1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Readies Z68 Fatal1ty Motherboard with PCI-Express 3.0 Slots

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 28, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,577 (10.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,072
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASRock gave its premium LGA1155 motherboard lineup a boost with the new Z68 Fatal1ty. Apart from being a Z68 chipset based motherboard modeled along the lines of its predecessor, the ASRock P67 Fatal1ty, the new motherboard features PCI-Express 3.0 graphics slots, that work on Sandy Bridge and future Ivy Bridge processors. The new third generation PCI-E interconnect can drive 1 GB/s of data per link, per direction. You'll need PCI-E 3.0 compliant add-on cards to make use of that bandwidth, current graphics cards will run at Gen. 2 speeds. One advantage here could be that AMD Radeon HD 5000 and HD 6000 series single-GPU graphics cards will run on Gen 2.1 mode, which has slightly higher bandwidth at its disposal thanks to its lower-overhead data coding scheme.

    The ASRock Z68 Fatal1ty is designed for both gamers and overclockers, using high-grade components. The LGA1155 socket is powered by a 18-phase VRM, wired to four DDR3 DIMM slots supporting dual-channel DDR3-2133 MHz (Ivy Bridge IMC's optimal memory speed). Featuring Intel Flexible Display Interface (FDI), the board allows you to use the integrated graphics. With the Lucid Virtu technology, you can switch between the integrated graphics, and discrete graphics cards. Expansion slots include two PCI-Express 3.0 x16 (electrical x8/x8 when both are populated), one PCI-Express 2.0 x16 (electrical x4, wired to Z68 PCH), and two each of PCI-E 2.0 x1 and legacy PCI.

    [​IMG]

    Storage connectivity includes six SATA 6 Gb/s ports, four internal 3 Gb/s ports, two eSATA 3 Gb/s, E-IDE and FDD. It supports the Intel Smart Response SSD-caching technology Other connectivity includes four USB 3.0 ports (two internal), 8-channel HD audio, two low-latency/high-polling USB 2.0 ports optimized for gaming mice, dual gigabit Ethernet, and display connectivity that includes D-Sub and HDMI.

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  2. thiskar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ide and floppy, some just never give up
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,316 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,484
    i think you also need a pcie 3.0 supporting processor?
     
  4. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Do those amd cards get higher frames when plugging it in a pci-e 3.0 slot??
     
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,316 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,484
    assuming those cards ran in 3.0 mode my educated guess is that fps gains will be well below 1%

    with current cards there is nothing to be gained from going 3.0
     
  6. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    2 things: IDE-to-SATA converter and DOS games. It's for a niche-group anyway.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  7. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Good stuff. If Bulldozer fails... Iwill be all over it.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,393 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,618
    any higher then 1000Hz polling rate i wonder. otherwise this is just a marketting gimmick
     
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,516 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,557
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah thats what we have now. from wake up to sleep.
    oh i forgot, this is the way to grab some attention and if they interested they gonna buy it no matter what
     
  10. arterius2

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    529 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    I have the P67 version of the Fatal1ty board, I've been through many motherboards, but I have to say this is one of the best mobo I've used.
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,393 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,618
    Even so. I doubt that it makes that much difference at all compared to the usual enthusiast boards.

    mouses have such high DPi these days. does having a lower latency usb really make any real world performance improvements?
     
  12. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,971 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    UK
    some of us need IDE...
     
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Dual DVD-RW Drives! :rockout:
    Or small IDE HDDs for the pagefile and other stuff for backup. :p
     
  14. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Whats wrong with the 10 sata ports it has?
    Anyone who uses this board likely doesn't still have any IDE devices in use.
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,393 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,618
    and yet 99% of PSUs still come with a floppy drive power plug.
     
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,971 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    UK
    Floppy drives, got one of those :D
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,393 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,618
    [​IMG]

    Here.... your gonna need one of these to put that beast out of its misery
     
  18. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,971 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    UK
    Don't do that, its still good for half a photo a disk :D
     
  19. arterius2

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    529 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    ok i'll just put this stupid floppy flame to rest

    THE TRUE REASON WHY THEY HAVE FLOPPY?
    its because ASROCK is trying to cater to everyone, yes including ones that are behind the times... some people still use XP (in fact close to half the windows users), and to enable AHCI in XP, you need to insert a floppy ACHI driver disk during windows installation, called the F6 pre-install driver:

    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det...duct=Intel® Rapid Storage Technology&lang=eng
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  20. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I dropped optical drives on most of my systems, and have not made a floppy disk in 7 years.

    Why have floppy drive style power ports on PSUs? Other devices use that adapter as well.
     
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,180 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,642
    You can do other things with that you know. ^^

    IDE I can understand but not floppy on a motherboard this new.
     
  22. arterius2

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    529 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    its just funny people still wondering about the floppy port after i pretty much stated previously why there is a floppy port, some people just don't read thesedays... sigh..
     
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,180 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,642
    Well that was not a good enough reason imo.
     
  24. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Yeah, you can just install XP in IDE mode, and then change over to AHCI post install. really easy on XP :)
     
  25. arterius2

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    529 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    what's not a good enough reason? no one is forcing you to buy it. and no one is forcing you to use it, its just for the few people who do use it. i have the p67 fatal1ty board, and I do not use the floppy. doesnt get in my way, I don't get in its way, problem sovled, I move on about it and enjoy the pletora of other great features found on this motherboard. it's priced lower than other boards of this range,(and more features) so what is there to complain?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page