1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Zambezi ''Bulldozer'' Desktop CPU Roadmap Revealed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,371 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD's next-generation PC processor architecture that seeks to challenge the best Intel has, codenamed "Bulldozer", is set to make its desktop PC debut in 2Q next year, with a desktop processor die codenamed "Zambezi". AMD is seeking to target all market segments, including an enthusiast-grade 8-core segment, a performance 6-core segment, and a mainstream 4-core segment. The roadmap reveals that Zambezi will make its entry with the enthusiast-grade 8-core models first, starting with 125W and 95W models, trailed by 6-core and 4-core ones.

    Another couple of architectural details revealed is that Zambezi's integrated memory controller (IMC) supports DDR3-1866 MHz as its standard memory type, just like Deneb supports DDR3-1333 MHz as its standard. DDR3-1866 MHz, or PC3-14900 as it's technically known, will churn out 29.8 GB/s in dual-channel mode, that's higher than triple-channel DDR3-1066 MHz (25.6 GB/s), which is Intel Core i7 LGA1366 processors' official memory standard. The 8-core and 6-core Zambezi models feature 8 MB of L3 cache, while the 4-core ones feature 4 MB. Another tidbit you probably already knew is that existing socket AM3 processors are forwards-compatible with AM3+ (Zambezi's socket), but Zambezi processors won't work on older AM3/AM2(+) socket motherboards.

    [​IMG]

    Source: ATI Forum
  2. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Impressed that the 8 cores will be the ones landing first, wonder what prices look like.

    I think I'll be getting a mobo first then maybe a proc, we'll see though.
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Release AM3+ boards pls thx bai. And please get the Bulldozer out earlier than Q3, because intel's Sandy Bridge is going to make Bulldozer look like Nvidia's GTX480 when it was released.
    mdm-adph says thanks.
  4. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    + one to release boards now.

    Then I can get am3 cpu to tide me over : ]
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,371 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    There's no way of saying that right now.
  6. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    i've heard otherwise in the server market.
    that amd is the one who will be doing a proper smack!
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    the best thing about AMD :D
  8. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    More cache PLZ DAMMIT!

    Also meh.

    I do not think these will be the saving grace AMD needs.
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    Cache has massive diminishing returns .
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Why do they need a saving grace? No they of course aren't going to push as much out to the market as Intel, but they never have. The PII's, especially since the 6 cores landed at great prices, infact, since PII's in general came out, AMD's been doing fine.
  11. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I disagree, it adds life to the life span of the processor.

    Doing fine isn't the same as competing, the best part of ATI (now AMD) stepping up it's game was prices came down, that's why I want AMD to be a real competitor, and not the go to for budget, because I want more powerful chips at cheaper prices.:D
  12. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    This might be a dumb question, but does the 8-core have 4 "Bulldozer cores" or 8? Because a "Bulldozer-core" has two conventional cores stitched together.

    Next year will be interesting with Sandy, Bulldozer, Keplar and Southern Islands.
    El_Mayo and blibba say thanks.
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,548 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    That is some impressive dual-channel performance, they wasn't joking when they said they could get it to out perform triple channel, very nice. (or as good)
  14. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I'm also confused by how they're judging core count on the new system.
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Like I said before, AMD has never sold in the quantities that Intel has, they were much later to the game, don't have the budget, and maybe never will, hoping for that is like dreaming for the moon as yours, well maybe not as bad.
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    8 core is 4 bulldozer cores.

    Unless they've changed how they're doing things in the past 6 months :laugh:
  17. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    It has 4 modules with 2 cores each for a total of 8
  18. meirb111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    i was thinking tdp will be lower but its not

    tdp is the same as phenom II 125w-95w
  19. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    oh no, their new 8 core uses the same amount of power as their last 4 core :rolleyes: 95-125w is standard nowadays for any x4+ processors.

    Do we have confirmation that they have something similar to hyper threading and how it actually works?
  20. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    As far as I know no hyper-threading like technology.

    How ever each bulldozer module ( 2 cores in os) can process two threads fully at the same time.
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  21. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Soooooo is one bulldozer "module" just a dual core chip, I seem to recall one of AMD's criticism of intels quads where that the weren't "true" quad core like Phenom....
  22. FishHead69

    FishHead69

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Rocky,QLD,AU
    Hail :respect:All Glory to Octocore
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    True, but then again, we have seen previews of the Sandy Bridge and its going to be a tall order for Bulldozer to "bulldoze" Intel. Pricing may be the saviour this time round tough. History have shown that a new architecture is never going to work as well as intended (R600, P4 HT, Fermi, Phenom 1 etc) so I am not going to get my hopes high. Zacate previews looks good, I must admit.

    Edit: can 1 Bulldozer module handle 1 thread, or 50% of the module will be idle?
  24. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Modules contain two integer cores. Each integer core has its own integer pipeline, so they can simultaneously execute 2 threads (unlike hyperthreading which can handle 2 threads, but has only 1 set of integer pipelines, so it really only executes one thread at a time.)

    We will not market modules, we will only market cores; modules are how the designers lay out the processor, but that will not be part of the marketing or naming.
    stinger608, DannibusX, jmcslob and 6 others say thanks.
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,174 (5.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    So if I have 1 thread, then I can only use 1 integer pipeline?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page