1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ati Radeon Xpress 200

Discussion in 'ATITool Bug Reports' started by superman121, Nov 12, 2005.

  1. superman121 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My Rs480 Chipset isn't being recognized. Say's in beginning no Display Device is found. Could it be i'm on a compaq, and if I was is there anyway i can fix the the recognition

    -Thanks
  2. Player_13

    Player_13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Same problem here

    I have the same problem with my intigrated video card.

    I have an E-machine T-6212

    Here are my Specifications:

    • CPU: AMD Athlon™ 64 3200+ Processor (with AMD 64 technology)
      (512KB L2 cache, 2GHz, 2000MHz System Bus)
    • Operating System: Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition (SP2)
    • Chipset: ATI Radeon® Xpress 200
    • Memory: 512MB DDR (2 × 256MB), 400MHz Dual Channel
      Expandable to 4GB
    • Hard Drive: 160GB HDD – 7200rpm, 2MB cache
    • Optical Drive: 16x DVD±RW multi-format double layer; 48x CD-ROM
    • Media Reader: 8-in-1 Media Reader
      Secure Digital (SD), Smart Media, Compact Flash, Micro Drive, Memory Stick, Memory Stick PRO, Multimedia Card, USB 2.0
    • Video: ATI Radeon® Xpress 200 (PCI-Express® )
      128MB shared video memory
    • Sound: 6-channel Audio
    • Network: 10/100Mbps built-in Ethernet
    • Modem: 56K ITU v.92-ready Fax/Modem
    • Peripherals: Premium Plus Multimedia Keyboard, 2-Button Wheel Mouse, Amplified Stereo Speakers
    • Ports/Other: 7 USB 2.0 ports (2 in front; 4 in back; 1 in Media Reader), 1 IEEE 1394 port (1 in back), 1 Parallel, 2 PS/2, Audio-In & Out

    Is there a work around for this problem? Or will I have to buy a video card? :eek:
  3. superman121 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm guessing its the Mobo, If it wasnt on a OEM mobo, I guess it would've work, so instead I bought a Radeon X800XL HIS version instead. I suggest you just get a new video card.
  4. dwax

    dwax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I don't think the ATITool will work on the X200 I have a MSI-7145 and when i installed the ATITool it gave me a Blue screen of death. I had to go in safe mode to remove the tool then every thing was ok.After i installed a new video card,the X700 then the ATITool ran ok.
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    atitool doesnt work on integrated VGA chipsets
  6. Player_13

    Player_13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks Guys

    What is the best video card to have for high frame rates and crisp clean detail?

    I'm a fairly hard core gamer and I could use an advantage when playing with some of the more elite players.

    And I would also like to dabble a but with over clocking to learn more about video cards.
    I sorely lack knowlege in this area and would like to get better at it.
  7. dwax

    dwax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Player 13

    First thing you have to do is upgrade your power supply.The emachines only put a 300 watt power pupply in them.The you have to figgure out how high you can spend LOL. I have a T6520 And tried a powerColor 800GT to start,that was taking to much power through the motherboard and kept shutting down.If you go for a high end card make sure you can plug it right in to the power supply. I setteled for a dimond Viper pro X700 no extra power to run it,and the difference between it and the x200 will make you smile!
  8. superman121 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You should check out the X800 Series, X850 XT is a real Game Card, its just SM 2.0, but not many games are 3.0, so it doesnt matter then much, unless you are a image quality type of guy, then get the Geforce 6800GS since it supports SM 3.0. (HDR)
  9. Player_13

    Player_13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Are all these cards you guys are mentioning OC friendly cards for me to experiment on?

    If one of those is particulary friendly to over clocking that would probably be my choice. I seem to get some lag when the close up enemys gets to about 4 and were all scrambling for position for a lethal shot.

    You are correct about the 300W power supply coming standard with my machine.

    I have a ATI 9700 pro in one of my other machines Is that a good candidate for over clocking?

    If so what settings are best for it?

    Will the ATI tool work with the ATI 9700 Pro?

    Would the ATI 9700 Pro give me better preformance than the Xpress 200 does?

    Would I need a bigger powersupply to run the ATI 9700 Pro?

    If so how much bigger should I go?

    Is the 9700 now considerd antiquated junk?

    Thanks
  10. dwax

    dwax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    The ATI 9700 Pro is a good card,but it wont work in your mother board.unless you have the PCI version,not sure if they made one in PCI? Most all of your newer cards are over clocking friendly.mine I got from diamond even puts a app in their bundle to use.The problem I ran in to with the MSI board was that if you get a bigger video card make sure it has a conector ot hook right up to the power supply.I got a PowerColor 800GT and when I got every thing togeather it would give me a black screen all the time,i was starving it from power. The 300 watt power supply woul run most middle range cards,but you can get a 430watt one from Newegg for about 40 bucks shipped to you,and it only took me about 40 minn to put it in my T6520.

