1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Blu Ray PC player?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 7.62, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Hi all

    Here is my setup at the moment.
    I have a HD 4890 for graphics, realtec ALC889a for onboard audio and Logitech Z-680 speakers. (Z-5500 like)
    These speakers have the 3 mini jacks, Coax and optical in.

    I am about to buy a big new television as the gameboy I have now is not big enough.

    I have just bought a Blu ray ROM drive and I would like to plug all this into my television to watch Blu ray movies.

    How can I get the True HD audio to play through the speakers I have currently?
     
  2. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    The way I sees it you have three paths...

    1) Buy a new graphics card that supports bitstreaming TrueHD/DTS-HD and a receiver which supports TrueHD/DTS-HD, HDCP and HDMI. Then rewire your speakers into the receiver...

    2) Get a soundcard that supports TrueHD/DTS-HD (and end up sending the audio out analog because the Z-680 doesn't decode TrueHD/DTS-HD)

    3) Let your fast as heck CPU encode the audio stream to LPCM in software and realize that the difference isn't noticeable unless you actually live in a movie theater. (I'm assuming that the Z-680 has a digital input for this to work.)

    I'd go with three myself.
     
  3. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Yes.
    No 3 looks good. I have no idea how to do that, but the speakers do have digital inputs. I have them plugged in via the 3 mini jacks and the Coax. I use the Coax for DVD and Blu ray movies, and the 3 mini jacks for games.
     
  4. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    It looks like your mobo, GA-X38-DS4, has both optical and coaxial SPDIF connectors. I'm not sure whether your speakers have optical, coax or both.

    Anyway about it you'll need to a cable (coax or optical) running from your mobo to your Z-680. You'll then need software (like Cyberlink PowerDVD) that can decode DTS-HD/TrueHD and output multichannel audio over SPDIF.

    Done and done.
     
  5. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Ohh, well thats how it is setup now :), but I thought that SPDIF passes through the signal for something else to decode? That would mean that my speakers receiver is decoding the signal? maybe if I asked PowerDVD to send the audio out via the mini jacks the PowerDVD would be decoding the MA in software?
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  6. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Yes, SPDIF does pass the audio digitally for something else to decode. From what I read of the Z-680 speaker set can decode DTS and DD (Dolby Digital).

    I don't think you can send DTS-HD/TrueHD over SPDIF. Consequently PowerDVD should detect that your output is using SPDIF and change the audio for you without user intervention. If you sent out the audio analog using the mini jacks (the 3.5mm stereo plugs right?) you'd be relying heavily on the quality of your onboard soundcard which, I can tell you from experience, is a bad idea.
     
  7. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    everything is backwards.

    Connect the audio source to the TV. this way anything else you plug into the tv will by single sourced. If you planning to use your pc with your tv as a media center/monitor. your all set. If you have a digital cable bax, the audio is pass through. Most TV's have optical outs.

    Use the hdmi output on the motherboard and disable the internal sound card. Install the needed drivers. There is no need to rencode the audio. its just going to be a hdmi pass through. Let the TV handle that, but if you hook the z680 to the TV via optical. All your problems are solved and you have one audio source. the z-680 has built in decoding.

    So you can make life difficult. Or you can make it easy.

    I can recomend the vizio's. Mine works great and it has both a Optical and SPDIF output which menas one small optical cable is hooked to my reciver. . I got the 120hz 47inch for a steal.
     
  8. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Ok cool. Thanks for your help. So if I leave the settings the way they are, I wil be watching blu ray with standard definition DTS and DD.

    Thats ok with me.
     
  9. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    depends on which version of spdif it has. spdif can in thoery support up to 8 audio tracks at around a 48khz bandwidth.
     
  10. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Ok just so I understand a little clearer.

    Graphics card -> TV via HDMI
    Onboard Audio -> TV via same HDMI
    TV -> back to speakers via optical SPDIF.
     
  11. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    yes, also if you add more hdmi sources. no hassles with trying to route stuff together.

