1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI 6950 to 6970 Driver Recovery issue

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Mike0409, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Anyone been running into the ATI Driver recovery after a flash? Reinstalled the driver and ran DriverSweep to clear everything out. Tried both 10.12a and 10.12.

    Mine seems to be only on some games. And doesn't fail when running Furmark or Heaven. But crash's on Sup Com 2/Trine, and a couple other games.

    Standard 6970 Clocks at: 880/1375 and running at 12% Power.
    Using TRIXX for the custom fan speeds.
  2. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    What are you temps?
    On first guess I would guess your card wan'ts more juice than average.

    SonDoobious's needed better cooling.
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  3. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Temps are average at about 70-80c depending on my room temp. Fan's set to increase as it goes, but this happens pretty much 2-3min of playing.

    Yet other games work fine. Fallout 3 NV - Plays for hours on end, no issues.
  4. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    Your temps sound good enough to me, I would try upping your voltage. That is my only suggestion, my 6950 does not get here for a few days (I ordered it last night) so I don't have much hands on experience with a flashed 6 series..

    Good luck!
  5. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Thats the one thing I can't do is up the volts. The bar isn't adjustable in TRIXX. Set at the default 1.175
  6. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,680 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I believe you can modify the bios to do that.
  7. sliderider

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
  8. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    3.02
  9. lollyhayes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi mate,
    Same issues, unlocked 6950 to 6970. stable a +20% 930mhz and 1375mhz in furmark, Unigine, BFBC2... Crashes after about 1 hour of Supreme Commander2...
    Running these under water, max temp after 1 hour of furmark 1920x1200 x8 aa gave a max temp of 50 Centigrade...
    Sounds to me like driver issues... Seems unlikely due to voltage as Furmark gives these cards a much harder and constant ragging than any game would (esp sup commander) which is more CPU limited I was told...
  10. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I finally got mine stable. Unable to OC but stable at 10% and 880/1375. Anything more push's it to crash in Sup Com 2 and Trine and who knows what else. Theres some new drivers coming out soon, hopefully they have those things tweaked enough.
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,136 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,767
    Location:
    04578
    well have the issues of crashing is probably due to trying to overclock the damn things seriously just unlock the shaders leave the clocks at stock 6950 memory is rated at 1250 so your basically pushing 125mhz higher and this isnt desktop memory where u can change timings 9/10 the ram just cant cut it at those speeds then again ram speeds probably wont give you any major performance gains AMDs gpus have been ROP starved since the 5800 series not bandwidth starved. get the core as high as you can stable and leave ram at stock 6950 speeds. the difference between 1250mhz and 1375 is probably going to be no more then 1% maybe 2% at best. Also with 2gb of ram drawing power you can probably eek out slightly better power consumption with the ram at lower speeds since at least in my experience with dual monitors the cards ram always runs at 1375 on my 6970s and never drops down so lowering the ram speed will affect idle and load power draw with load probably being 15w or more difference but thats just a rough estimate.
  12. smakked

    smakked New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    you have to remember that the 6950 was not a 6970 for a reason they failed at 6970 speeds and shader count, it is luck of the draw.
  13. HXL492

    HXL492

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    232 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
  14. sliderider

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    That might be true for some but obviously not all or else so many cards wouldn't successfully unlock from a simple firmware flash. ATi did the same thing when demand for the Radeon 9500 Non-Pro cards exceeded the supply of defective 9700 chips, they started using fully functional cores disabled through firmware. When demand for the X800GTO exceeded supply, they put the later X850 cores on some of them and disabled them through firmware. Now that the word is out that the 6950 is unlockable, I expect they will start laser cutting the cores to preserve their profit margins on the higher end parts.
  15. sliderider

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Most likely some of the AMD partners are using less expensive memory chips that don't overclock as well on the 6950 cards. I remember when my 9500 unlocked to a 9700 I was never able to get the memory clocks quite up to even stock 9700 levels let alone 9700 Pro because they were lower speed chips. I had to be happy with the unlocked pipes and a mild core overclock.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page