1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS Radeon HD 5870 MATRIX 2GB Graphics Card Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i do too :) tx750
  2. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    my thoughts exactly why they have 2 extra grounds beats me but meh what do i care as long as the card works :)

    any colour ey
    i wonder how long the white will last before discolouring in all that heat ,still i like it :D
  3. Blín D'ñero

    Blín D'ñero

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You are very wrong.
    Source The Quick PCI-Express 2.0 Guide
    10stripe
  4. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    No pics of this beast without a cooler yet?

    I wanna seeeeeeee :D
  5. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I spent hours making my 5770s light up with Red, that would be so cool to have command of different colors, what a great idea.
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    2x8-pin are for people doing LN2, on air or water there's no chance to "safely" use as much juice as the 6+8 pin produces.
    shevanel says thanks.
  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,116 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Cleaner signals but as stated this isn't a problem until your using LN2.

    That is recommended and what OEMs use but this isn't a OEM card so it is pointless.

    What? :confused:

    What does running two 8-pins have to do with higher power consumption? If your talking about psu efficiency then run a 6 to 8-pin adapter as the loss in grounds won't matter unless your going all out. Remember, the 5870 is rated at a max TPD of 188 watts. Even upping the voltage on the core and using more memory chips isn't going to push the card over 225w (theoretical max of two 6-pins plus slot).
    shevanel says thanks.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    i dont see why people are whining about the + 8 when those 2 additional lines are just grounds, I mean seriously You could actually fab ur own wires and hook them to the chassis instead of getting a +8 PSU.
  9. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,743 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    My 750W Corsair also has FOUR 8 that can be converted to 6 if need be.
    Still the price is too much. It better be way way cheaper than the HD 5970.
  10. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i sort of want to think they are saying this card isnt worth getting over a standard 5870 with 2x6 pin plugs unless youre into HEAVY benchmarking/overclocking/tweaking.

    If you want this 2gb version then you need to upgrade your PSU also, typically if you are running something without 2x8 pin connectors. this card is for people who either already have monster PSU's or money is no obstacle.

    but if youre not doing LN2 then whats the point? seems like a high premium for a 2gb 5870 especially if you need to upgrade your already capable PSU but it's not so capable because this card requires 2x8 pin power.

    I have an antec ea650 and its a solid psu with appropriate power but I would have to scrap it because it only has 1x6 and 1x6+2 ?

    im sure this card will not be under $500 So i wonder if someone releases another 2gb version with 2x6 requirements will it be just as expensive?
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Nonsense. It doesn't change the power abilities of the connection at all. 5 grounds provides no benefit when the power still needs to come thru just 3 positive leads. It's just a marketing gimmick. You'd be better off hard-grounding the card to the chassis for extreme benching. It's a marketing gimmick, nothing more.
    Zubasa says thanks.
  12. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    for arguments sake would 2x6 pin plugs power this card if there were no overlocking going to be done?

    Would the 2x6 pin plugs even connect to the card at all?

    Sorry, Ive never owned a card that required an 8pin and Im just curious.
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    6pin plug will plug right in. The 2 pins on the very left of the connector would remain empty. Don't know if they would let the card power up with just 6pins plugged in tho.
    shevanel says thanks.
  14. TAViX Guest

    The question is, why in the world do you need more than 1GB of Video RAM???? If it was a professional card I would have understood that...Even nvidia's 896MB of RAM are more than enough to play console ports at max resolution and full details...
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    GTA4 or Eyefinity. For example, 5670x1200 out of 3 24" monitors would use quite a bit of that buffer up I'm sure.
  16. TAViX Guest

    Ah, OK. For 7MP resolution even the 2GB will be filled up fast. The GPU cores however will give the worst performance drop I think...
    Anyways, If I would have 3 monitors( hypothetical speaking, of course...), I would not even think playing a game at that resolution, without having at least a Crossfire with 2 of those babies! ;)
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah, but even if you happened to have 4 of them, you would still only have 2GB of frame buffer available, so a 2GB card does still make sense.
  18. 50eurouser

    50eurouser New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    4th Dimension
    2x8pins is a waste why not 1 1x6+1x8 ? Combinded they could supply 300Watt. Anyway 2Gb is a waste too. Average cost for the card will be ~450€, what a waste ... You can buy 2x HD5850 with that kind of money.
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    Explain why Asus Released a 285 with 4GB ram then???
  20. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    lol?... i do :p... actually i assume most 1000watters have 2X 8 pins...... but i guess these are old skool psus nowadays ;)
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Read the posts just above yours. 2GB has it's place in the world. Those that have a setup that can use 2GB of buffer, can likely afford the extra money needed to buy the 2GB cards.
  22. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,162 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,960
    Location:
    Home
    There are 2 types of people who buys these cards. Those who really need them and those who will pay extra for epeen extension. Either way, they probably need/want the 2Gb and 8+8 power.
  23. lism New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    138 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Is'nt that a SLI-on-a-PCB card where 2 GPU's both have 2GB? And in total of 4GB?

    Still out of 4GB 2GB only is affective on a card, it offers the double amount of framebuffer for extreme high resolutions, otherwise for regular games it would be overkill.

    Some day you'll have 16GB videocards where you can actually install your OS on, or some crazy shit like that. We had 16KB CGA cards back in the past with a filling space of 3 lines a second in DOS on an IBM XT lol.
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,078 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    seems i have quadrupled the amt of ram i get for a video card. I am happy 2GB parts are arriving
  25. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    yeah my dream card, i just hope it's not expensive

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page