1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Tahiti GPU Specifications Compiled

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 12, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,536 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,642
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If the word on the optical fibers is true, we are less than a month away from the launch of AMD's next high-end graphics card family based on its next high-performance GPU, codenamed "Tahiti". According to 3DCenter, AMD will launch new graphics card models based on this GPU around January 10, 2012. It is expected that we'll learn a lot more about these GPUs, maybe even come across AIB-branded graphics cards, at the upcoming CES event.

    3DCenter compiled specifications of "Tahiti", based on bits and pieces of information from various sources. The specs can be listed out as:
    • 4.50 billion transistors, die-area of 380 mm², built on TSMC 28 nm process
    • Advanced GCN 1D architecture
    • 2048 1D processing cores
    • 128 TMUs, 48 ROPs
    • 384-bit wide GDDR5 memory interface, memory clock slightly below 1 GHz, target bandwidth of 240~264 GB/s
    In Gandhi's words, salt is as free as the air.

    Source: 3DCenter.org
     
    SaiZo, HalfAHertz, nt300 and 1 other person say thanks.
  2. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I'll disregard all of this, how ever I'm interested to find out about the architecture changes if they have done it.
     
  3. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Nice can't wait to see performance.
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,536 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,642
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Frogger, SaiZo, nt300 and 2 others say thanks.
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  6. Fishymachine New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    208 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Is it me, or 240-264GBps can't be achieved with memory under 1250 GDDR5 on 384 bit?
     
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    7 am in the morning is to late ( not slept yet) to have read that XD

    Have to research more things now but am to tired.

    Does sound very interesting though can't wait to see bench marks now, specifically open cl bench marks XD
     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,390 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Be crazy if they release a mid range tahiti model with the xdr2 or w/e or release a top model with 512 bit bus
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    919
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
  10. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    752 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    you are so correct.
    1250 (5000) x 256bit = 160GBps
    1250 (5000) x 384bit = 240GBps
     
  11. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    I don't know german but the chart is clear. It's the core clock at slightly below 1000 Mhz. Memory 2500-2750 Mhz effective.
     
  12. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Do we subtract 800 million transistors off of the press release?
     
    HalfAHertz and NinkobEi say thanks.
  13. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    752 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    it all depends on how they perform against their current cards and the competition. XD
     
  14. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    I read somewhere we should expect 40% better performance with these new cards.
     
  15. Tenxu24

    Tenxu24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    one question guys, if anyone knows anything about using amd 7900 the standard pcie 2.0 or 3.0?
     
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,854 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,559
    3.0, which will have no impact on performance
     
  17. Fishymachine New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    208 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    another thing, isn't 2500/2750 GDDR3 exactly the 1200/1375 needed to reach the specked bandwidth, and very same frequencies used in the 6900 serie
     
  18. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    752 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    cannot expect anything more from the specs, can we?


    yep
     
  19. Drugsh

    Drugsh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Upto 60% perfomance gain....single HD 7970 card could be faster than the dual GPU monster that is the HD 6990 :eek:
     
  20. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I highly doubt it but will have to wait and see.. :wtf:
     
  21. Drugsh

    Drugsh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Delhi,India
  22. Tenxu24

    Tenxu24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thank you. I wonder if anyone knows if the graphics card pcie 3.0 will be compatible with PCIe 2.0 motherboards? If so, you would lose the potential of graphics cards to put in a PCIe 2.0?
     
  23. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,170 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    of course:)
     
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,854 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,559
    it will run just as fast in a 2.0 slot.

    in a 1.0 slot it will be a few percent slower, maybe 10% tops
     
  25. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,894 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page