    I play alot of UT2004,and went from 60 to 40fps on my X200 to 180 to 225 on my X700 and thats with out any overclocking.
  11. Astennu

    Astennu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    For Super peformance there is only one opteron :) X1900 XT/XTX :D

    But i will get verry good peformance out of an X1600 XT. Its like 20-30% faster than a X700 XT. And can clock verry well.

    Avaible in both AGP and PCI-E.
  12. 50cent New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MSI MSI-7145 RS482M-iL

    Just read your problem. I have the same mobo MSI MSI-7145 RS482M-iL.
    I've installed PowerStrip and shifted GPU towards 400,90 MHz around 401 MHz and the mobo is running absolutely stable. Memory in BIOS @200 MHz.
    What a pitty this MSI MSI-7145 RS482M-iL has no overclocking capabilities :(. The clock generator is a Cypress CY28RS480 argggghhhhh :((.
    http://www.cypress.com/portal/serve...mmunityID=209&PageID=259&fid=18&rpn=CY28RS480
    Until now i did not find a suitable FSB-Tool to OC this ....-mobo with my Clawhammer 3200+
  13. Zeke New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK a have a few questions

    1. Im new. Hi. Yeah I have the same computer as you. And Im looking for a new video card. I wanted to know what powersupply you had because the supply we have is really small. And i wanted to know what one you ordered.

    2. Why did you get the bigger power supply if you were gonna get a X700? Im looking at an X800. So yeah.

    3. Can you send me the link of the card you have. Thanks
  14. dwax

    dwax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    There's not much room in the T6520 so I had to measure the old PS and then found this one.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153023 It took a lot to put it in there,had to take the whole thing apart. as far as the X800 I also tried to put this in my PC. But found the MB would not support enough power to run it.If you plan to get a bigger video card make suer that you can plug it in to the PS. Thats why I went to the Diamond X700Pro. I had no problems running it with out a wire hooking up to the PS. I also added alot of other things to the MB so you need more power. I got the video card from NewEgg but they no longer have it,They do have a different one you can see here.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814103168
  15. dwax

    dwax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  16. Zeke New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay to get a new powersupply and a new videocard how much do you think it will take $$$ wise. Like if i were to get a x800
  17. dwax

    dwax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I don't think you can find a X800 that has a plug on it to hook up to the power supply.I looked and never found one,thats why I went to the X700. I never had to use extra power to run it.I think if I was to do it again,I would have never bought the T6520. There is to many disadvantages to thie board in it. The newer version was better the T6524 had a better board in it. Youll just have to look,if you want to use a X800. just make sure it has a plug to hook up to the power supply.
  18. superman121 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well if I were you, some of the Radeon X800XT use extra power supply plugs, same for X800XL, I currently have a x800XL HIS Version, but I suggest you get a new power supply, and chip in for a X1800XL or XT. Games nowadays are going ot take advantage of the pixel Shading 3.0. Pretty soon DirectX 10 is going to coming out soon. It's your choice, wait or upgrade.
  19. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    okay, i have an emachines d6417, and although i didn't upgrade the psu, i am just waiting for mine to go.

    I love (!) my x800gto2, as far as a kick a$$ cheap pci e graphics card:
    it's fun to mod and all that (although I hear the new ones don't need to be unlocked, which is nice) and it overclocks like a charm (although i hear the newer ones don't overclock as well, but they will still oc pretty nicely)

    I get 6600+ (barely :p) in 3dmark05, and that's nasty by my standards.

    if you want sm3.0, you could go nvidia 6800 series (although 7800gt is coming down in price, but that i'm pretty sure would blow a 300w psu like *snaps*) or ati with the x1600 (which also might blow the psu...). right now, i really like the x1600's, although not near the performance of a 7800 or 7900 gt

    also, in these itty-bitty cases, some of the pcb's might be too long. check that out before you buy anything. my x800gto2 blocks the bottom release latches of 2 of my ram slots (msi-7093 mobo), and i'm pretty all the ones i said above (cept 6800 i think) are longer. so check that out with your case and mobo.

    good luck!!!!
  20. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    Hey, jw, why not though?

    Because of the risk of burning them up?
  21. mikelopez New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    170 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I also have a T6520 and have recently upgraded it. I installed the Antec SP-400 that I got for about $60 and an ATI X850 XT PE that I got for $150 ($200-$50 rebate=$150 :) ). Everything is running perfectly. Hope that helps.
  22. Meffy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page