1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Third-Generation APUs to be Built on 28 nm Process

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    A leaked company roadmap slide revealed that AMD's third-generation performance APU, codenamed "Kaveri," will be built on the 28 nm silicon fabrication process. The chips will be built by Global Foundries. Kaveri combines AMD's next-generation CPU architecture codenamed "Steamroller" with Graphics CoreNext GPU architecture.

    In addition to Kaveri, AMD will introduce a major update to its low-power APU lineup with "Kabini." A true successor to "Brazos," Kabini features x86-64 cores built on the energy-optimized "Jaguar" architecture (which succeeds "Bobcat," on which Brazos APUs are built). It is also mentioned that Kabini will be a true system-on-chip (SoC), with integration of the FCH chipset into the APU silicon. Such an integration could increase die size and complexity, but could also minimize the board footprint of the platform, making it possible to use the SoC in thin tablets, and COMs.

    [​IMG]

    In addition to the two, AMD touched on its ultra low power APU, codename "Temash." Like Kabini, Temash is a single-chip SoC, but extremely power optimized (we're talking about TDP numbers under 5W), making the chip optimized to compact tablets, and who knows, smartphones? Lastly, there's a mention of AMD's next-generation "Sea Islands" GPU architecture. AMD is promising "major GPU architecture enhancements," and confirmed that the new chips will be built on 28 nm process.

    Source: MyDrivers
    de.das.dude, nt300, Aquinus and 2 others say thanks.
  2. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    but will it require a new socket? or be FM2 compatible?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It will work on FM2.

    [​IMG]
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  4. iO

    iO

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    68 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
    Lets hope they´ll get their new line up out with no delays...
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    very good :D At least now I know my soon to be purchased FM2 board will have a CPU upgrade path (im getting an Asrock A75 and a A10 5800K :D )
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    I got the ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M and it is pretty awesome for the price
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,050 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Hopefully the layoffs are not affecting this. If they move their As* faster and shake their brains they could release these on time or before time and will be back on track. Mobile computing is the future and if AMD capitalize it they have future.

    when is the price cut on the FM2 chips?
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    probably not till the 3rd gen is ready to launch
  9. Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pune
    AMD is consistently behind Intel when it comes to manufacturing process :shadedshu.
  10. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,329 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    usefull post not, everyones behind intel,,, some more then others tho as you have intels rear too:p
    Chaitanya says thanks.
  11. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    im getting the Pro 4, Non M version :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,124 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    It's largely because Intel owns its own Fabs, and makes assloads of money so they can hire the best engineers and tools in the industry to ensure they make the transitions as smoothly as possible. Global Foundries spent a ton snatching up engineers from IBM and other competing companies, to try and get itself in a similar position, not sure how well it worked though.
    Chaitanya says thanks.
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,567 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,024
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Because Intel has so much money and resources, AND not to mention time to be able to refine their process and manufacturing.
    Chaitanya and xBruce88x say thanks.
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Actually AMD has been ahead manufacturing process for while. Intel keeps downsizing without refining hence them openly commenting on how they could not have designed a true monolithic quad core on 65nm. I assumed it was a ell known fact that AMD's processes were a lot cleaner amd overall better hence the lack of variations between chips. Ie a phenom 910 will clock roughly as high as a phenom 970 (until reaching extreme scenarios) vs the massive variations between Intel chips ie 3570k vs 3770k even 3770k vs 3770k.
    Chaitanya says thanks.
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,050 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    corrected :laugh:
    Super XP and Dent1 say thanks.
  16. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,191 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    A good indicator might be GloFo's own slides. According to them, they're up and running with 28nm HKMG already and FD-SOI is due in a couple of months or so...
    [​IMG]

    Given that low power chips are just being sampled now, you might be able to extrapolate time to market for the APU's.
  17. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    273 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    This will be processor Ill be waiting for, hopefully it will have a decent dual graphics combo.
  18. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
  19. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,191 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    AMD probably re-released the press notice just in case people forgot about it...and maybe figured that they needed to round up some "feel good" PR to balance out Q3 report.

    Closing at $2.18 I would suggest that at least one sector isn't buying into the strategy
  20. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,741 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    This might mean something. It may be that Trinity/Vishera FX may be short lived. Perhaps will be replaced quickly within 6 to 8 months of it's release. Obviously this is good news for both consumers and AMD. They seem quite confident with its 3rd Generation. One is hoping they get Steamroller out the door ASAP in 2013. :D
  21. makwy2

    makwy2

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    486 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Hmmm, I hope AMD can hit a homerun soon... otherwise they will be out for the count very soon.
  22. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Wont happen they have strong APUs keeping them in the game and cost/perform much better than anything Intel can offer. Just imagin a APU Quad-Core with graphics for under $100 :eek: and can still do wanyting you would normily do on your PC including play games.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,940 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    might verywell be steamroller architecture
  24. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Look up some Radeon HD 7750 CrossFire benches (preferably with recent drivers)... hopefully it should get close to that, if the rumors about Kaveri are true than it should fit perfectly with a HD 7750 GDDR3 or 5. As a comparison, it should end up faster than a R7850 by quite a bit.
  25. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Why is Charlie saying the Kaveri APU wil be delayed to 2014? This would kill AMD if true. They need the Steamroller as soon as possible imo.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page