1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Athlon x2 3800+ oced 3.0GHZ

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by watts289, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. watts289

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    is 1.6something volts ok to pump through my athlon x2 3800+ (skt 939)??

    Attached Files:

    • 3.0.JPG
      3.0.JPG
      File size:
      44.4 KB
      Views:
      136
  2. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    It wouldn't be the first time I've seen or heard someone pushing that much voltage through a 939 chip. Are you water cooling, or using the Arctic Freezer that is in your specs? Although it might be fun to run like that in benchies and suicide runs, I wouldn't recommend it for 24/7 forever use. Nice overclock by the way. :toast: And what are your temperatures like?
  3. watts289

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    i am using the artic freezer, and i have fresh mx-2 on it and core temps reports both cores idle around 35, and load when doing superpi is around 45ish.
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,225
    hrm, if you did it and the temps are fine i dont see a reason to be worried. that is the toledo core which is supposed to be better than the manchester core which i own and cant get past 2.6.
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,892 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    1.6 is a lot to be running through a modern CPU.

    Remember this:
    Overclocking doesn't kill hardware. Heat and excessive voltage does. I wouldn't expect it to last as long as I would like at 1.6 volts. See what you can do with 1.5 volts.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    if his temps stay below 50 I dont see him having any problems. hell even below 60 and that proc should last three years. And I dont see any computer user like us using a 939 socket mobo in three years. Atleast I hope not
  7. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yeah the temps are fine.
    My CPU is never below 40 load even at stock when running through Orthos but it is also summer over here and it's pretty hot.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,934
    1.6 on air, you will have problems. If not now, soon. Run orthos and core-temp at the same time and post a screenshot.
  9. watts289

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    i cnat run orthos it stops in 3 seconds, but i got it to boot at 1.539V


    im gunna post a temp log from playing the crysis demo, that should put it at its highest temp
  10. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    only if the temps get out of hand, the voltage alone wont cause problems.
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'd becareful with running at 1.6vCore, my spidey-sense tells me it'll decrease the life of your CPU a lot quicker than stock, even with sufficient cooling. Something to think about.
  12. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    definitly will decrease the life of it, but personally I feel a 3800 x2 is nearing the end of its life anyways, especially on a 939 socket.

    EDIT ** ha and look at me talking, I just looked up the specs on my new laptop and I have a mobile x2 3800. HAHAHA
  13. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    ^^

    3GHz is damn good. Unfortunately for me I like to keep my voltage as low as possible. I can't get anything over 2.4GHz stable, come to think of it, 2.4GHz isn't exactly stable. I blame my Shuttle motherboard. ;p Then again, it's not designed for intense OC'ing.

    You should see if the mobile 3800+ would work in your desktop board, y'never know what might happen. ;)
  14. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    hell, thats awesome you can OC that board at all, and it a small shuttle case I would stay as low as possible on voltages too, to small of a case to generate that kind of heat!
  15. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    thats not bad at 1.6 i could get mine upto 3.12 but temps were not good, i run 3ghz at 1.55 in bios which on cpu-z says is 1.52 and my temps go upto 60 when on full load and the most ive seen is 68 but that with core temp as its the only one that works on my mobo! i think the best 3800 x2 is somthing like 3.4ghz but thats with bad ass cooling and not for everyday
  16. MkFly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just recently upgraded from a 3200+ Venice to the 3800+ Toledo. 2.8GHz seems stable, but of course I couldn't leave well enough alone and wanted to go for 3.0. :p

    [​IMG]

    I've gone to 1.575V so far, and Orthos stops in less than a minute. I may try at 1.6V just for shits and giggles, but since 2.8GHz is Orthos stable for upwards of 2 hours (I'll leave it on for 24 before sticking to it) at only 1.375V, I doubt 3.0GHz will be worth it.
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page