1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to Launch New High-end Desktop Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD is preparing to launch a new high-end desktop processor, the Athlon 64 X2 6400+, which will be the last processor in the Athlon 64 X2 family. Currently, AMD's highest-end desktop processor is the Athlon 64 X2 6000+, however with its performance unable to match Intel's upcoming Core 2 Duo E6850, AMD plans to launch the new 6400+ to cover up the gap in the market. The 6400+ will have a core frequency of 3.2GHz and 2MB L2 cache, while the pricing will range between US$220-248. Samples of the new CPUs are already shipping to motherboard makers, but there's still no official release date.

    Source: DigiTimes
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    yay! pricing matters of course, but competition is what we all want.
     
  3. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    yippy kai-yay!
    thanks AMD, at least they're trying to do a little something to tide us over til phenom
     
  4. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Hmm... cache might work..
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    yeah 2MB cache instead of 1MB should make them a decent chip. Lets pray for another san diego like core :)
     
  6. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Huh? The 6000+ has 2*1MB L2 cache ...
     
  7. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    That's HOT!

    Welcome to the 130W+ territory.
     
  8. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    rofl, Unless it overclocks to 3.4 and up then its useless. Might as well get a 6000+ x2.
     
  9. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    It is infact quite impressing how high AMDs 90nm chips are scaling.
    Too bad their 65nm isn't up to the task. Serious leakage problems with high freq AMD 65nm chips I hear.
     
  10. Jannu New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    This beast is gonna be HOT! even 5600+ is ~50C in normal cases with default HSF
     
  11. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    Bad move.
     
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    eggs and bacon without getting up from your pc ftw? [​IMG]
     
  13. quickie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    reminds me of the AthonXP palomino core 2100+ situation a few years back. Before AMD could release the Thoroughbred core, it needed something to close the gap between the XP2000+ and higher clocked P4s. Maybe history is repeating itself..
     
  14. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    US
  15. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    WOW!! 89W?? my opty 185 stock is 110W, so when i crank it upto 3ghz and increase the volts i can end up with 160W thermal output eeek

    so thats fab
     
  16. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Nice sig, lol
    Thats good to hear. Hopefully the price point will help AMD.
     
  17. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    why skip 6200?
     
  18. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    for a non overclocker, this will be a superb choice
     
  19. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    US
    wonder if someone will pull it over 3.2ghz, but i doubt
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    they should just release a higher clocked FX core (lol) 3.4ghz FX 66 2mb cache and an unlocked multi would be nice. oh and the 6400+ should oc well enough the 6000+ clocks to 3.5ghz or so normal. Heat wont be to much of an issue they will just put it out with the quad heatpipe copper base FX cooler.
     
  21. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    89W TDP for a 3.2GHz 90nm Windsor? Now that must have required some process tweaks, since current 6000+ has 125W TDP. That's almost a 30% drop!

    But, one could wonder why do they bother with 90nm anymore since FAB36 which makes most of their cores is now all 65nm and the rented node @ Chartered is switching to 65nm too. But maybe they should concentrate on tweaking their 65nm instead, they need Barcelona to save the day and it can't succeed if it doesn't have the clocks.
     
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    watch bet they can push a 20x on windsor they just dont want to come on AMD try it :D that would piss of the C2D owner pwned by the old school windsor core :roll:
     
  23. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    yeah thats well impressive, if they apply that to their 65nm cores... wonder what thermal output they could acheive

    "the latest 65nm AMD offering cooled with the magic of an aluminium thimble!"
     
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    they BETTER apply it to there 65nm chips were would we be if they decided to just update the old parts

    think if they went and overhauled the XP series :roll:
     
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    nice. Its amazing to get that perf and have it at that cheap of a price. Well done AMD
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page