1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 4 Running DirectX 11.1 Could Give Radeon HD 7000 an Edge

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,143 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,333
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Through software, not hardware.
     
  2. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,371 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    Castlevania, Thief, and BF4 please :D
     
  3. Src New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nope, through hardware... :)
    The truth is that Kepler doesn't have in hardware only DX11.1 non-gaming features and because of that it can't be marked as fully DX11.1 compatible. That's all. Every DX11.1 game will run without disadvantage.
    Moreover Microsoft showed a few weeks ago DX11.2 features on Kepler card.

    For full DirectX 11.1 support Kepler is missing only 4 non-gaming features:
    - Target-Independent Rasterization (2D rendering only)
    - 16xMSAA Rasterization (2D rendering only)
    - Orthogonal Line Rendering Mode
    - UAV in non-pixel-shader stages
     
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,040 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Lets put it like this:

    My favorite weapon in BF3 is the P90

    P is the 16th letter in the alphabet

    90 minus 16 is 74

    7 minus 4 is 3

    Half Life 3 Confirmed!!!! :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. renz496

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    95 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    i was thinking what game they will bundle this upcoming holiday. AFAIK Thief won't coming out until next year
     
  6. esrever

    esrever

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    DX11.1

    1+1+1 = 3
    HL3 will run in dx11.1
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt and torgoth say thanks.
  7. haswrong

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    201 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013
  8. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,570 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    You're trolling right? You must be trolling.
     
  9. Rylan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    "We use DX11.1, there are some optimizations in it (constant buffer offsets, dynamic buffers as SRVs) that we got in to the the API that improves CPU performance in our rendering when one runs with DX11.1."

    How does this have anything to do with GPUs? Did I misread or misinterpret something?
     
  10. Volfram

    Volfram New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Are you serious? :wtf: Instability is practically nonexistent with the only crashes I've had so being only from pushing my overclocking luck. While the UI formerly known as Metro isn't for everyone it's still a very sore spot for lots of people. I wouldn't call windows 7 slow or bloated however. It's just 8 is bit snappier. Not anything to get into a hoot about. This is coming from someone who's been using 8 for 7 months.
     
  11. JohnnyX_O New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Windows 8 is the most stable and fast version yet , it's better when it comes to performance and stability then win 7 just because ( my opinion ; Win 7 it's Vista SP 3 or how Vista had to be from the lunch in terms of what I just mention earlier ) .

    But win 8 it's very bad in one aspect ; It's not a desktop OS it's tablet OS :nutkick: .
     
  12. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Annndd another thread tryign to act like windows 8 makes some difference..
    Come on already man.. Getting ridiculous..
    DX 11.1 is all but useless and anyone with any sense knows it..
    Why?
    Because NO ONE IS USING IT..
    Even if BF does, it means close to nothing..

    I also like the statement "It could push it over the line"
    I "could" sprout wings and fly...
    But I won't..


    You just keep on drinking that coolaid man..
    Whatever helps you sleep at night..
     
  13. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Its a start . Someone Is now using it and soon we can all find out how much performance is gained I don't see it as something to complain about its open to all parties too so , how can that possibly not be fair enough.
    Bf4 running better on amd for a bit what a surprise not.

    Oh and most devs will be getting dx11.1 features in games asap if only for the xbone have a read.
     
    More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page