1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Black Screen after bios

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Th0rn0, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. Th0rn0

    Th0rn0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    422 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Hey all,

    So yea... Black screen after Bios. It get pasts the bios then nothing. I've left it for a bit and still nothing. I've also tried taking graphics cards and ram out, reset bios, run memtest (passed), ran with no other drives except the C drive, I then reformated (as I needed to anyway) and I still have the same problem. To say the least I'm frustrated now ;D

    So any thoughts?
     
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    You were able to reformat?
     
  3. Th0rn0

    Th0rn0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    422 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    yes. I re installed win 7 32bit and it didnt work. Going to retry now (installing from USB). I can boot into a linux live CD no problem and get to the win 7 installation GUI.
     
  4. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    lost here :eek: let me think :banghead: What your main HDD brand
     
  5. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    have you turn off raid or turn it on
     
  6. Th0rn0

    Th0rn0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    422 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    dont run RAID and its a WD drive. Just over a year old iirc. Doubtful its died, epically seen as I've been into ubuntu live CD and backed up games and documents.
     
  7. Th0rn0

    Th0rn0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    422 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    huzzah, we have a boot. Re installed again and seems to have worked. Although I now need to get the correct OS. 4 gig and 32bit 7 isn't what I want.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page