1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Also Unveils FM2A85X Pro ATX Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,846 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,713
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    In addition to the FM2A85X-ITX, ASRock expanded its socket FM2 motherboard lineup with the FM2A85X Pro. This slim ATX form-factor motherboard, as the name suggests, is based on AMD A85X chipset, supporting socket FM2 APUs. By ATX standards, the board has a very slim feature-set, which should keep its price considerably low. To begin with, the FM2 socket is powered by a cost-effective 5-phase VRM, which draws power from an 8-pin EPS connector. It is wired to just two DDR3 DIMM slots (32 GB max., dual-channel DDR3-1866); and a PCI-Express 2.0 x16 connector.

    In addition to a PCI-Express 2.0 x16 that's wired to the APU, the FM2A85X-ITX features another long slot, only this one is electrical 2.0 x4, and wired to the A85X FCH. Three PCI-Express 2.0 x1, and two legacy PCI make for the rest of the expansion slot area. The board features a total of eight SATA 6 Gb/s ports, but are spread apart in two clumps of four ports each. Connectivity is pretty basic: dual-link DVI, D-Sub, four USB 3.0 ports (two rear, two by header), 6-channel HD audio, gigabit Ethernet, PS/2 mouse and keyboard; and a number of USB 2.0/1.1 ports. We expect this one to go for around $80, if not less.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    I just don't get ATX size board for APU's? Does the person looking to save electricity while still decent graphics, really the same person needing all those expansion slots. IDK I suppose if it’s a cheap enough mobo and you’d rather your APU build in a ATX tower what the heck, but is there any huge market for that? Some please what type build do these make good sense for?
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,099 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Server builds. MicroATX cases don't work well for servers. Heck, I'd never even build a desktop in a MicroATX case, they are just too cramped, cable management becomes a pain, and cooling usually sucks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Agreed. I have purchased a few micro atx boards in my day but have always put them in a mid tower case.
     
  5. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    South Africa
    What is up with the SATA port placement?
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,099 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Yeah, I was going to ask the same thing. it is like 4 ports are where they would be on a MicroATX board and 4 ports are where they'd be on an ATX board. Kind of odd placement.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    I didn’t utter that one should use a Micro-ATX case for any server, but you can mount an M-ATX in mid towers? While is a Trinity APU a smarter chip for a servers, than say an i3-3220 Ivy Bridge? Sure a A4-5300 3.4GHz (3.6GHz Turbo) might cost less, but do I favor graphics more than shear CPU throughput? Not to mention efficiency which is big point for a server? While again what add-in cards would you need for all those expansion slots for such a server?

    I’m not opposed, nor challenged building in a M-ATX tower like the Rosewill FBM-01. I did a Llano/FM1 a year ago for a family friend that wanted a home-use that was small for particular spot. While yes cables can be a bear, I went with a OCZ ModXStream 500W to keep down the spaghetti. More than it need, but it had a great after rebate price. I used the Zalman CNPS5X Performa 92mm, and two of the Rosewill RFX-120 dual bearing fans. Using the PCI speed controllers that are included to manage the whole box to an almost absolute hush. Now, I did cut both stamped grills out and went with the old school wire grills that also come with those fans. I love those fans... Egg has them for $5 w/FS, check them out!
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,099 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Sure you can put an mATX board in an ATX case, but why would you? You might not need the extra slots right away, but why even leave the possibility of limiting yourself? And yes, the primary reason to go with AMD would be cost. This board will likely go for $80 or less, look at what you get on the Intel side board wise for $80. The Intel mATX boards in that range are total shit. You aren't going to find one with 8 SATA 6Gb/s ports, you'll be lucky to get 2. And at that price range, RAID support on the Intel side gets iffy too, some boards support it some don't. Even some board that have a chipset that support RAID don't actually support it because they cheaped out on implementing it. And the i3-3220 isn't just more expensive, it is close to 3 times as much as the A4-5300. For the price of the i3 I could go with an A10-5700, get a true quad-core that would pretty happily outperform the i3 in most high load server tasks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    763 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Mobo makers tend to offer what they believe is the most widely desired products as volume is where the money is at in consumer goods unless you have something very unique that other's can't provide.