    BTW check into a good remote like a logitech harmony "the low end model is $40 usb programmable and works with everything" and a IR reciever for the pc. This way everything can be run from one remote including volume controls.

    if your married, it'll make your spouse happy as having 1 remote is easier then 3-5.

    if you use your computer to play music, your stereo is now you z-680
    wathcing a movie z-680
    playing video games z-680
    if you add a digital cable box or reciever for hdtv z-680

    your single sourcing your sound down to the easiet place to route from. the tv.
     
  12. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    HD 4890
    His card does not support bitstreaming DTS-HD/TrueHD (hence no pass through of those formats); Conversion to LPCM (or whatever it does) should be automatic though.

    If he wants to wire it to the TV to centralize the wiring that seems like a good idea but he's still not getting master audio.

    EDIT 1:Just found this (I think you may find it interesting):
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/6277578-post2.html

    EDIT 2: Thatguy is correct, TrueHD/DTS-HD can be sent over SPDIF but not with HDCP. Hence no blu-ray will ever play TrueHD/DTS-HD over SPDIF unless HDCP support is added (somehow).
    Source: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12717414&postcount=8
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  13. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Yes that is interesting, although I am using Power DVD 10. The SPDIF setup is working fine. The reciever does flick over to DTS or DD whenever I put a digital source in the drive.

    SD audio will do for now ;)
     
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,348 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027
    Connect your video card to the tv via HDMI/DVI out.



    The Logitech Z-680 does not have a decoder that supports Dolby Digital True HD or DTS Masters, so unforunately you can not listen to the HD Audio standards. You will need a AV receiver that supports those standards. Yes hi-fi equipment.
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,931 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,229
    that doesnt work. you only get stereo audio out from the TV if you do that, even over SPDIF.


    the HDMI standard is designed to only give audio direct via HDMI to a receiver, or stereo only to prevent piracy.




    His only solution with his current hardware is to stick with analogue, or to downgrade the audio to DTS or DD, so that he can use the digital ports (for no real audio quality boost)


    IMO, stick with analogue. far easier to deal with.
     
  16. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    What do you mean stick with the analoge? isnt this digital as it is? even with the standard definition audio?
     
  17. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,348 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027
    Oh boy, you seem confused.

    Analogue isnt digital audio. Analogue was suggested by others because your speakers do not have a decoder that can decode HD audio (DD True HD, DTS Masters HD) and hence analogue is the only method of playing back HD audio in PCM. As others have said SPDIF supports typically upto 5 channels and hasnt got the bandwidth and/or lacks the support to run the HD audio standards.

    your options are as follows:

    1.) use analogue - wont be HD standards you expect (DD True HD, DTS Masters HD)
    2.) use SPDIF - some BluRay movies allow you to select normal DD and DTS in the menu (not HD)

    3.) buy a proper AV receiver that supports DD True HD and DTS Masters HD.
     
  18. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    DTS is more then sufficient for 99% of listeners.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,931 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,229
    hell, stereo analogue is sufficient for 99% of users.
     
  20. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    actually likely not. at least with digital we get a guarenteed quality of source material. not so much with analog.
     
  21. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Thanks. If I cannot have High definition digital audio, then standard definition digital audio is fine.
    I do understand the difference between digital and analogue. I would rather the 5.1 DTS via SPDIF than the 5.1 Dolby via 3.5mm jacks.

    I was confused, and then became more confused after I posted the OP. ;)

    Thanks all, I am not willing to pay the money required to hear the MA, or the Dolby equivalent. Good old regular digital 5.1 is good enough.
     
  22. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    if you wanna dump like $20K into your room, then you might really apreciate that extra sonic definition. but with typical rooms in homes, even 5.1 is a waste.
     
  23. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Ok,

    I have it all set up, I have the PC connected to Coax digital in on the speakers, and the TV connected to optical in on the speakers. I cannot for the life of me get my 4890 to output sound via HDMI?

    I bought a high quality DVI to HDMI cable, not an adaptor. The CCC says its not pluged in? even though there is a kick ass video stream?
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,931 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,229
    you need the ATI branded HDMI to DVI adaptor. the cable you got will not provide audio.
     
  25. 7.62

    7.62 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Mt Buller, Victoria
    Bugger. Maybe i'll just buy a 6870? and use straight HDMI cable.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page