1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Phenom(1055T)?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Koozwad, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. Koozwad New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I have a Phenom II X6 1055T processor at 2.8. I suspect it's not performing as well as it should. Just a few minutes ago, I ran a WinRAR 4.01 64-bit benchmark and I got a score of just over 1600. I just looked at other people's results and I know something is wrong. What could it be? What mainly started my concern was me hearing something about something called a TLB error in Phenoms and thinking maybe mine has the problem...

    I have 4GB RAM(2x2GB) which is DDR3.
    Windows 7 64-bit

    Please tell me if you need more information.

    Thanks,
    K.
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    The TLB issue affected the very first Phenoms, it was fixed long ago. Your 1055T is not affected by the TLB issue.


    You need to look at more than just one benchmark, and WinRAR is a pretty poor benchmark to look at anyway. Try something like Sysmark or Cinebench.
    Koozwad says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Koozwad New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Which versions? Are they free?
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
  5. Koozwad New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you, to both of you, I downloaded and ran the Cinebench program. I started the 64bit one, and ran both tests straight away without changing any settings or anything(not sure if you can anyway). So I got 52.18 fps for the OpenGL one and 4.93 pts for the CPU one. Is this good? Is my CPU performing as well as it should be?

    I just ran the advanced benchmark in that program, and the CPU (Single Core) score is 0.98 pts. The MP Ratio is 5.01 x. For reference my CPU has 6 cores and 6 threads(1:1 core/thread ratio). Oh yeah and Ref. Match is 99.3% whatever that means.
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
  7. Koozwad New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK! So I ran both CPU tests in the 64bit version of that Cinebench R10 program. For the single CPU test i got 3587, and for the test using my whole CPU i got 15777. The Multiprocessor Speedup is at 4.40 x. So I take it nothing is wrong with my CPU then? Is it performing at full power? Also earlier today I switched 'Microcode Updation' setting in my BIOS to Enabled or Disabled, I forgot, but then my PC wouldn't even go into the BIOS anymore, however I reset the BIOS. Strange it caused my PC to stop like that. I wonder what it actually does.
  8. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    asus motherboard eh? don't disable microcode updation, it responsible for proper cpu initialization during BIOS POST :laugh:
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Your CPU is fine. You can try overclocking now :)
    Koozwad says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page