    It's funny to see how some folks get really anal about what a mobo has or doesn't have, where things are placed etc. Either a mobo has what you need or it doesn't. There is no configuration that makes all consumers happy. Asus like many mobo makers is offering way too many differnt mobo models in an effort to acquire every possible sale. Unfortunately every new mobo iteration has design, production and stocking costs for the mfg. In addition distributors and retailers have a difficult time stocking so many different model mobos as not all models are high volume sellers yet the distributors and e-tailers/retailers need to purchase them in large quantities to get a competitive price.

    These two Asus mobos are a perfect example of what could all be included in one mobo and actually keep costs and retail price down and make life easier for all involved. The many iterations to acquire as many sales as possible is a deperation act in a bad world wide economy.
     
  10. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,719 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,839
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Asus?
     
  11. lastcalaveras

    lastcalaveras

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    122 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I think apus are great and this motherboard offers alot in comparison to asus and gigabyte. It would be a good starting pc if you want a lot of expansion and can't afford it at the time. Like support for 64GB of ram 8 sata3 connectors and dual graphics support. Personally i run the ASROCK A75m pro motherboard with a 7850 2gb and i can still play dishonoured @ 4800 by 900 and still achieve 40+ frames
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,114 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Hey my dell micro atx case is perfect for my server Im building :cry:
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,351 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,703
    placement of those upper SATA ports is dumb as hell, either they should of put them on the edge of the board or left them off, Also 64GB of ram is alot by todays standards but honestly it be nice to see a consumer Level AMD unit that supports 128GB at 2.133GHz on the Memory Controller and is overclockable to 2.666/3.333 GHz.
     
  14. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    South Africa
    I agree with you that the low-end Intel boards are shite value for money. No RAID-5 unless you buy H77, which is like the cost of an AMD board + CPU together. And you only get 2 SATA 6Gbps ports (in all fairness though, hard drives can't saturate SATA3, so it's not much of a problem).

    The problem with the AMD boards (or at least the CPUs) is the power consumption, which is why I prefer to get the best of both worlds: buy the cheapest Intel CPU + board with a PCIe x16 slot, then drop in an 8-port RAID card.
     
  15. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    342 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    iv'e seen this board have virtu mvp....,how does it work on amd procesor(igpu)...and how does it performe??
    i know it use igpu and dedicated gpu and improve gaming performance on intel cpu..
    but its first time i saw this on amd platform...would be cool if u can pair igpu with beter dedicated card not just low end...
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,099 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Yeah, you can get marginally better power consumption out of an Intel system, but with the A10 system I have right now idling at under 50w for the entire system, and never really breaking 100w under load, the AMD system isn't exactly breaking the bank with power consumption.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    That’s more my thinking I just don’t have as much faith on onboard raid and I’d rather do with an add in card. I guess I’m old school when it come to data protection. Now I’ll say nicer Raid cards seems harder to find and a something like a 5 port a SYBA SY-PCI40037 is pricy, yes so going with FM2 can be cost effective.

    While yes you can go A10-5700 for a the price of an i3-3220 Ivy Bridge with it Hyper-Threading I’d want to believe it wins in read/write and memory tests, but heck if I find tests that show anything like that.
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/675?vs=677

    So it might well be a good idea for a server mobo and stay in a budget.
     
  18. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Interesting design/concept, at least they are trying new things :eek:

    If this doesn't fit your criteria move on to something else :eek:
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,351 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,703
    say the raid controller onboard fails. there's no means of getting a raid card to get it back running thus gotta replace mobo with same model. incompatibilities between Raid controllers is the effin device drivers and how the controller configures the array
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page