1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ati 5850 with my psu ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Getix-HD, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everyone , i'm new here and my registration here was about to learn and know more informations concerning the world of GPU's . So, guys i have a question about the ati 5850 , well i have a 475w 80+ PSU and i'm thinking to buy a power color ati 5850 but i don't know if my psu is a little bit enough or not and i have q9550 2.83 with 4gb ram 800mhz , 160 gb HDD and quadro fx 580 . I asked some friends one of them have the same gpu running with a 450 watt but i still want to ask you guys if my psu can take this gpu without problems ?
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
  3. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah than it should be okay with this Power supply ? with no problems at all ?
     
  4. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    What brand power supply is it? They are not all created equal, regardless if they are are 80 Plus or not.
     
  5. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Delta should do what it's rated for. Worst that'll happen is it'll be unstable. If the screen blanks out or you recieve the error "Display driver has stopped responding and has recovered" you may need a more powerful unit. Are you going to run the HD5850 -and- the FX580 together? If they're both under heavy load as well as your q9550, you might be short on power.
     
  7. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply , and sure i'll remove the fx 580 i'll just put the 5850 only and my cpu is not overclocked and no i have no problems at all , cause the fans in the case are all silent and cool the pc runs smoothly , i wait your reply .
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
  8. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    You shouldn't have any issues running your current configuration with a single 5850. You will be adding 120w more load to the 12v rail but Delta has rated it at 414w. You'll be fine.
     
  9. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay thank you so much, i have some other questions : with my current config + ati 5850 how many power would my PSU consume and another thing how many fps i can get with my config with this ati 5850 pcs+ with 1920x1080p and with 1280x786 ?
     
  10. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    If you haven't tried this, check it out. http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

    It should get you in the ballpark of what your system requires. To get -exact- power consumption, you'll have to research each component's manufacturer specifications and add it up.
     
  11. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried this already but if you want please i'll give you my computer specs and try it for me i don't know how to do it exactly i have this : 475w 80 psu + Cpu q9550 2.83 not overclocked + his orginal radiatorfan (hp xw4600 workstation) + 2 x2 gb ram 800mhz ddr2 (2 other empty slots) i have one HDD 160 gb + DVD drive rw + Nvidia quadro fx 580 512 mb (1 other emty pci-e x16 2.0 + 1 empty pci-e x1 + 1 empty pci-e x8 + 3 empty pci slots ) okay please give me how all this consume removing my quadro and adding the 5850 all this with 5850 .

    http://www.megamodo.com/images/hp/mm_HP-xw4600.jpg
     
  12. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    With quadro:
    Recomended (90% load 10% aging) - 285w
    Recomended (100% load 20% aging) - 335w

    With 5850:
    Recomended (90% load 10% aging) - 366w
    Recomended (100% load 20% aging) - 433w

    Aging is used in calculations because as the filter capacitors age, they degrade in performance. This causes ripple in the DC voltages which leads to stability issues.
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  13. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah thank you for the results :) , and it's okay i think my psu is enough ?
     
  14. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yes you should be fine.
     
  15. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks again for the help ;)
     
  16. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guys i'm back again i have some questions my friend told me that if i can get Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 Dual-X 2GB it would be much better ,my question is how many percent can this card have performed against the power color 5850 and how would be the power consumption with my psu ,and can i run it with this psu without problems or it takes more power than an ati 5850 ?
     
  17. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois

    HD7850 = 130~150w (Less then the HD5850). HD7850 performance is about 10~20% faster then the HD5850.

    http://www.hwcompare.com/
     
  18. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you so much i should go with the 7850 than ;)
     
  19. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi again , guys this time i want to ask about gtx 560 club 3d if it's good like 7850 and if my psu can handle it without problems , if you can give me how many power will use this card than an ati 7850 ?
     
  20. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,805 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    That PSU seems to only have 15A on the +12V rail, I am going to doubt it holding that card especially in full load gaming
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    His PSU has multiple 12v outputs.

    12vCPU: 15a
    12vD: 12a
    12vB: 17.5a

    12v total: 414w max (34.5a)

    If he goes with a 7850 it's 130w (10.83a). 12vB is likely the PCIe power so he's fine. He may need some adaptors depending on the graphics card but I believe the ref. 7850 has a single 6-pin.

    [​IMG]
     
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,805 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,069
    delta makes awesome power supplies. i used to run off my athlon 3500+, the HD 4650, motherboard ram, hDDs off a 250W delta.

    the best part is that power supply is still alive.
     
  24. Getix-HD New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay i've seen a lot of different answers , first of all thank you a lot guys for your answers and i noticed that the gtx 560 is less performance than 7850 but i want one answer from you guys if my 475W delta eletronics can handle this 560 or not . de.das.dude said that he run a lot of things (ati 4650 rams hdds ect ect ) with just a 250w deltatronics psu i want to tell that it's true this psu is still just awesome but for a gtx 560 i don't exactly understand from your answers if it can handle it or not . (Lazzer408 :His PSU has multiple 12v outputs ) <--- you explain that my psu is enough for a gtx 560 nah ?
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page