1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Another dead hdd????

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Bow, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Hard Drive help please

    Need some help guys, My pc was shipped across country and when it got here I turned it on and it would not get past windows starting screen. after several attemps I tried to reinstall windows. Once installed it would not update, reinstalled again and same problem, now windows will not install past 20%.

    Is the hard drive dead??

    I have an old WD 10,000rpm raptor can I use that with my currant system and load win7 on it?

    See sys specs.

    thanks for any help
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Help please
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. lowrider_05

    lowrider_05

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    yes you can use your raptor
     
    Bow says thanks.
  4. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,725 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,091
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    1) Did you just ship the computer with the HDD in its place within the computer?
    2) Is the heat sink on the computer still fully attached?
    3) When you say shipped, what do you mean? Shipped by movers who could give a crap about your stuff, taken gingerly along with you on the car ride, something else? Shipping can do a substantial amount of damage in the wrong hands.


    If the answer to 1 was yes, or you shipped with a moving company, then the HDD is 98% likely going to be dead. The 45 G limit that HDDs are generally rated for can easily be exceeded due to mishandling.

    If you didn't remove the CPU heatsink then you could have damaged the board or simply had it come undone. You'll need to check that the heatsink is still properly mounted, and pray that the motherboard wasn't damaged.

    Otherwise, we can't help. If you can't get into windows either the HDD was toasted, the motherboard was damaged, or the BIOS has gone insane. If you can get into the BIOS then you can rule out temperatures, but testing for HDD damage is difficult without some specialized equipment (or using another functional HDD with an OS to test out the other drive).
     
    Bow says thanks.
  5. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Sound's like it could be the hard drive but as your now also trying to reinstall Windows then this extends the area of problem as I would also be thinking of your optical drive, have you got a different one you could test?

    As lilhasselhoffer said, check your heatsink + cables an such make sure all is as it should be.
     
    Bow says thanks.
  6. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    It was shipped UPS. Heat sink is fine and cables are all good.
    after work i will swap the optical drive then hdd and see what happens.

    Thanks guys
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    How did it go?
     
  8. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    After i loaded windows and the system restarted it froze in the same spot.

    I reloaded windows. Installed my mobo disc and thats when things seem to go wrong.

    I think its may be because i had it connected to the net and windows was downloading drivers and updateing the same time i was installing the mobo drivers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Get windows loaded before doing anything else. Once windows is loaded do drivers then updates to windows. Hopefully drive is still ok.
    Good luck & let us know how it goes.
     
  10. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    I have tried that in that order with both drives and windows locks up at the same place on both drives. After the first update restart at the windows starting screen.

    I am pulling my hair out!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    You say drives meaning hard drives, or optical?
     
  12. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Yep hard drives
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,785 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,081
    Forget for now the updates. Install Windows. Is this going OK? Then all drivers OK?
     
  14. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Works fine until i try and update windows. Just restarted 5 times with no probs. Have mobo drivers instaled and no probs.

    Going to connect to the net and try again
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Going to run disc clean up and dump any crap, then try connetting to the net with updates off
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Connected to the net down loaded and ran my uniblue registry booster. Ready to dl and install ms securities essentials and update windows.

    Thats when windows locks up.

    What am I missing?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Legit copy of windows? Have you tried dumping the SSD and install on regular hard drive? Is there some sort of bios setting that might need to be re-enabled since it was without power?
     
  18. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Legit windows. No ssd. Stock mobo bios
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,558 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Pulled the mobo and its broken in several places.

    Thanks for the help guys
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,250 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Location:
    Canada
    Bad buzz man :( Hope you had insurance :eek:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page