1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Biostar Hi-Fi A88W 3D (AMD FM2+)

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by cadaveca, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2014
    manofthem says thanks.
  2. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    I liked the review, but really think the board should have been tested with a Kaveri chip as that is what the board is, a FM2+ board.
     
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Take that up with AMD. :p I did ask Biostar about using A10-6800K, too, since I feel as you do, but they preferred timely review rather than waiting for AMD to send me a chip.

    If you want to send me one, I'll gladly re-bench. :roll:


    Seriously. ;)
     
    MxPhenom 216 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    One of the better looking chipset/VRM heatsink designs out there. I like it.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,468 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I still don't understand why they still add PCI to modern motherboards. Not only do they have to use PCI-E anyways, they need to use a PCI-E-to-PCI bridge to make them work... and it's not even that. You also need more traces through the motherboard for 62-pin connectors (PCI) than 18-pin connectors (PCI-E 1x).

    I would like to start seeing more PCI-E 1x slots and no more PCI slots. It seems like a waste of space and money when most could settle for just PCI-E.

    Other than that, it looks like a pretty nifty board. Good review, Dave.
     
  6. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,362 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    Location:
    GMT +2
    cause there are addon cards (like sound cards) that are diesing and manufactured still for pci

    dave are you sure missing sli should be added in cons for this mb. cf is more suitable there.
    otherwise great review.
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,468 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    There are also a lot of audio cards that use PCI-E. It's not like you're limiting your options by leaps and bounds by not having PCI. The last time I used PCI was for an 802.11b adapter almost a decade ago I think. o_O
     
  8. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,362 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    Location:
    GMT +2
    well that is the problem. wth when pci-e is avialable aib partners still design pci audio (or any other type) cards. :confused:
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    I do not feel that APUs are slow, and that they are good for lightweight usage. As such, building a smaller SLi pair with an APU is just like using Crossfire with an APU, so it would be nice if it was offered, since there is no other similar solution for NVidia users.

    I mean, my 780 paired with the APU managed to hang out with the Intel rigs in quite a few tests....


    Personally, I love the fact that the design for this board almost feels like a $200 or so product, but it should cost half as much. Bringing that level of design and esthetics to cheaper products doesn't cost OEMs much, and really completes the entire package. It's a good-looking board with really decent audio that's light on the wallet, for a value-oriented platform...or in other words...perfect. ;)

    Since it is an audio-focused board, and many devices for audio still use PCI, I really cannot have any issue with them including PCI slots here. I could think of many a DAW out there that could use this board and a new card for multi-monitor.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,362 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    602
    Location:
    GMT +2
    hm i skipped first few pages yesterday and missed those 2x pciex16 but it is kind of strange to have cf support but to dont have sli. what is that difference between sli and cf that prevents to have both avialable if one of them is already avialable. thay have made cf support (both apu+gpu or 2x gpus). why not sli too? :confused:


    point here was why there are still so many devices for pci yet. we have pcie for 10 years but addon cards are still designed for pci. cutting pci controller from sb will make sb cheaper or it can be relpaced with something usefull like additional usb 3 or sata.
    takes too much time to drop support for obsolate tech. same was with pata and ddr2 (remember ddr2+ddr3 on same board).
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Theyy have to pay Nvidia a liscencing fee, as far as I understand, which allows them to add code to BIOS which allows SLi when the system powers up.




    The PCI controllers often used today are PCI-to-PCIe bridges, which means that there is no PCI support in the chipsets made by AMD and Intel. This is why I have no problem with PCI still being in use...since it's actually fairly rare, and usually only included in boards that are targeted at users that will need it, like this one. Far too many MIDI audio devices use PCI still.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  12. shjipmaker50 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ive bought the new a10 7850k fm2+ socket . so far no luck getting it to work. even though the board is supposed to support an FM2+ socket . Amd no help. Biostar is working on it . we'll see. May have to get different processor to use board for now . if anyone knows anything to help would be apprecited
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page