1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BClk-based Overclocking Returns with Haswell?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,544 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    With Intel's 2011-launched Core "Sandy Bridge" processors, Intel CPU overclocking as we know it changed. No longer could you overclock the CPU by stepping up BClk (base clock), a frequency that processors use to time various components, including the effective clock speed, and in some cases, memory, and uncore. Sandy Bridge left consumers with only one effective way of overclocking, stepping up an unlocked BClk multiplier, a feature only available with a handful expensive models.

    According to a Hardcoreware report, when Intel took up the "one BClk to rule them all" approach with Sandy Bridge, it may have overlooked the possibility of the integrated GPU waking other components up from lower power states to use the L3 cache, affecting the chip's overall energy efficiency, which carried on to successive Core "Ivy Bridge" silicon. "Haswell" may present Intel with an opportunity to split core and uncore from sharing the same base clock, and as such it could be possible to crank up CPU clock speeds using BClk, without destabilizing the uncore. The author admits this is speculation on his part, but quite likely.

    Source: Hardcoreware
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,615 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    924
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Or if they'd stop sticking damn GPU's into every CPU... Some of us will NEVER need the integrated one and is just wasting the die space for no reason.
     
    Jack1n, theJesus, Oblivion-330 and 2 others say thanks.
  3. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    I can agree with that ^^^ statement:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Why are they putting a gpu in an enthusiast level cpu? I just don't get that.
     
    theJesus and Prima.Vera say thanks.
  5. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Because it costs more to design and market a separate, low-volume chip with no iGPU than it does to ship fewer processor designs all with iGPUs (even if they go unused).

    The OP also neglects to mention that the primary reason for integrating the clock generator was to save costs and PCB space. Thus, I wouldn't be hopeful that even if there were two clock generators that they would be able to operate much out of specification (i.e. overclock).
     
    Eagleye and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Well, that sucks. My next upgrade will be sb-e. So I'm going to be stuck with an igpu that I don't want or need, and it will suck down the performance of my i7. Wow, big selling point! I may stay with my 1st gen i7 for quite a while....
     
  7. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Well, the iGPU is completely power gated when it's not being used (like when a discrete graphics card is connected), so it's not sucking down power or reducing performance.

    I personally find an iGPU to be a great value add-in because I have had many times where a discrete GPU failed and that made the system basically useless, but with an iGPU I can keep the system usable until I get a new GPU. I don't need to keep a video card in my closet just for that scenario and I can cash in on any spare graphics cards I may have.
     
    Proph3t says thanks.
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,271 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Because Haswell is a main-stream and entry level platform, not enthusiast.
    iGPU doesn't leak CPU performance, even more so when it isn't do anything and is power gated. Also SB-E doesn't have an iGPU and having an iGPU is nice to debug video cards though or in case your video card fails. That way without putting anything new in your rig, you will still have video.
     
    1c3d0g and The Von Matrices say thanks.
  9. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Good, I won't be bothering with Haswell for probably years. I just want sb-e. And thank god it doesn't have an iGPU. Now I know I want one for sure. I just have to wait about a year more before I can afford it. Gotta love being on a fixed income where I spend half of it just on rent, 1/4 of what's left on cable. Gives me about $300can a month for food, clothes, medicine, and computer parts. I spend typically 100- 200 on computer parts, so basically I starve most months. How's your dedication to computers?
     
  10. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Well, if you're waiting a year to buy, then Sandy bridge-E will be obsolete and be replaced by something else. Probably Ivy Bridge-E if it doesn't get cancelled before release.
     
  11. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    You are so freakin' right. And a crappy GPU at that. They sell something no one wants, by default included with something everyone needs, at a price no one wants to pay.
    Intel = more $$$
    I guess it does make sense.
     
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,271 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,081
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I would call SB-E out-dated at that point, not obsolete because it is still perfectly capable which just makes it old, not useless.

    source
     
    The Von Matrices says thanks.
  13. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    You're probably right, I should have used a different term.

    Also, have I never noticed this before or is it unique to this post that a lot of people do not bother to read the entire thread before posting things that have already been said? I thought that was what the "Thanks" was for - to show you agreed with another post.
     
  14. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Of course sb-e will be obsolete by the time I can afford it. How do you think I could afford my 950 system? It'll be 2 years before I can afford ib-e at least. At 100-200 can a month, it takes a long time to build a system. At least I have 24gbs ram and can use huge disk caches....
     
  15. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,272 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    That's what I do; I buy 1 generation old parts. I got my Xeon (used 1-year) for about a quarter of the retail price.
     
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,599 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,223
    I'm pretty sure they will not abandon their K-concept.
     
  17. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    620 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Rīga
    For now I am still fit fith my last buss overclockable X58 platform, what can you get at bargain price on jewbay and it performs stellar in every freaking place still... paying $1K for 30% performance upgrade? No thanks.
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,048
    This might be a good thing for budget OC'ers if this happens with lower end Haswell chips. As far as the iGPU goes, it's like getting a free cheap GPU with your CPU. If you don't need it, turn it off in the bios. It will just sit there as a dead piece of silicon on the substrate doing nothing and not playing a role in CPU performance whatsoever... But it's there if you need it.
     
  19. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    Good point!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,599 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,223
    It would bring back the original point of overclocking, but i will not believe it until i see it.
     
  21. iO

    iO

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    70 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Germany
    No way. Why should they? It would just hurt their profit.
    Only if they create a super mega overclocking SKU for LN2 OCing with a huge price premium...
     
  22. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,103 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Why is the GPU bothering you? It's not used so it can't cause problems.

    If they had a separate CPU with no GPU you would moan about it being more expensive.
    Having to produce one die for all is the cheapest way to go.
     
  23. boogerlad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    219 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    What bothers me is that we're paying more for something we don't need. The gpu die is useless and consumes 40% of die space, which directly translates to how much it costs to manufacture.
     
  24. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,103 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Like I said, the cost of having to produce 2 different dies is higher. It's much cheaper to produce one die and lock down the parts that aren't needed.
    So I don't see why would you want to pay more for a different chip that would have identical performance.
     
  25. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    620 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Rīga
    You are wrong a bit... Intel has an opportunity to sell die pancakes with faulty gpu part and make more profit, think for yourself - more complex GPU the more errors it could have, just as nvidia and amd has struggle selling crippled GPU's now... :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page