 4835 with 700 SPs" with 640 actual!!!

    Ponder :toast:
     
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Way to go W1Z! Catch AMD maybe trying to pull the wool over our eyes.
     
  6. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    more like tinternet gpu god :)

    worshipping aside does this mean we could mod the bios of these 4830's and turn them into 4870's?

    if its only soft modded to disable the cores/pipes w/e its gotta be doable right?
     
  7. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Doubt AMD was trying to pull a fast one or anything of the sort. The card was meant to beat out the 9800/8800 segment. As it was it would not have been much of a matchup with a defective neutered bios.

    W1z great job for helping AMD/ATI solve an issue that could have gotten a lot worse!
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    We know who he is, but when in news, in context of the incident, he's our reviewer, and GPU-Z author. It relates better to the guy at AMD/non-TPU member reading the news.
     
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thats a fast response by amd but i like to see that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    oh come on... i was just messin with ya.
     
  11. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    So this only makes me question if a bios release enabled 640 could another (modded) bios release even more?
     
  12. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    exactly.......see previous statement :roll:
     
  13. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    or mine :)
     
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,351 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,659
    Location:
    Florida
    I dont think so....the rest of the SP's according to w1zz aparently hard locked kinda like laser locking not the same but same principle...however lowing the SP's is possible because you can tell the bios not to map them. this is post 6666
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,110 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,172
    But did any of these cards make it to retail channels?

    If ATi was trying to pull a fast one, I would think they would have at least sent out real cards to the reviewers so they reported good performance.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    you just posted you 6,666th post. :eek:

    But OT, that's a bummer, Oh well, im sure the 640sp will be plenty to fill the gap!
     
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,351 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,659
    Location:
    Florida
    well you can be sure none will be made as AMD has issued the fix to its partners however if some batches were already shipped their is a chance of contamination unless the partners do a mass recall to check the cards.
     
  18. roofsniper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    its just a bios issue whats the point of amd trying to give people less sps? they are on the card which means it costs amd the same. no matter what it hurts amd because the reviews are bad and the people get less performance than they expected and theres no point in that.
     
  19. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Exactly, what is the point, it is pointless and a silly presumption...
     
  20. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    It feels great to be part of a solution to AMD. Thanks for the notice!
     
  21. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Nice to see AMD respond so fast. I highly doubt they were trying to dupe anyone. Everyone has issues and mistakes come up and not all are always caught.
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    So Wizzard are you going to Re-review the boards since they are now fixed to see if there is any fluctuation in the performance analysis?
     
  23. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,973 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    Like others have said, it's really nice to see a company respond to an issue like this so quickly and efficiently :)

    @eidairaman1: I don't really see any reason to re-review the amd card any further than verifying the number of SP's enabled and maybe running a couple quick benches, since the other card had the full 640 SP's enabled and we have the performance results from that.
     
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    well its on the clause just to make sure, i mean wizzard can run the cards and let us know the results, if they deviate from the originals then something else maybe amiss.
     
  25. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,973 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    Ohio
    Right, that's why I said just verify the SP count and run a couple quick benches, but I think as long as those benches yield results on par with the other card then it would be relatively safe to assume that it's ok. I'm sure W1z is a pretty busy guy ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page