1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BIOS reading not supported

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Anderan, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. Anderan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    whenever i try to save my bios with GPU-Z it says "Bios reading not supported on this device" is there any way to get around this? oh and my card is an ATI X1300 mobility radeon.
     
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You have a mobile GPU, meaning integrated. The graphics BIOS is part of the main system BIOS, hence why it cant be extracted.
     
  3. Anderan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    dang, oh well thanks for the help, weird thing is I've taken my laptop apart and i could have sworn i saw the card in there separately from the processors or anything else for that matter.
     
  4. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    WOA Alex, your kinda wrong on that one.
    X1300 Mobility is a seperate card entirely.
    The X1150, X1200, X1250 are integrated.
    Your cards external read/write pins have been cut to prevent improper flashing by ATI.
     
    newfellow and alexp999 say thanks.
  5. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Didnt realise it was a separate card sorry. Thanks for the input Flyoride. :toast:
     
  6. Dmitryy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everybody. Is there any solution to this issue? I have an MSI 4870 512mb radeon and receive the same message, just wanted mod fan settings to higher value, since it's a little bit hot on defaults. Need your help, where do I look for those pins?
     
  7. Dmitryy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well the problem was in Win7, I have changed OS to MS windows Xp SP2 and successfully dumped 4870's bios using GPU-Z. Good luck all!
     
  8. Atti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have same problem :(
    The card is a Mobility Radeon HD 4330 (Acer Aspire 5538G)
    OS Windows XP 64 bit, Catalyst 9.12, GPU-Z 0.3.8
     
  9. somebody

    somebody New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Atti, which BIOS version are you using with your Acer?
     
  10. Atti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The laptop's BIOS is v1.15 and the Radeon's BIOS is VER011.022.002.002.033474
     
  11. somebody

    somebody New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Video rom from v1.15, hope it helps :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Atti.zip
      File size:
      38.9 KB
      Views:
      698
    Atti says thanks.
  12. newfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    that's curious didn't know it was possible to prevent reading an BIOS. Although can understand writing/flashing.
     
  13. Atti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you very much!

    I didn't think the vido BIOS is a part of the system BIOS :wtf:

    But... how can I write the modified video rom back?
     
  14. somebody

    somebody New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    If your really confident you can change the Video BIOS how you want it without changing the length then it should just be a case of replacing the Insyde EFI module in the v1.15 BIOS and flashing the whole BIOS. Well, that's the theory anyway ;)

    I don't know anything about the Video BIOS but have played with Insyde. If your happy to take the risk let me know and I'll try to help you out.


    EDIT (3-Jan) : I guess from a lack of an answer that your not happy to take the risk. Probably wise since there is a chance of bricking. ;)
    If anyone is curious I successfully changed the Video BIOS in my old EFI main BIOS with a newer version extracted from a newer EFI main BIOS. So it can be done.

    Before
    [​IMG]

    After
    [​IMG]


    You might wonder why I didn't just update the whole BIOS to the new one! Well the main BIOS I'm using fixes a few things that a multitude of later BIOS updates from HP didn't. Also it seems that either HP silently removed or broke the esata boot capability in later BIOS versions. So although my old main BIOS is a little buggy it's good enough for what I want but the later versions aren't, at least for me that is. Of course other people might find the newer BIOS's better. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  15. Atti New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I modified the bios, I decreased the clock rates. The lenght is equal

    Can you help?

    Thanks!

    ps: Acer issued a new bios :)
     

    Attached Files:

  16. somebody

    somebody New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Okay, I'll have a look at putting something together. If you haven't already, make a backup of the BIOS your using now. You should be able to boot to DOS and use flashit utility which comes with the BIOS update archive.

    Flashit.exe backup.fd /G

    where backup.fd is the name used for the backup file that will created. The Insyde EFI BIOS tends to come with a built in crisis recovery although the notebook manufacturers don't seem to document this. It tends to work along the lines of...
    1. Placing the recovery file renamed to whatever is specific for the notebook being recovered on a medium such as a FAT formatted USB flash drive.
    2. Removing the battery power.
    3. Removing the AC adapter.
    4. Holding down a couple of keyboard buttons, for Acer fn + Esc seems quite common.
    5. Insert the AC adapter.
    6. Turn on using the power button.
    7. Once started up, release the keys held down and hopefully see the laptop shut down after a minute or two.

    The hardest part is trying to work out what the BIOS file should be renamed to. You might be lucky and someone has already found it for you. Try to get your crisis recovery worked out before flashing. If it becomes unrecoverable by this method then you will need to find another way to reflash the BIOS chip. Beware, it seems the laptop manufactures would probably charge you for a new mainboard rather than trying to fix the BIOS chip. Work out all your options before hand if something should go wrong and then decide if you still want to go ahead. ;)
     
  17. m3phisto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi, i have the same problema as the thread says:
    "Bios reading not support on this device"
    I have an Ati Mobility radeon hd3470, on a Sony Vaio FW11L

    Gpuz z reports

    VER010.088.000.025.029579

    thanks for your help! bye!
     
  18. peploss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Russia, Orenburg
    Hello, I have a Laptop Asus x50sl, a video card ati mobility hd3470, bios VER010.077.000.000.000000.
    GPU-Z speaks: "bios reading not supported". There is any way to bypass it?
     
  19. c0ke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello somebody,
    I've got the same video card ati mob radeon HD4330 and need to extract the video bios since I cannot do it with GPU-Z.

    I've got a dell inspiron 1545 laptop with a dell A11 bios, do you think it is possible to extract the rom?

    Thank you in advance for your support!
     
  20. somebody

    somebody New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    127 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
  21. c0ke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you anyway!!!
     
  22. Jonathan_ding New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How to take the driver?

    I have same problem. I want to get the driver for the WINDOWS XP system.
    My computer is Acer Aspire 5538G. The video card is MOBILITY RADEON HD 4330. The version is ATI VGA VER011.022.002.002.033474
    Please help me, thanks!
     
  23. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Could I ask you guys one favor?
    Try using RBE to extract your BIOS, even if you're using a non-ATI card. Download RBE, run it and click "Acquire/flash...". In the upcoming window uncheck "Load into RBE" in the "Alternative BIOS extraction" box. Then click the "Acquire BIOS..." button and save your BIOS. Please note: This will work with 32-bit versions of windows only.
    If you don't mind attach the BIOS to a post in this thread and don't forget to tell what kind of video card you have.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  24. BAGZZlash

    BAGZZlash RBE Author

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    No one interested?
     
  25. Arise New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    X1300 Mobility BIOS Dump

    Here is my BIOS dump using RBE.

    Notebook Acer 6464
    Video: X1300 Mobility
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page