1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD's Own HD 7970 Performance Expectations?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. John Doe Guest

    I've an IPC 610 certification and have recapped a 1250W unit.
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    And? IPC 610 means you can perform:

    # Hardware installation
    # Soldering criteria, including lead free connections
    # Soldered requirements for connecting to terminals
    # Soldered connection requirements for plated-through holes
    # Surface mounting criteria for chip components, leadless and leaded chip carriers
    # Swaged hardware and heatsink requirements of mechanical assemblies
    # Component mounting criteria for DIPS, socket pins and card edge connectors
    # Jumper wire assembly requirements
    # Solder fillet dimensional criteria for all major SMT component groups
    # Soldering, such as tombstoning, dewetting, voiding and others
    # Criteria for component damage, laminate conditions, cleaning and coating


    I am a few steps beyond that at my current job...Recapping a PSU is also pretty idiot proof unless you can't follow + and -'s on a PCB. You still didn't answer my question. Have you personally ever bypassed the OCP on anything? I have a couple of mobo's and GPU's not mention CPU's hardmodded.
     
  3. John Doe Guest

    You don't get the point here, I haven't because I don't have the need to. I'm not a benchmarker. I can OC and game all the way. And no, it's not idiot proof to recap a Real Power 1250. Enhance heatsinks are a huge PITA to desolder.
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Not terrible if the entire unit is baked.
     
  5. John Doe Guest

    It had a bunch of unknown caps on the secondary, actually. That was why I went into it. A blue one that looked like Asia-X, a purple one and lol... I replaced them with Teapo's.
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I don't blame you odd that Enhance would cheap out like that IMO. Normally they are pretty good about using good brand caps. Oh well guess the industry has its woes thanks to the economy.
     
  7. John Doe Guest

    Yeah, $1-5 per unit costs much more on a larger scale. At times, some other quality OEM's do this as well.
     
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    shut up bitches, its a gpu thread, not the i have the biggest soldering iron thread.

    :p

    oh yeah and whoever mentions ATI all the time, it DOES NOT EXIST!!! its AMD now and has been for a veeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyy loooooooooooooong time.
     
    theJesus says thanks.
  9. swirl09

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    42 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Not sure where this thread is currently going ^^

    Back on topic, without any bizarre maths or trying to take a swipe at what is obviously PR (Hi, this happens.... k?)

    Going back 6+ months the estimates were that the shrink would produce in the region of a 40% performance bump. Even if AMD cherry picked these results (lol "if", of course they did, so what?), its still showing an increase of a little shy of 1 and a half times that of the respectable GTX580.

    As for whoever commented they "cheated" using higher res's than 1080p for their tests... UH HUH?! Why are you spending serious money on a GPU if your only running 1080p? These are top tier cards meant for top tier res's. On that note, I find it hilarious that some sites still test using rigs with GPU solutions alone costing well above a grand and yet dont go higher than 1900x1200 in their testing suite? THAT makes *no* sense.

    My only concern now is how long will it take for nV to get their answer out. Last time I checked they mentioned well into Q1 2012, they're unlikely to be early and given there has been a recent wave of new beefed up 580's coming out I think thats a good indication we're awhile off seeing it :/ Well, when it does arrive Ill be happy - pick the better card and couple it with an IB and /happynewrigtime
     
    Casecutter and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    My VGA card still says ATi on it.

    [​IMG]

    So bugger off :cool:
     
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    I think using lower resolutions in reviews makes sense, which is why they do it. These are not "top tier cards meant for top tier res's" since no single GPU card can max most the new games at acceptable FPS. 1900x1200 allows you to use max settings and get a fluid experience.

    Either way, I have seen these graphs from AMD so many times that I know enough not to even waste my time to look at them. They are always way off. There is not one graph that they have released like that which is actually true. Just because it is "PR" also doesnt make it right - I hope both companies get flamed for releasing crap like this.
     
  12. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
  13. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Its the same graph lol... and what the hell is 1x MSAA - ah googled... it exists... some random performance settings on that chart.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2011
  14. Nesters New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    These graphs... Every time I see a bar twice as long as comparison and something like "up to 50%" I know it's AMD. :D
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    ah, this incredibly misleading graphs again, from which you cant even derive actual performance, as they most times are just heavily biased:laugh:
     
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Bull shit ! If ATI did not exist then why the hell is it on the fucking box ? When I go to the store I see ATI NOT AMD?ATI on the box ! So shut up bitch :laugh:
     
  17. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,232 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    I can wait two more days for Wizz's review to tell us the actual difference between the current top tier cards and the 7970. Personally I hoping the 7970 will be the motivation I need to replace my 5870 crossfireX set-up.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Seriously... i cant either - I think that is why this fake graph pisses me off so much... usually we have some leaked 3rd party benches from China or something... not some crap graph from AMD that doesnt even list FPS. :/

    Come on people... NDA's are meant to be disregarded
     
  19. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Yes but don't reviewers usually get cards 3-4 weeks before launch so as to have time to review properly and fix any problems that could arise? I'm sure that with the sudden release day change reviewers only got cards 1 or 2 weeks ago. So not too much time for proper testing. But that's something only W1zz could tell us.
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,095 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,274
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    From my own sample "procurment", you might have several weeks..you might only have 3 days, or even less. That's going to change with every product, no matter who makes it.

    Ideally, yes, reviewers would get a few weeks, but that's not always possible.

    All i know is, no 7970XTX cards at my house, yet. :p
     
  21. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    That's because i stole your mail :p
     
  22. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    ATI does NOT exist ANYMORE, do you understand??????

    its A-M-D now, get it? :shadedshu
     
  23. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    Oh yeah, I forgot to post what I was actually trying to point out: the usual chinese leaks might not have happened because said chinese sources didn't get a card this time around or not yet.
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  24. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    I am sure the guys at the GFX Division, refer to corporate as "Those A**hats from AMD".
     
    Jizzler and (FIH) The Don say thanks.
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    :laugh:

    still doesnt change the fact that its AMD, ATi is dead.

    gonna drop it here

    and i saw what you did there lol
     
    phanbuey says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page